We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Desert Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Sheraton Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

We absolutly loved this hotel. Our party of 3 stayed there 10 days and couldnt have been happier with our stay. We had no problems whatsoever checking in. The staff accommodated us in any way we needed. The main pool area was amazing with plenty of chairs available, shaded areas available, mist sprayers and a huge hot tub. I also enjoyed getting away from all the screaming and jumping children in the quiet Oasis Pool, which was smaller in size, but very tranquil and peaceful. There were plenty of activities hosted by the hotel to keep any family busy all day there at the resort. The fitness room was small and had limited machines, but did the job. The rooms were extremely clean and well kept. The concierge was more than helpful in giving us local information and helping us decide where to go and what to do. We ended up going down to Tucson one day (roughly 2 1/2 hours away) and to Flagstaff/Sedona/Grand Canyon area another few days ( 3-4 hours away). With the Desert Oasis being centrally located between the two in Phoenix, it made it possible for us to easily take those day trips and see the whole state. We were able to pack light due to the washers and dryers available. For you late nighters, parking can be a bit difficult if youre pulling in after 10pm. We were overall very pleased with our stay. Would go back there in a heartbeat if ever visiting Phoenix again. Happy Vacationing!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    197
    55
    20
    8
See reviews for
180
206
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Central Connecticut
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

Recently went to the Phoenix/Scottsdale area for a vacation. The Sheraton Oasis resort was very nice although not a great atmosphere for single people. The suites were very comfortable. Decor was perfect. The weather was outstanding. I suggest renting a jeep if you need transportation. Scottsdale itself is rather boring in terms of nightlife. Definitely a happy hour type crowd. The nights to go out are Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. The rest of the time it is a ghost town after 9 pm. The James Hotel was rather entertaining as was Gainey Ranch and Barcelona. Beware of the strip malls. We ended up getting lost looking for a particular restaurant. We kept on driving from one strip mall to the next. They are endless! Sedona, the Grand Canyon and a white water rafting trip down the Salt River are musts. Try to catch a Diamondback or Suns game if you can. Overall a decent trip if you don't mind staying in your room in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2005

We had a wonderful time there, from check in to check out. We had read some of the reviews that we negative, so we were prepared for it. Surprise everything was great. Kids loved the pool. Not crowded and just the right temp. Staff was very friendly. Great room (like a little condo). Have stayed at over 50 other vacation spots, service right up there with the big boys.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2005

Just returned from Arizona and spent most of the week at the Desert Oasis.The pictures of the resort found on-line don't do it justice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and overlooked a landscaped courtyard with fountain. The decor was Southwestern and was very attractive; the bed was the signature Sheraton-Westin bed - very comfy. A huge triangular jetted tub with "waterfall" was wonderful, especially after a full day of shopping and sightseeing. The bathroom had two sinks and large counter top and mirror. A huge walk in shower with both handheld and stationary showerhead was really nice. We also had a private balcony with table chairs and a padded bench. Even though we were just behind the pool, it was pretty quiet on the balcony. There are two pools, one family style with waterfall and a quiet pool that most of the time was almost empty. By the family pool a grill serves sandwiches, burgers , fresh fruit, etc. The young people working were pleasant . There was also a nice reasonably priced gift shop. I have stayed in more expensive places but for the price, it was excellent. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2005

We had seen some less than positive reviews of this property and had some minor reservations about staying here but after spending 3 nights , we can only say that our experience was extemely positive and we wondered if the nay sayers had really stayed at the same property. The grounds and pool areas were pretty spectacular. The units were incredible. Great care was taken in the decoration. Kitchen facilities were first rate. Our unit had two TV's, one a 32 inches, plus a large jacuzzi in the bedroom, and there were two fire places. The location was convenient to most baseball spring training locations, the Frank Lloyd Wright museum, horse back riding and Phoenix's best restaurants such as A Different Point of View. We do a lot of traveling and stay in many 4 and 5 star hotels, this property is special!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.