We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a vacation oasis in the Arizona Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Desert Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Sheraton Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Red Deer, AB
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Truly a vacation oasis in the Arizona Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I had occasion to stay at the SDO for three weeks during February/March, 2014. (We had previous stayed at the SDO in 2010.) Check in was efficient and prompt. Front desk staff were friendly, eager to help and took the time to make us feel welcome. We were treated like owners. Still using traveler’s cheques? You can cash a reasonable amount at the Front Desk. Something even banks don't want to do!
A complete, bare walls renovation project was just in the final stages of completion. All of the units were fantastic with modern colours, furnishings and appliances. Each unit had two flat screen TV’s. Bathrooms and kitchens had new cabinets and granite counter tops. The kitchen was well equipped. Bathrooms had two sinks and a fantastic large shower. Bedroom had a jetted tub. Beds were fantastic, with new mattresses, pillows and covers. Communal BBQ's were provided and were placed so that they were close to all units. In-suite washers and dryer are provided. AC is available in all units but controls can be quirky! All units have free in unit safes and Wi-Fi. Complimentary computers with Internet are available in the lobby. Units receive mid-week maid service with linen refresh.
We were booked to stay the first week in the standard one bedroom unit, followed by two weeks in the premium, larger unit. Although the complex had a complete bare walls reno, IMHO, the planners made an error in the standard one bedroom units. Not all of these units were equipped with a stove top. Yet they were all equipped with a large fridge with a top freezer. Those units without the stove tops were provided with a two burner hot plate which was not very effective. Why have a giant fridge if you can't cook? After two days of struggling to just cook breakfast, we called Guest Services and complained. Without hesitation we were offered a premium unit that just that the renos completed. We moved into a premium unit. No charge. Such service is really rare. I suppose we were fortunate that there were some newly completed units available. Thanks SDO Guest Services!
There are two and three story buildings. We prefer being on the main floor. Since there are not any elevators, unloading and loading is easier when on the main floor. Also we like the units facing West. Our favorite units are 1042, 1043, 1060, 1061, 1082, and 1083. These are cool in the morning and sunny late afternoon. The complex is very compact and vehicle parking is such that one is never far from their unit. The park-like landscaping is fantastic with representative native cacti, trees, shrubs, palms, flowers, flowing streams, waterfalls and fountains. On Monday mornings a Nature Walk around the complex is lead by the FAB Team. Constant maintenance keeps the grounds in perfect condition. Being a compact design means that all units a close to the club house, lobby pools, fitness center and the poolside Splash Grille. Although the complex does not have a restaurant on site, there are many good dining places close by within a $20.00 taxi ride. For those with their own transportation, the complex is 1/2 mile from the HWY 101 Loop which makes access to dining, shopping, entertainment, sporting events, golf courses, attractions, natural and archeological sites, and casinos easy. However, be warned if you're new to the Greater Phoenix area, the distances are daunting and the traffic, especially during the AM and PM rush hours, can be very heavy and often congested. A grocery shuttle runs from the Clubhouse Lobby every Monday morning for a $5.00 charge. A small gift shop and convenience store is located in the Clubhouse.
SDO provides a wide range of activities and amenities for guests from in-house to off-site. Special poolside activates are offered every day; Karaoke, bingo, aqua exercise, Happy Happy Hour, Margarita Putting Challenge, and a "Dive-in" theater showing newly released feature length family movies is offered on Tuesday evenings poolside. Special pricing on popcorn, fries and drinks. The concierge services are wide ranging from booking excursions to helping with ticket reservations. Although guests are invited to partake in the ubiquitous "information sessions" about the timeshare villas, they are low key and the agents do not "hound" you to attend. A fully equipped exercise facility is available for those with fitness in their vacation plans. A large inviting pool with a hot tub and cabanas provides a great place to be in the hot afternoons.
If there is one minor irritant that we have, it's the price of drinks/food at the Splash Grille. Since SDO has a "no outside drinks or food" policy at the pool, guests are forced to purchase their pleasures at the Grille or "bootleg" their own drinks into the pool area. IMHO, $7.00 for a watered down margarita in a flimsy plastic cup is too high. Prices should be at cost as a service to the SDO guests. Happy Happy Hour does occur on Tuesdays where drinks go down to $3.00, with $3.00 food specials. Perhaps Happy Happy Hour should occur every afternoon.
However that issue notwithstanding, we cannot say enough good things about the SDO in Scottsdale. It is one of our favorite vacation destination; truly an Oasis in the Desert!

Room Tip: if you are booked into the standard, one bedroom units, ask for one with a stove top if you intend t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear CanuckRedDeer_AB,

Wow! What a great and in-depth review of our property! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this feedback!
We loved reading all the great things you had to say about our property and staff, and we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time here to the fullest!
We understand your feelings about the missing stove tops in some of our deluxe villas. We too wish we had them in every villa! If you visit again, please don’t hesitate to request a villa with a stovetop and we will do the best we can to make that happen. Half of our deluxe villas have the stovetops built in.
Next time you’re here (and we sure hope you’ll be back), we invite you to join us again for Happy Hour and to maybe try out some of the new activities our FAB team will be sure to offer.

Warm regards,
Michelle
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    197
    55
    20
    8
See reviews for
181
206
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Sheraton Desert Oasis is actually a time share resort, but casual travelers will certainly enjoy their time in these well-appointed apartments during their stay. My husband and I booked this property over spring break. Our one-bedroom unit was small, but extremely well designed. All angles, and a place for everything. No matter where you stay on the property, you are just steps to the main pool. Although it is a lovely pool, complete with a dramatic waterfall, it is on the smallish side. There is another VERY small pool, reserved for adults. Although it is quiet, since it is surrounded by buildings, there is no sun that reaches the lounges, so, the main pool became our daily location in which to worship the sun. Since it was spring break, the property was packed, but it never really felt that way. There is a small poolside cafe, with very good food, albeit a small menu, where breakfast, lunch, and snacks are offered during the day. There's also a daily happy hour, and the drinks good! Scottsdale boasts a thriving dining scene, so you are only a brief drive to any tastes that you might be craving. There are special events daily, both for adults, and children alike. Also, a small gift shop is on the premises, as well as a game room, and casual lounge, complete with a library. The Desert Oasis requires a car. There are no restaurants, shopping, etc., within walking distance.

Room Tip: First floor rooms don't have much natural light...especially on the patios. Opt for a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sheryl D

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us; we appreciate it!
We are glad that you and your husband had an enjoyable time here, and we will pass along your comments and impressions to the respective departments.
You are right, a car is definitely helpful while staying here as it is only a short drive to any and all kinds of restaurant, shopping areas, and the like.

Come see us again sometime!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed in a newly remodel premium 1 bedroom villa using the comfy sofa bed with a roll out bed for our 3 kids to sleep. No complaints with the room, it handled our showering, sleeping and cooking needs (with an oven and a stovetop). These are narrower than other SPG villa rooms but it was still able to handle all 5 of us.

The main pool area had a waterfall and a hot tub as well. The water depth ranged from about 3ft to 5ft. The pool side restaurant had tasty pool side food and inexpensive resort prices. Happy hour was super as well. I wish it had a water slide like the Kierland Villas, but the pool was still fun. While it lacks a main upscale restaurant for nights you don't feel like cooking, there is plenty to drive to. You will need a car to stay here as there isn't much in walking distance.

We stayed over Easter break and the staff made it extra special over other SPG properties with all the different kid related activities (some free and other not) in and out of the pool. The movie night and pool party was big hit with the family.

The concierge desk wasn't super pushy on the timeshare selling, but we went anyway and weren't hassled when we didn't express much interest in their sales pitch or bad math.

The staff really made the extra difference here, everyone from the front desk, kids area and kitchen were super.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end have extra windows for light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Wyvn

Thank you for this nice review of our property! We were happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us!
We will pass along your kind comments about our staff, as they strive daily to make our guests feel special and welcome!

We hope to see you again sometime!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and I wish we had stayed longer, we booked a 1 bedroom suite and it was wonderful, the kitchen was well equipped, had a washer/dryer. Bedroom was big and so was the bathroom, the only thing was the street light was very bright and the blind on the bedroom door didn't block out the light. The pool area was great and they had aqua gym in the morning which I loved. If I come to Scottsdale again I'm definitely staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear clegier

We really enjoyed reading your review of our property, and we were glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us! (minus the street light)
I'll make sure to pass your aqua gym comment along to our team member; he'll love to hear that!

Come visit us again sometime in the future!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

How wonderful it was to have a full kitchen, washer and dryer and separate dining and living room - just like home but so much nicer! All very new, clean and comfortable.
Pool was fun and the Splash Poolside Grill was very good.
Felt like a five star resort with the kindest employees that really made you feel special.
I would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Lynn S

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property, especially your kind comments about our staff! We were thrilled to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your time with us.

Come back soon!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I must admit, I was leery having read some of the previous reviews which were less than glowing. Like many Platinum SPG members, I travel a lot with more than 100 nights stayed per year. Each property is different and even within brands it is difficult to have similar expectations.

On this trip, I traveled with my wife and 4-year old twin daughters. We were looking for a few days away to relax and enjoy some sun after a harsh winter up north. Having stayed at several SPG vacation ownership properties before in Orlando, Palm Springs, Kauai and Myrtle Beach, we knew what to look for but were concerned that the Sheraton Desert Oasis was older and the rooms smaller. Two bed, two bath units are not available on this property but the location and points redemption price was right. We also looked at the Westin Kierland villas but the price was more than double and the pool area didn't look as "resort" like.

A few days prior to the trip, I received a wonderful e-mail from Charles Partier (one of the front desk managers) advising that my Platinum concierge had contacted the hotel and asked if we could have one of their larger units with full kitchen. When we redeemed points, only the smaller units were available. Although he never replied back when I sent him my reply, we were pleasantly surprised with the room that was allocated for us (1072), a ground floor unit with immediate access to the main pool, Splash and the gym. I can't imagine there is a better located unit on property.

The room itself was of course tighter than the other SVO properties we have stayed in, but we knew that coming in. The furnishings, bathroom, kitchen and overall decor seemed brand new which was great. The only thing to watch out for (not the property's fault) are scorpions that on two separate occasions made their way into our room through the front door. I guess this is just part of being in the desert and could happen anywhere.

The pool area is great, it is a lagoon style with a waterfall and the BEST (yes I said it) hot tub of likely any hotel I have stayed in, and that includes the new St. Regis in Shenzhen that I stayed at two weeks ago with the pool on the 75th floor! The vast majority of hotels have small round hot tubs that too many people try to pack into and don't have proper jets or temperature. At the Sheraton Desert Oasis the hot tub is huge in an irregular shape under a grotto behind the waterfall. The temperature is hot and the jets have pressure, it is extremely relaxing (until kids cannonball into it with water toys).

At the end of the day, if your expectation is not uber luxury but to have a family resort style setting with the advantage of a full kitchen, this is a great choice. Scottsdale in general is beautiful, the landscape unlike what we're used to and enjoyed it immensely. While I could talk about where improvements can be made and amenities I would enjoy, the hotel is excellent for what it is. Don't expect a full service restaurant, valet service, top bath products or high end finishings, but it is clean and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear seekay03

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such extensive feedback on your recent stay at our proprty!
We truly appreciated your comments and think you were spot on with what you said.
More importantly, we were happy to hear that we could provide you and your family with a fun and relaxing vacation in the Valley of the Sun. (Sorry about the scorpions though!)

We hope to see you again sometime!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I reviewed this previously saying upgrades were on the way. They are now complete. New furniture, flat screen TVs, bathroom upgrades, and new kitchen layouts. New artwork, but maybe the old SW theme fit in better, but really not here for the art. The Splash Poolside Grill is now open longer hours and has more food offerings, including some breakfast items. The activities are varied, with many children activities poolside. You can take a van to Pinnacle Peak for guided hike. We took a tour from here to the Southwest Wildlife Conservation Center. Very good. A terrific location to easily get most anywhere within 30 minutes in the greater Phoenix area.

Room Tip: I would ask for one that doesn't get afternoon sun on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear RetiredTraveler2009

Thank you for your diligence in updating your review, now that renovations are complete.
We loved hearing your positive comments and were glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

Come visit us again soon!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.