We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an oasis in the desert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Desert Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Sheraton Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night+ Resort Credit
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Kincardine, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Truly an oasis in the desert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Sheridan Desert Oasis. The units are great but perhaps the best thing is that they have lots of activities that you can join, if you wish and numerous excursions are also available for those who don't want to just enjoy the pools and hot tubs. Two of these I would like to mention are the on site tour of the desert plants growing on the property and the second is a tour offered to a local wildlife sanctuary where you can see grey wolves, coyotes, mountain lions, bears, javelinas, desert turtles and many other animals that have been rescued. Josh was our driver from the resort and our guide as well. It was truly a highlight of our trip to Phoenix.

Room Tip: Perhaps an upper floor room would result in not hearing neighbours, but we have stayed in both the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Mary C

Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice feedback on your recent stay with us!
We very much appreciate it, and we were happy to hear that our property and staff was able to provide you with truly memorable experiences during your time here in the Valley of the Sun.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

Warmest regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    197
    55
    21
    8
See reviews for
181
207
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Sheraton Desert Oasis is set up more as a time share. The rooms are very nice with a living area, small efficiency kitchen, bedroom and bath. The kitchen has a stove, dishwasher, fridge, and oven/microwave combo. There is a very nice pool with a separate spa. The two are separated by a waterfall. There's also an area by the pool where you can get food and drinks.

I was just there for a couple of days so it wasn't worth it to buy groceries. The food at the pool was mostly bar type food that closes at 7:00 and if I had a recommendation it would be to have a regular restaurant where a broader range of food would be available later in the evening.

The property really isn't near anything so it's necessary to drive if you want something off premises. Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Nialover

We appreciate the feedback in regards to you recent stay at our property, and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! Thanks especially for the kind comments about our staff!
You are right, it is definitely convenient to have a car while staying here, as there is not much in walking distance, however a ton of great restaurants and shopping areas only a few miles away in either direction.

We hope to see you again!

Warmest regards

The Sheraton Desert OasisT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This hotel was recently remodel and the rooms were great. The separate bedroom and family room was great and the bathroom could be directly accessed from either room. The kitchen was efficient and there was even a W/D in our unit. Overall I was shocked how great this would be for a long term family stay. The pool was a bit deep, but there was a splash pad for the little ones. One thing that set it a part were the traditional playgrounds on site. The kids enjoyed playing on them while others in the family got ready and the artificial surface meant no one got dirty before we went to dinner. We chose this property over some area westins and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have kids that might enjoy a play ground as to be near them as the 2 are located around the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Aroundtheworld2006

Thank you so much for your great feedback on your recent stay with us!
It was so nice to hear that you and your family (big and little members alike) enjoyed your time here!

Please come visit us again sometime!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We are loving it here! The recently renovated suite 1023 is just like a small cosy home, nicely equipped and decorated.The pool area is complete with hot tub, whirlpool, massive swimming pool, complete with waterfall and cave. The staff are really pleasant and very accommodating. It's a family oriented place and yet at 7:30 pm it is really quiet and we are steps from the pool.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Okerstrom1

Thank you for that lovely review of our property! We loved hearing how much you enjoyed your time with us.

Come see us again soon!

Warm regards,

The Sheratond Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed two nights in a one bedroom suite. The suite was nicely decorated and very clean. We had a view of the pool from the deck. The pools are lovely and we spent a lot of time taking in the sun. The location was handy as not far from shopping and restaurants. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Pazuzu

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay with us. We loved hearing that you enjoyed your time at our property!

Come see us again sometime in the Valley of the Sun!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here for spring training and had a great time. The one bedroom unit we stayed in was just remodled and we were the first people to stay in it. The room was a nice size with a small kitchen. No cook top in the kitchen, but you can ask for a portable 2 burner cook top that goes on the counter. The grounds are very well taken care of. There is a nice little gym near the pool that has cardio and some free weights. The pool was very nice! A large pool with a waterfall that separates the pool from a really large spa that feels like your in a grotto. There is a smaller pool on the property too. Although we had no grandkids with us, we saw a few play structures that looked fun for the kids. The location of the property is great, a block from Hyw 101 and 5 min from all places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear edv56

Thanks for your great feedback on your recent stay at our property. It is much appreciated, and we were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us!

Come see us again sometime (and maybe bring the grandkids? :))

Warm regards!

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent three nights here in a newly refurbished Suite which was really for self-catering. The suite was very well kitted out I don't think there was anything missing. The bed as usual in Sheraton Hotels was excellent. The bed did vibrate for all the wrong reasons, there was an electrical box for the block attached to the outer wall of our bedroom and this vibrated so you could hear and feel the whirr of the electrical current when you put your head on the pillow...not pleasant.
We did not wish to cater for ourselves we wanted to have breakfast in the hotel, however the only place we could have eaten was from a little kiosk/hatch in the wall by the pool where they served fruit juices, cereals and cooked breakfasts BUT all served in polystyrene containers, now where that is understandable by the pool but if in the event of inclement weather you still would have been served your order in these containers inside at the lobby area. For a 4 star hotel we were astonished, no proper plates, glasses etc anywhere except within your suite. Is it that difficult to provide a coffee shop/bar inside the main building where guests could converse with fellow guests over a coffee or drink. Not our style of accommodation. There are no restaurants or cafes nearby without having to get into the car and drive to them, not good if you wish to have a glasses of wine, after all you are on your holidays!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear suzieblue48

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay with us! We always appreciate hearing from our guests.
Though you seemed to have enjoyed your stay overall, we were sorry to hear that we missed the mark on some occasions. We certainly understand where you are coming from when you lament the lack of a sit down coffeeshop/bar. We have been looking into utilitzing a space inside the main building for this exact purporse and are hopeful that we can make it happen in the not too distant future.
We would also like to apologize for the vibrating sensation in the bedroom. We agree that this does not make for a great night's sleep, no matter how comfortable the bed itself is, and we regret that this impacted your stay in a negative way.

Thanks again for your time!

Warm regards

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.