We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of serious renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Desert Oasis

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 35% & $25 Credit
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“In need of serious renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We booked this resort knowing it would be a "2nd tier" resort but didn't expect the room condition issues we had. In all fairness we are used to staying at either Marriott Canyon Villas or Westin Kierland when in the area. The resort is fairly small and the rooms are dates. The layout of our premium 1 bedroom villa was good. Unfortunately we had issues like a bathroom ceiling fan hanging off and eventually falling out in use, a sliding shower door that stopped sliding, cracked tiles in the kitchen countertops, and a moldy framed picture that had slid down inside the frame and had molded where the glue was. The beds were also rock hard. All in all our impression was "shabby". The room was also very, very dark which is odd for sunny Scottsdale! We found the pool temperature perfect and the pool area was nice. The location is great for exploring all the Scottsdale has to offer, however, we probably wouldn't return. It really felt more like a retirement complex from the 80's than a Starwood vacation ownership property. We also resented the pushy timeshare person we had to get a map of the area from. I think a resort should offer a map without requiring you to say "NO" fifteen times to doing a timeshare presentation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It goes without saying that the issues you mention are unacceptable, and your experience is definitely far outside of what we would want any of our guests to experience. We strive to make every guest's stay truly fabulous, and I want to sincerely apologize that it seems we fell short of this goal.

I would like to address your concerns directly with you and come to a resolution. Please contact the resort at your earliest convenience, and ask for the General Manager. I will be happy to discuss this with you.

Warmly,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    180
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
167
185
22
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Just went in for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's birthday. This is our time share but we've only been there once before, about 5-6 years ago. Either I'm not as picky as some or I'm just a push-over. After reading some of the reviews on TripAdvisor, I wondered what we were going to walk into. The furniture is a little beat up, but I don't expect that these resorts or hotels redecorate every year. I put towels on the furniture wherever I want to sit and usually pull off the bed cover. It doesn't matter to me whether it's been redecorated in the last month or never. We have no idea how many people have used that suite before us!

Our room was clean and pleasantly decorated. We enjoyed sitting outside in the morning with our coffee. The resort staff are fabulous, very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The resort is centrally located in north Scottsdale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Greetings KatarinaFlorence!

Thank you sharing with us about your recent experience at the Sheraton Desert Oasis!

We agree, our private patios and balconies are an especially nice place to enjoy your morning coffee!

We hope that you will not wait another five years before visiting us again! Travel well and we'll be anticipating your next arrival with us!

Thank you,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a nice place for a quiet getaway. It offers a peaceful setting.
The star of the hotel has to be their staff. They always greet you with a smile that seems genuine and are ready to help you with any questions you may have. Our only problem was with the 'concierge' they direct you to after check in. They are out to rope you into a time share presentation. We declined but still had messages on our machine asking us to come see them. Not all buildings on their property have elevators. We called ahead and asked for a building with them as one of us has slight mobility issues. They met our request.
The suites are nice. we had a small one bedroom unit with small kitchen that was well equipt. It only had a 2 burner stove top but as we BBQd most evenings, it did not inconvenience us. The bedroom had a queen sized bed and a big tv mounted on the wall. There was a tv in the living room too.
There is not much space for storage. We ended up putting our dry goods in the tv cupboard and our clothes in the small armoires in the bedroom. To do so, we moved blankets and extra pillows. We stored our luggage on a luggage rack in the bedroom which made it difficult to pass by the end of the bed. Our room was always dark so we kept several lights on to brighten the place up.
We had a balcony that we used on warmer days.
There are 2 pools..one a quiet pool and another much bigger and more used. We were impressed by the fact they offered lifts to help guests in wheelchairs get into the pool and huge hot tub. We have not seen this before and think it is a fabulous plus.
You need a car to get around Scottsdale. The hotel offers a trip to get groceries and to a mall for a general shopping experience. The shuttles cost $5 each.
We rented a car and shopped at a small mall nearby, The grocery store is called Frys and it offers everything you need including liquor and beer. There are several nice restaurants nearby.
There are a few organized activities but they are pretty lame...nintendo games, card playing, a bingo with cheapo prizes. On the two Mondays we were there, they brought in a country and western singer who performed lots of oldies .He was very good. The resort offered free chili and pretzels one time and burgers, corn on the cob and potato chips the next on those Mondays. The burger meal was by far the best and could fill you up as would a dinner.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to the mare mature crowd it seems to attract.
If you want to eat and drink there, you are limited to the poolside grill. The food is fine but the place shuts down at 6pm. I saw a bar in the clubhouse but I understand it closes early too.
There is a small gym but I only saw people in it 4 times.
The resort states in its literature that no animals are allowed except for service animals. We saw people walking their dogs in the parking lot that were certainly not service animals....either pets are allowed or they are not. If I was a person with animal allergies, I would be very unhappy to move into a room vacated by one that just housed a pet.
The bathroom had a big jaccuzi tob and shower corner unit. This was nice unless you have mobility priblems as you must lift you legs very high to enter and exit the tub.
The resort offers housekeeping service halfway through your weekly stay. They bring fresh towels and take your garbage away. We needed extra service twice...once when a bulb blew out and once when our coffee maker bit the dust. Both these minor problems were dealt with quickly and to our satisfaction.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Manitobans,

Wow! Thank you for such a detailed review! We always do our best to accomodate our guests and it sounds like we did our best in everyway.

We do agree on there being limited storage space and we are happy to report that our renovation starting this April should remedy that for our guests! There are also renovations taking place to add updated lighting and a more accessible bathtub.

We, as an HOA managed property do not currently allow pets on property. The ADA requirements for service dogs has been modified to allow for medical companions. In compliance with those regulations we offer housing for pets other than your typical service animal. We do however, track which villas our furry friends are registered to so that we can deep clean each unit to provide a hypo-allergenic environment for all of our guests.

We do hope that you will visit us again and hope that you travel safely in the meantime!

Warmly,


The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Warning: I was traveling for business, so I have different needs than does the average guest I would expect to be attracted to the Desert Oasis.

Overall, the rooms are dated. They do have flat-screen TVs, and the kitchens and living areas are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms, however, could use a serious upgrade. One room I stayed in had a weird shower contraption in the corner with a sliding door that you have to step up into, with two shower heads. It seems like the kind of thing that was cool in the 80's. In another room, there was a Jacuzzi in the *bedroom* along a wall that was mirrored. I mean, really? Overall, not offensive rooms, but they could use a facelift.

On the plus side, the service has never been anything but friendly. And there appear to be a lot of amenities for families: Playground and multiple pools (though watch out for canoodling octogenarians in the hot tub).

Otherwise, a couple key things make this not a convenient hotel for business travelers:

* Food: There is no room service at night. Not even a pot of diet coke and a burger.
* Workout: The fitness room is limited. There are free weights but no weight machines. There are two treadmills, but one is dated and doesn't face a TV.
* Resort-style: The multiple building format makes for some distance between where you park (which is pretty easy and free, a pro) and your room, which makes rolling your carry-on around a path and then lugging it up stairs not-so-fun.
* Bar: There isn't really a *bar* area. There's a room where I think they do some tastings, but I have never seen anyone (including a bartender) in there after 7 pm.

I'm an SPG loyalist, so I would stay here again. But only if the Westin Kierland and the W Scottsdale were booked up or exorbitantly more expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Casey_Taylor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your SPG loyalties and are always open to suggestions. You will be happy to hear that we starting a full renovation of our property we are addressing most of the issues you shared.

We are happy to hear that our associates took great care of you, even if we are in desperate need of a facelift. We hope that friendly service and our renovation will bring you back and we'll become your favorite place to stay for business.

Warmly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I traded through Int. International and was not sorry. It is a great place. Clean, wonderful pool and very nice staff. I went in September and it was quiet and not too hot. I had a one bedroom and loved the giant tub in the bedroom. It is close to everywhere but you don't feel like you are in downtown. Would go back there in a second!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Greetings DogMomof8!

We love those 5 star reviews! We are so pleased to hear that your experience was wonderful and would love to come visit us again. There is little else we could hope for than our guests returning to their home-away-from-home!

We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was just a long weekend get-away for our family but I wanted a nice resort feel. This was ALMOST a resort feel type place but not quite.
We had a one bedroom with full kitchen.
The bedroom was small and the bed was very small, too--just a double bed. There was literally just over a foot of space between the bed and three of the walls of the bedroom. The bed, itself, however was very comfortable with what appeared to be new bedding, linens and pillows. All seemed very fresh! The storage in the bedroom was just adequate for our long weekend--two small closets to hang clothing and one drawer each. There was a nice flat screen TV on the wall of the bedroom as well as a door that lead to the covered patio with table and padded bench. The room was simply too small to enjoy, however. The curtain was always getting caught in my closet--that is how small it is.

The kitchen is also small but VERY adequate with every possible item you could want--colandar, coffee pot, salt and pepper, tea, coffee, tea pot, pots, pans, bowls, cups, glasses, and even a blender. VERY WELL STOCKED! There was a double electric burner, small dishwasher, a smaller full-size fridge, and a bar sink. The Kitchen, like the rest of the place, was very clean and house keeping was very pleasant! (Thank you, Herminia!) Oh, and there is a stacked washer and dryer with detergent--BONUS! :)

The living area was longer and narrow with a small pull out (that was not comfy--but few pullouts are), a comfy chair and the kitchen table with four chairs. There was ample room--even when we had visitors. I do think we had one of the smaller units.

The bathroom had wasted space and little to no storage--not even enough space to put a make up bag and toothrbrushes on the sink. The shower was large with two spray heads, good flow, plenty of hot water and doubled as a Jacuzzi tub. The toilet flushed with the power of a thousand toilets--which did wake everyone all night long. At least it worked well!

We were on the second level so there were stairs to traverse with the luggage. All rooms appear to be exterior entrances...not my favorite but it worked. This place is more of an "apartment" feel.

The pool was large with a beautiful waterfall and super large hot-tub. The pool was clean and the hot tub probably was but the discolored tiles and drains made me feel like it was dirty so I could not enjoy it--despite the size!

We got in after hours and were met by a nice employee who checked us in. We avoided the "Concierges" because we did not want to hear a sales pitch.

I enjoyed our stay but would want something a little nicer the next time I am in the area. For the money, I think it should have been a step above. THis might havve been the perfect room for a SOLO traveler...not a family of three! If you are a family of three, make sure you ask for a larger room and you will be happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Justmemela,

What a well written review! You included every detail and as we know the details are what can make or break your experience! We can understand your feedback about the space in our deluxe one bedroom unit. Starting the middle of April 2013 we are undergoing a full renovation to remedy the space issue. The bed in your room was in fact a Queen bed, but is dwarfed by the large armoires. We are excited for our renovation as we are going to upgrade the unit you rented to a King bed and smaller furniture to provide a more luxurious feel. We're adding storage and remodeling the layout in the kitchen and bathroom. There are so many changes there isn't room to list them. We invite you and your family back next year to experience a whole new Desert Oasis!

Thank you again for all your feedback!

Warmly,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice MN
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We chose this facility as a trade through RCI vacation exchange. The pools were lovely - one large one with waterfall, and a smaller "quiet" pool. The grounds were well maintained. We had a one bedroom unit with kitchen and laundry facilities. It's a great option when staying in the area for more than a night or two.
I do wish we wouldn't be pressured to sit through the presentations where they try to convince us to buy into their vacation program. We just are not interested, and we certainly don't want to waste our precious vacation time this way.
On the other hand, everyone was very friendly and helpful. I would willingly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOGM, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Warm Greetings to you kc130!

Thank you for such a pleasant review! We strive to have world class service and we love to hear when we succeed! We of course want you to continue coming back each year and would love to have you as one of our Owners. But we also understand the need to cherish each moment with your family. Hopefully you will visit us again soon and continue to build those memories that will last forever!

Sincerely,

The Sheraton Desert Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.