We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but intimate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Desert Oasis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Desert Oasis to your Saves list
Sheraton Desert Oasis
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Night & $25 Credit
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small but intimate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Although this time share resort is a bit small compare to other Starwood resorts, it is well maintained. The mattress on the other hand was old and uncomfortable. The support was weak and you sink into the mattress. The staff provided impeccable service through out our stay, we especially enjoyed the free continental breakfast provided by the activity vendors. Most activities were centrally located by the pool and the club house. It felt very intimate, unlike other big resorts where too many things happening in too many different locations. There were abundance of restaurants and supermarket close by for your shopping needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear MellowtravelerKao,

We are so pleased you found the location of the resort to be within abundance of great restaurants, shopping, and things to do! And thank you for your compliments about the activities you mentioned. We really try to have a nice program for guests of all ages, and yes, we try to make them convenient to everyone!

With regards to the mattress issue you mention, I would like to extend our apologies. Although this is not a common issue, and we are right now addressing the small amount of villas that are affected, please be advised that all villas will be undergoing complete renovation starting in April of 2013, where all new mattresses will be installed.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kindly,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    194
    55
    20
    8
See reviews for
179
203
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CENTENNIAL
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've stayed here twice as a vacation exchange with Interval I. I was an artist participant at the Tempe Festival of the Arts in Fall and Spring. To say the least I was disappointed that I was unable to book this facility again on my current stay. I rarely use superlatives to describe a location but this place is well deserved. We had a wonderful suite on our last visit with a nice jacuzzi tub in the room. The accommodations and location couldn't have been nicer! Look forward to staying there again some time soon.

Room Tip: Request a suite, they have a more roomy floor plan. We did not make use of room service or the spa f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear BRIAN B,

Firstly, we in our local community extend much gratitude to those who contribute to our great and thriving art scene, so kudos on your mention of being an artist participant with the Tempe Festival of the Arts!

And thank you so much for the great compliments about Sheraton Desert Oasis. We are so glad you have enjoyed your trips here, and we look forward to being your host for many more! I am sorry that you were unable to secure accommodations upon your most recent visit to the Valley of the Sun. If we can ever be of assistance in this regard, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Best,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I liked this Sheraton....it's different than most hotels, setup more like apts but the rooms have lots of space, a kitchenette, living room and balcony...the bathroom was big too with a nice jacuzzi tub. I didn't use the pool but it looked nice. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Garth O,

Much thanks for your compliments! We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and all of the great amenities we have to offer.

Happy travels, and we would love to have you as our guest again sometime.

With regards,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Great location if you like golf and want to be close to heading North out of Phoenix. Quite a trip (30 mins) to downtown Phoenix. Accommodation was good if somewhat in need of some modernisation. No bar in the complex other that the pool bar.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear GaryL,

Thank you for being our recent guest. Your comments are much appreciated!

In regards to our facilities, I just wanted to let you know that a complete renovation of all of our resort villas is scheduled to start in 2013.

Hopefully you will come see us again sometime. Thank you again for staying with us!

Warmest regards,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I booked this for my kids wedding and checked in a day late but had no problems. Quick, easy and friendly check in. The concierge was very helpful by providing information on the local amenities. The suite was what I expected. The only down side is the toilets, they are really loud when they flush.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South and west sides are quieter. Also, rooms near the main pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear ScbaMom,

Your comments are so much appreciated! I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sheraton Desert Oasis!

But I want to apologize about the noise from the toilets. Please know that all villas will be undergoing renovation starting in April 2013, and this includes replacing the toilets with a much quieter model!

We hope to see you again sometime!

Best,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is our third time trading our RCI points to stay in Scottsdale, over a 6 year period. Not much has noticebly changed at the Sheraton Desert Oasis. The location remains excellent, close proxity to restaurants, shopping and golf. The pool area remains lovely, customer service is wonderful. While we would probably go again the suites need major facelifts. Here are some recommendations in hopes that management reviews and considers (we stayed in a full one bedroom):
1) Kitchen - need food pantry space as there is no cupboards for groceries. The sink is large and there is need for a spray head for the faucet to clean the sink. They used to provide placemats and we had to ask this time. Considering the tables are glass, would be great if those were provided regardless.
2) Living room/dining room. The furnishings need to be replaced. They looked worn and the scale of the dining table is huge in comparison to the space so makes the room a bit tight.
3) Bedrooms - please get rid of those awful corner huge jacuzzis. Waste of water and do people actually use those? Please get proper duvet covers for the duvets as I suspect the duvets are not cleaned between guests and the one flat sheet is not great. Why have HD in the living room and not in the bedroom?
4) General Noise - I have no idea why, but the toilets were so loud when flushed, one can have a heart attack each time it was flushed (so we didnt flush in the night :). Both the dishwasher and washing machine were also very loud when operating.
5) General Provisions - We had plenty of coffee filters, toilet paper and paper towels but other time shares we have stayed also provided dishwasher detergent for the week and liquid dish soap also. We got one pod for the dishwasher and nothing to wash the pans. Not a big deal to add to avoid the guest from buying a whole box or bottle just for a week's stay.

Room Tip: Book a full kitchen suite or the suite is tiny. Try to be at least on the 2nd floor for privacy ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Breezey,

Thank you so much for your comments and compliments about our service, location, and pool area.

And also, our gratitude goes out with regard to the feedback you provided about the villas. I am sorry that they were not up to the level you had experienced on previous visits in terms of their date and wear and tear.

But I have great news, and just wanted to let you know! All of our villas will be undergoing a complete renovation starting in April of 2013. Our resort will be open while the work is being done, as it will be done in phases, so as to cause minimal to no impact to guests, and is scheduled to be completed by March of 2014.

We are so excited! And, to address your points made in your post, I will go through them one by one, so you have a good picture of what will be happening. Although there could me minor revisions to the overall scope of the work as it progresses, at this point, this is the plan...

1) The kitchen will be undergoing a redesign, to include all new additional pantry space, so the food storage issue should be no longer. Additionally, the new dining table should fit better in proximity to the rest of the villa, and at this point, is not planned to be glass.

2) The living room couch and chair will be replaced, and the dining table is mentioned above.

3) The corner Jacuzzis will be replaced with a more modern and more size-fitting design in the bedroom. HD TV is in the bedroom.

4) New toilets with a much quieter flush will be installed.

5) I apologize that you did not receive enough dishwasher detergent and no liquid dish soap. You should have been provided with plenty of both. We do normally stock both in the villa, and when that amount is exhausted, we can always provide more.

So we really hope you are planning on returning in mid 2013, so that you can enjoy our renovated villas! Although they all won't be done by then, please feel free to phone ahead!

And if we can ever assist you further, please feel free to contact us anytime.

Warmly,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just returned from staying at the Sheraton Desert Oasis. I had previously stayed there last year and on both occasions it was an excellent stay. The staff is extremely friendly, the location is great and the hotel is in good condition. The pool area is well maintained and the pool is heated. The grotto area with the hot tub is great at night after a long day of shopping. I definitely plan to go back when I have the chance!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SDOManager, Manager at Sheraton Desert Oasis, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Sab_Nav82,

Here at Sheraton Desert Oasis, we thrive on creating the best experiences possible for our guests. I am so happy that we seemed to really meet your expectations on all accounts!

Thank you so much for your compliments! I will share them with our associates.

Best,

SDOManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Desert Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Desert Oasis

Address: 17700 N. Hayden Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#15 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Desert Oasis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Desert Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Desert Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Hotel Scottsdale
Sheraton Resort Scottsdale
Sheraton Scottsdale
Scottsdale Sheraton
Desert Oasis Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Desert Oasis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.