We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with the family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5401 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, AZ 85250   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Food & Drink Credit
Ranked #31 of 79 hotels in Scottsdale
Toronto
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great stay with the family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My family stayed at the Doubletree Paradise Valley while visiting family in Scottsdale. The rooms were quite spacious and the property was quite large and attractive. We upgraded our connecting rooms to "premium" which seemed to give us great space. Plus we had end rooms which were very quiet. Try and get a room on the first floor as you will get a nice walkout patio. Ask to be near the pool so your room is easy access for to/from trip.

There were a few problems (noisy toilets, some channels on tv didn't get any sound, mini bars didn't always keep stuff at proper temp). But all in all, a good stay if you are staying with kids.

Very friendly staff and attentive concierge. The property is large so if you need assistance they have golf carts to help you get around.

Room Tip: Ask for end rooms, first floor near the south end pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for being with us and for this great review of your room and service provided by our staff. We're glad you enjoyed our larger than normal guest rooms that have been recently renovated as well as your patio. All our guest rooms have patios, whether on first or second floors. If we could get your name or room number, we will direct staff to address the toilet, TV and refrigerator issues you experienced. Otherwise, we will remind staff to check these in any and all rooms they go into. We do hope that your travels will bring you back to our area soon and, when they do, you will return once again to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    328
    150
    49
    30
See reviews for
188
250
66
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Loved this hotel! The grounds, rooms, pool area, meeting areas were amazing. This is a large expansive property but it felt like an intimate boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and I loved the wood beamed ceiling! I was on business a conference but would absolutely stay again on holiday. I would agree that several people at our conference had trouble finding their rooms because of lighting at night and the the "maze like" layout of the property. What really stood out to me was how clean the entire property was, it seems that a lot of pride is taken in keeping it up even with so many guests and conventions going on at the same time. The down side was the breakfast, it could use some updating..it seemed somewhat "cheap" for this caliber of resort.

Room Tip: If you don't have a car get a room closest to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for being with us and for this excellent review of the resort as well as the service and cleanliness provided by our staff. We do take great pride in our resort and I'm so glad that it showed to you. We do hope that you will return again sometime in the near future to enjoy our resort and area even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Very enjoyable trip. We were there three days. The property is beautiful with two pools and nice little villa set up. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Some said old but when I think old I think 1970s. Not this place. Granite counters, coffee maker, desk, some rooms have sofas. Had a view of the fountain which was pretty. Quaint little patio as well. Dinner first night was not good but all subsequent meals were fine. I would stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for being with us and for this very pleasant review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and would return again, which we hope you will do again soon and often. Three days is just not enough to see and do all there is at our resort or the area around us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Double Tree Resort in Paradise Valley for 3 nights. It's is nice enough. The rooms are really large and clean. Our one complaint is the bathroom looks like a hospital bathroom. Yuck! As we were staying there they were installing wi-fi in all the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for being our guest and for this favorable review of your stay. However, our goal is to be better than nice enough, in facility, amenities and service. We apologize if you were negatively impacted by our installation of our new high speed, wireless internet connectivity in our rooms. This should be completed over the next couple weeks and will increase the bandwidth and wireless access to all our guest rooms. We hope that you will return to our area soon and, when you do, will once again select our resort for your home away from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Love the rooms - very spacious, private and quiet. The sprawling property is showing some wear with a few cracked sidewalks and broken planters. The outdoor lighting at night is insufficient. The outdoor corridors are long, winding and dark with inadequate lighting and they are not covered which makes for a long, very wet walk if it rains However, service in all areas of the hotel was excellent The restaurant is very nice with a lovely water feature in the center and the food was very good. Short distance to Old Town Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Bungalow style rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for selecting our resort and for this compliments of the resort and the service provided by our staff. We have proposed in our 2013 capital to address the planters, sidewalks and lighting. We do hope that you will return on your next visit to our area and will see the continuing improvements made by our company and investors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just spent four nights at the resort, it's not very busy and has all the amenities. They hotel runs a shuttle that will drive you anywhere within 2 miles. Service at the restaurants are slow but there are lots of fantastic restaurants in the area. The hotel is close to the fashion mall, the canal where you can run on the dyke with no traffic and downtown Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks into the garden vs. facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for being with us and for this decent review of your stay. However, our goal is to be much better than that, to go beyond expectation and to show you the special comforts, great service and acts of kindness that make a guest feel human again. We will pass on your comments about service so that our team members are motiviated to do better. We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to do better on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Biggest downfall about this place is the lack of wi-fi in the rooms- I was there on business and felt silly having to go to the lobby to get wi-fi for my tablet and other wireless devices. The second but probably more important feature missing is the lack of light around the resort in the various walkways around the property. I stayed in a room towards the back of the property and I felt unsafe walking from my car to my room and from my room to the lobby due to the lack of lights at night- although this place is in a very wealthy area, it is not a gated property so anyone can walk onto the property and potentially hide out in one of the many dark corners around the property to cause harm- this lack of lights was not only noticed by me but also by my coworkers who stayed there as well. The grounds on the resort are otherwise beautiful and well-kept and the rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doubletree1, General Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for being with us and for this feedback on your stay. We are glad that your stay went well but sincerely apologize for the issues you experienced in wireless access and in lighting throughout our resort. We are in the process of installing our upgraded high speed wireless solution in all our guest rooms. For the last several months we have been installing all the cabling and access points throughout our 378 guest rooms and 22 acrea property. This has taken longer than we thought but this cabling should be completed this month, with installation of equipment and getting the system up by the end of the year. Enhanced lighting is also on our capital plan for 2013. We do hope that we will see you again on your next visit to our area and that you will notice the improvements we continue to make in the areas you noted. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale

Address: 5401 N. Scottsdale Rd., Scottsdale, AZ 85250
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#23 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#33 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Paradise Valley Hotel Scottsdale
Doubletree Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Paradise Valley - Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.