We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Restaurant with Excellent Atmosphere ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tanzy

Tanzy
15257 North Scottsdale Road Suite F-230, Scottsdale, AZ 85254
480-483-3255
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Tanzy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #374 of 1,024 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Scottsdale Road and Greenway Hayden
Description: Tanzy's imaginative cuisine, lively indoor/outdoor atmosphere and talented chef, are what makes this food lovers destination a favorite amoung Scottsdale's Dining Connoisseurs. Our new age approach to Mediterranean cuisine makes Tanzy a uniqe addition to the Scottsdale scene and combines stylish elegance with an innate sense of fun. Our Executive Chef orchestrates a symphony of flavors with each dish, using fresh, natural products and a passionate belief in capturing the essence of the basics. Our guests are privy to the restaurant's superb decor, rich textured woods, and dramatic copper ceilings, all while experiencing flawless service. Enjoy signature Mediterranean flavors, all prepared with finesse and flair from the sizzle and spectacle of our open exhibition kitchen. Our marvelous cuisine is complemented by a wine list of over 200 labels, carefully selected by our sommelier.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegant Restaurant with Excellent Atmosphere ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I came here to have dinner and to see a movie right afterwards at the iPic theater. We were seated immediately even though we were about 10 minutes late past the time of our reservation. We were seated at a very comfortable booth and had the menu explained thoroughly by our knowledgeable waiter. We received a free sample of their new prosciutto dish which was excellent. We had the brussels sprouts for an appetizer which were okay. We almost wished we would have ordered a larger version of the prosciutto instead. My husband got the stuffed shrimp and I got the short ribs. The stuffed shrimp lacked a little flavor but was okay. The short rib was to die for. The meat fell apart at the touch of the fork. The only reason I rated the place with only 4 stars is because I didn't see too much originality on the menu but everything else about the place, especially the service, was impeccable. Walking 100 feet away to the theater was also a nice touch plus the waiter went and picked up our movie tickets for us while we ate our dinner! We would come back here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzy, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal! Thank you for the positive feedback. We look forward to serving you during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    31
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place, but food too salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I ate at Tanzy with a large business group. It's a nice atmosphere and the service was great, but my Chilean sea bass was way too salty and a rather small serving considering the $34 price. Others in the group said their entrees were salty as well, including the ribeye. There is a fine line when seasoning with salt; you can always add some if needed, but once it's there and overdone it tends to ruin the entree. There are many choices in this area of town, I wouldn't choose to return to Tanzy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Top notch food and service. Went with a group of 10 and we all enjoyed the atmosphere and experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzy, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed a five star dining experience with us. The Tanzy staff looks forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Flatters to deceive. An off night maybe?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Smart, chic and expensively decorated! This place looks good when you go up to the escalators to dine.
We went there as one of a number of recommendations we had and were immediately impressed by the bar and seating area in front of the substantial dining rooms. We were looking forward to fine dining but..............
Sadly this is where the superlatives end. The restaurant at 8.30pm was sparsely populated which may have been that the associated cinema had started it shows but thursday at this time it should have been busier.
Suffice to say nothing else was really memorable. It was so dark that the server gave us a torch to read the menus. The drinks, meals and the service were slow and the senior server was busy teaching a newbie as well as fawning all over guests at the adjoining table for 10 minutes. Her chatting for most of that time did not help either.
Overall, the food was disappointing, so much so that as I write I cannot recall what I ate (yes I can as I kept the bill to remind me when writing reviews) but I would not visit again and would not recommend it. May have been an off night as the fixtures and fittings were top notch.
It was an expensive evening with little atmosphere and less welcoming food and service. Sorry!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This great restaurant is tucked away on the second floor near the iPic theater and rather difficult to find on the first visit. Our server thought the location might account for the lack of diners during the week. The bar, however, seemed to have a lively vibe and was well populated at happy hour.

The decor is eyecatching with great use of luxurious materials and detailing and the food is equally eyechatching and mouth watering.

Wines can be ordered in two sizes depending on your budget, appetite, or desire to try more than one vintage. A great idea I wish more restaurants would adopt.

Nicholas served as both bartender and server and excelled in both.

Try it, you won't be disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Guest Relations Manager at Tanzy, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your dining experience at Tanzy! Your comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tanzy also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tanzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanzy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.