We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great upscale pub food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Culinary Dropout

Culinary Dropout
7135 E Camelback Rd, Suite 125, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1277
+1 480-970-1700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Culinary Dropout is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 1,023 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Montvale, NJ
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great upscale pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great location by the fashion square mall and a block from the waterfront/downtown. A shabby chic type of place where most of the servers have sleeve tattoos. And oh by the way, the food is awesome. We started out with the pretzels and cheese fondue. Excellent starter and plenty to share with the table. I had the fried chicken which was super crispy and super juicy. The French dip was a prime rib and the family now has a new benchmark for what French dip sandwich is supposed to taste like. It's not the easiest place to get a table and we were sitting next to a few pro athletes so it's a happening location. Parking is pretty easy and the bill wasn't bad. I would definitely return and have a designated driver next time. Great selection of local craft beers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    93
    33
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Meal we had in the USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Spending two weeks on holiday in the USA during July and we both decided that the meal we had at this restaurant was definitely the best of all.
The restaurant environment was attractive both inside and out. Service was excellent, friendly and helpful. We had had a large lunch so weren't looking for anything too much, we decided to share a main, and supplement it with a couple of the antipasto items - grilled asparagus and bread & olive oil. We told the waiter of our intention to share the main, when the meal of ribs arrived at our table they had split the meal so that we each had our own plate - fantastic! The food was delicious. The ribs tender and very tasty. The standout favourite was the grilled asparagus. The servings were very generous. Even though we shared the main, with the additional 'sides' we left feeling full. We would most definitely return to this restaurant again. Thanks for the fantastic food and friendly attentive service:-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Craft cocktails are cupcakes at this hangout!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Best Manhattan this side of...Pluto. These folks can mix a drink that you'll remember fondly. There's no vanilla in the arsenal. Just pure borderline exotic creativity in liquid form. Food was ok. Patio superb!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere, Great bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We met friends from out of town there twice in the last week. We really enjoy the bar there and the atmosphere. They have really nice appetizers and small plates. The pretzel fondue is a must and the antipasta plates are wonderful!

We aren't beer drinkers but they offer some really great cocktails.

The staff is friendly and we have had great service on each visit.

They offer a relaxed by positive vibe. We had people in our parties in their 20s, 40s and 60s. Everyone loved it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Awesome place. The ambiance is funky. The vibe is on par. Food and service excellent. Enjoy your moment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Dropout also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Culinary Dropout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culinary Dropout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.