We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best High Tea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea
6000 E. Camelback Road, The Phoenician, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
480-941-8200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Afternoon Tea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 1,023 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Camelback Road and 64th Street
Description: In the English tradition, afternoon tea is served daily in the Lobby Tea Court. Consistently voted "Best Afternoon Tea" by the Phoenix New Times and Arizona Republic readers, full tea includes finger sandwiches, scones with Devonshire cream and preserves, pastries and a selection of fine blends. Classical music provides a charming backdrop for a relaxing afternoon break. A Gluten-Free menu is available with advance notice.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best High Tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Afternoon Tea at the Phoenician is the best!!! The service is impeccable!! The food, tea, and champagne is delicious!!!! Wanda is a lovely, sweet person and she clearly loves her job!! She goes out of her way to make sure that you have the best experience possible!!! It wouldn't be the same without Wanda and her warm, friendly smile and demeanor!! The Phoenician is a MUST for afternoon tea!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Scottsdale Tea Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We love The Phoenician and have stayed there several times. As we live in England, we found the afternoon tea ritual slightly amusing. However, the fare was more or less what we would have had back home. The waitress was charming and very attentive.
It seemed a little expensive so we regarded it a a treat rather than a daily visit.
That said, a good effort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Welcome back to The Phoenician! We are delighted that you joined us for afternoon tea. We know that our English visitors have very high standards for tea and we are thrilled that you treated yourself and had a great time. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea at The Phoenician”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A treat for myself and daughter. We were seated on the couch which at first seemed odd but we decided it was the most comfortable and scenic seat in the tea lobby. We loved the sandwiches and scones but less impressed with the deserts. This is essentially all you can eat as they serve you from trays that they bring by more than once for each course rather than the traditional tiered tea stands. Beautiful view of the city and facing the piano. Very relaxing, we wished we were staying the night so we could head to a room or the pool! Know that a steep gratuity is added to bill but service was very good. Surprisingly, though, tea was never poured for us and we had to ask for water on the side.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Best spot in Phoenix for a spot of tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We tried dinner twice at J&G steakhouse upstairs and it just didn't measure up to what you expect of the Phoenician. But afternoon tea in the lobby is all that and more.

I've done it twice in 6 months and would go more frequently if I had tea-swilling friends living locally. My husband went under duress but loved it (but I still can't get him to go back). The other time I went was with a group from church.

Both visits were delightful. The tea choices and tea sandwiches were excellent and they replenish whatever you wish. My favorite tea spots through the years were The Palm Court at the Plaza (NYC) and the lobby of the Brown Hotel in London. I've also had some delightful teas at sea.

This one is as good as any, has a better view, and the best service.

Locally, the Ritz also has a nice tea, but it's just another tea at the Ritz. Nothing to sniff at, but you could be at any Ritz in the country; there's no sense of place.

Finally, it's nicely priced. $31 the first time. I think last time it was $36. (The recession is over.) But for just $9 more, we opted for the unlimited champagne option. It was quite nice! I've seen teas north of $60 sans champagne, so I think it's a good value for the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We absolutely love it when our guests enjoy afternoon tea with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Best Tea in the US ? Most likely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

By far the best quality and presentation in the Southwest, followed closely by the Saturday Ritz Carlton Tea. The lounge is extremely bright, and the servers are most welcoming. We attended on a Sunday, undoubtedly the busiest Tea day of the week. However, we were immediately seated and the tea blends were explained to us. It was obvious families were attending to mark special occasions, the patrons were all dressed in their Sunday best.

The asparagus sandwiches are unbelievable. We had taken tea a year before, and were sure those delicacies would disappear. Happily, they were as tender and flavorful as memory served.

The scones were light, the curd and preserves were fresh. The savory sandwiches included the usual suspects, egg, salmon, and chicken salad. All were lightly spiced and excellent.

Any future trips to Phoenix will surely include the Phoenician Tea.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at Afternoon Tea, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for your return visit to afternoon tea at The Phoenician. We take great pride in afternoon tea and we are very pleased that it was as good as you remember. The best tea in the U.S. is a tall order, and one which we do not take lightly. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us, and please come visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon Tea also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Carefree, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Afternoon Tea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afternoon Tea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.