We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by friends, had a wonderful meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar Mexican Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sandbar Mexican Grill
10050. North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #605 of 1,023 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Part of the Desert Ridge Shopping Complex, Phone 480-585-5900 Wonderful concept restaurant, amazing service, great prices, really good food
Restaurant details
Description: Part of the Desert Ridge Shopping Complex, Phone 480-585-5900 Wonderful concept restaurant, amazing service, great prices, really good food
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Recommended by friends, had a wonderful meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Some friends recommended we meet them at the Sandbar Mexican Grill. It's a very festive, loud and active place. Our server was awesome and very attentive to our requests and needs. The food was delivered quickly - and we had some of the best tacos of our lives. Seriously, we really enjoyed the food! There was some other large event or party that was being hosted there that evening, once they started up it got really loud and hard to converse with our friends. But outside of that we loved our experience and would be happy to go back the next time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Lively, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

It's hard not to have a good time here. The decor is tropical vacation themed with just enough tv screens to watch the game. The guacamole is fantastic. I also recommend the grilled mahi tacos!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun environment, good food, great salsa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I loved the way they combined indoors with outdoors. Colorful chairs at mosaic topped tables with umbrellas in the "outdoor" part - the floor beneath you is sand, a water feature nearby. I asked about what they do when it is really hot and when it gets cold and they got it all figured out - perfect temperature year round.

Staff was pleasant, some even super-friendly.

I loved the two different types of salsa they served - one a milder, even a tad sweet verde sauce and the typical pico de gallo type of salsa. My lunch - Ancho Chile Mahi Tacos - SO good. I recently moved here and I will definitely be back!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't go..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The food was expensive and not very good. We ordered a taco salad and there was so much liquid it was more like a soup, no joke. They also over charged us..

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loud,Raucus mexbar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

If you want a loud Mex sports bar type place with average food,and lots of young folks drinking lots, this could be your spot. If you're over 30, would like good food and service and might want to speak to your dinner companions, this is not for you. We like a 'rita or beer with our dinner too, BUT. Lots better choices in North S'dale.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Mexican Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sandbar Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.