We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This trip did not disappoint. Hiking the Grand Canyon should be on your bucket list. Really impressive.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Just Roughin' It Adventure Company

Just Roughin' It Adventure Company
7625 E.Redfield Rd., Ste. 160, Scottsdale, AZ 85260
480-857-2477
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 121 Activities in Scottsdale
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Just Roughin' It Adventure Company is a full service backpacking and hiking guide company, leading tours in Grand Canyon, Yosemite, and Olympic National Parks, as well as Paria Canyon and the Superstition Mountains in the Phoenix, AZ area. We provide our guests with top of the line backpacking and hiking gear, which means you are camping - sleeping in tents and sleeping bags on the ground. Expect little to no amenities - having running water may be your only luxury. The Ritz we ain't, but the experience will have you trekking through some of the most beautiful places in the US with your guide. Oh - and our food is NOT what you would expect on a camping trip. We provide quality meals prepared by your experienced and certified guide in the middle of the wilderness - the best seat in the house!
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“This trip did not disappoint. Hiking the Grand Canyon should be on your bucket list. Really impressive.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I thoroughly enjoyed this hiking trip. Having dinner on the Plateau Point was the highlight. The most incredible view I've ever seen. Crystal was a very attentive guide - kind, sensitive and helpful, and very pleasant to be around. With the exception of our tent zipper, the equipment was in very good condition. No matter how careful we were about zipping, it would split. It took three of us at least 20 minutes (on separate occasions) to close the tent door. This became even more frustrating if you needed to leave the tent to get something or go to the bathroom. Other than than that, I found the tents, bags and backpacks to be very clean and in good shape.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    10
    0
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
“A true epic adventure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I completed a 4 day-3 night South Kaibab to Bright Angel Trail over March 30 - April 2 and found it to be a truly amazing experience. Our guide Larry was extremely helpful, making sure that everyone stayed safe and offering whatever help was needed. I personally started off the trip not feeling well and he was noticeably attentive to my physical condition to make sure I stayed hydrated and as well fueled as possible. We made it down and after a good night's sleep on the comfortable mattress and sleeping bag I was able to enjoy the indescribable beauty and vastness of the canyon the remainder of the trip. The food was plentiful and tasty and having all of the gear provided was priceless. The only problem we had was that the tent zipper was very touchy and often frustrating, but once again Larry was always there to lend a hand.
The company's ample advice on training and preparation was excellent and they were always happy to answer any questions we had before the trip to make sure we were comfortable. This was our first backpacking adventure and they made it as smooth as I could have possibly hoped.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
“Wonderful, relaxing kayaking tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Our guides were the best ever! Fun, knowledgeable, and, most important, really easygoing. We had a great time - the trip started at 9AM and ended around 1PM. We thought it was a great value and would recommend to anyone. Just don't forget your sunscreen!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“if you go to the Canyon, you gotta hike to the bottom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Grand Canyon is a natural wonder to be savoured. It was a real privilege to go down the Hermit Trail for 4 days with 4 other hikers and our guide. We were well cared for and I felt safe doing a journey that at times definitely challenged me. It was well worth it!!!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great half-day hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Ray took us on a half day hike of the Sunrise Trail. His professionalism and attention to detail were indicative of his competence and knowlege. Although his company does mainly multi-day hikes he accomodated us as we had received a gift certificate for a Just Roughin It Adventure. Thanks Ray!

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Just Roughin' It Adventure Company also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Just Roughin' It Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Just Roughin' It Adventure Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.