We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good. Nice place..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renegade Canteen - CLOSED

Renegade Canteen
9343 E Shea Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85260-6802 (Central Scottsdale)
480-614-9400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central Scottsdale
Cross street: Shea and 93rd St
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good. Nice place..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Have been here several times. Service was fair food was great. Seemed a bit slower than usual , they seemed to pour light on the drinks .

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Renegade currently CLOSED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

They are supposed to be reopening soon... I believe under new management. We have dined there several times, and the food was good, the servers were excellent and very professional. However, we ate there last for Easter Brunch 2012, and they did not have a very thorough selection of food, and almost no dessert options.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit pricey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Went with friends for happy hour at thier suggestion. Staff was very helpful and very nice. Happy hour menu was heavily weighted towards seafood and pork dishes which was OK for myself but difficult for others in my party. Chicken tacos were quite as was the burger that turned out to be quite a good size. Scanned the dinner menu, seemed pricey for the area as was happy hour. May go back but for happy hour only

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARIZONA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wine Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were fortunate enough to be invited to a very intimiate wine diner hosted by Chris and Chef Donny. I can't say enough great things about our evening. Chef Donny's food was spot on and paired with outstanding wines by Chris. Every course just melted in your mouth and the combination of food and wine - perfect.

Renegades is a great "go to place" when you just want some good food at a reasonable price. The staff is always so friendly and the service is great. If you have not been yet, it is definately worth a try.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“Our first visit - mostly very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Our visit was not planned, so we went here only knowing who owns the restaurant and very little else about it. We were seated promptly and the service was good, a bit slow near the end, but competent.

The food, with one exception, was all very good. We had the beet salad, a chicken flatbread, the grilled chicken and a side of chili mac. The beet salad was very, very good. Well presented and a good mix of beets, goat cheese, arugula and pistachios. The flatbread was poblano spiced and was very tasty. The chicken was perfectly grilled and presented with a nice mash. It was the green chili mac that fell flat. It was served warm, not hot and really was flat on flavor (it even needed salt, and we hardly ever salt food). The waiter took it away and did not charge for it.

The space is a large room with high volume and an outside seating area at the back. The bar was hopping, probably due to a Stanley Cup playoff game on the tv.

We will go back. The overall experience warrants it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renegade Canteen also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renegade Canteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.