We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can NOT wait to go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Talking Stick Resort to your Saves list
Talking Stick Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9800 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Brea, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Can NOT wait to go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband stayed at this location for a getaway from the kids moment and fell in love. We upgraded to a "Club King" which was awesome! With the Club King room you get to stay on a higher level and you get basically Breakfast and Dinner items.... We got to pick off the actual room service menu since we were the only ones on the entire floor for the first day and night. After that you get little appetizers or "poopoos" that you get in the exclusive room. Service was amazing. We also walked in to a box filled with chocolate covered pretzels and toffee peanuts complimentary. DELICIOUS! The only NEGATIVE were two things. One was when we first walk in and sat on the bed, it STANK LIKE STRING BODY ODOR all over the bed! Called the front and they quickly handled it. The room felt extremely clean.... even clean enough to walk barefoot. The SECOND was the fact that the lounges that we were SO LOOKING FORWARD TO were under renovation. So we had nothing to really do. Since we don't gamble or smoke. I really wished they would have informed us ahead of time so we could have rescheduled our trip. Other than that it was all amazing. The staff was all super friendly. About those comments about the smoke in the casino... ITS A CASINO... It SMELL BETTER THAN THE HIGH END CASINOS IN VEGAS. THE ONLY place that really stink was in the area of the Cigar Lounge. Other than that, it was no bad at all. Then drinks were relish. Chocolate martinis came out amazing and STRING! We also ate at the Orange Sky restaurant. MAKE RSVPS for a PRIVATE BOOTH with a view.... AMAZING! AMAZING AMAZING VIEWS and FOOD!! Can NOT wait to go back!

Room Tip: Upgrade for the CLUB KING VIEW ROOM! Amazing! Free breakfast items and dinner items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    261
    113
    38
    47
See reviews for
84
267
28
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Ok, so it's not Vegas but with excellent rates, large well equipped rooms, 2 excellent golf courses, a casino and great weekend pool parties, what more could you want?

Stayed here a few times now and every time the service is great. The hotel itself has plenty to do, although it's not immediately nearby to much else - but does have a shuttle service which can take you out to local bars/ restaurants.

Will definitely be staying here again when on business in Scottsdale.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Talking Stick is great for the location, close to Scottsdale shopping & nightlife but their customer service sucks. Severely. They just are not service oriented at all.
Also, the website was a little deceiving bc I reserved the "Scenic View Club King" room, which was $45 more than the regular "Club King" room I had previously stayed in, bc the pics online made it look like it was a corner room with balcony. It was no different than the one I had stayed in before. In fact, it was no different than the regular basic room my friend stayed in on the 3rd floor besides the fact that it was on a top floor. The rooms are fairly nice, don't get me wrong, but I would say just go with the basic guest room, same room, better price.
Overall nice, clean hotel, unfriendly service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I enjoy traveling and certainly enjoy traveling to cities with casinos. While I didn't stay at the Talking Stick Resort, I did visit their casino on a couple occasions recently.

The casino was nice and clean. The dealers were fun and they had all the table games I like to play (Blackjack, Three Card Poker and Let It Ride with the three card poker bonus) The dealers DON'T tips share which adds an incentive for them to be nice or risk not getting tipped! Smoking usually doesn't bother me but it did seem a little over the top on this trip. They did have 4 blackjack tables in the poker room that were non-smoking but I prefer to be in the middle of the action. It is what it is, it's a casino after all. As is typical with Native American casinos, you have to pay for your alcohol. Always a bummer, especially knowing how much money people are spending.

Overall, I enjoyed my time spent there and will be back the next time I visit the Phoenix/Scottsdale area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This place was absolutely amazing. Room was clean and spacious. The staff didn't seem to clean the hallways, as beer caps from first night were there when we left 5 nights later. first night was a bit loud from a bachelor party, but nothing crazy. It was great place, for gambling and eating. The restaurant downstairs with sushi was to die for. Casino wasn't overly smokey...but we didn't play many games. The valet parking was a dream, and easy to use, no more than 5 min wait for car.

Room Tip: pay extra for the breakfast upgrade...very worth it and the ladies who look after the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

TALKING STICK is just not only a great place to gambling and lodging, It's a great place for friends and family to get together and spend a great evening. Dining superb, entertainment for everyone and even a cigar lounge that rivals the best of them. If staying overnight, the rooms are impeccably cozy and very
quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have been to a couple local Arizona casinos and they are nothing like Talking Stick. It is a lot more fun with a younger crowd. it is still smoky on the casino floor but all of the amenities make up for it.

Room Tip: We got a room on the suite level and the free happy hour food and drinks was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talking Stick Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talking Stick Resort

Address: 9800 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talking Stick Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Talking Stick Resort, a luxurious Four-Diamond Scottsdale resort, where fun is limited only by your imagination. Play in style on our 240,000 square foot casino, one of the largest in Arizona. Savor the flavors and take in the panoramic views from the award-winning Orange Sky Restaurant. Check out Vegas-style entertainment and local favorites as they take the stage in the TSR Showroom. Test your skills on 36-holes of championship golf at Talking Stick Golf Club, one of the most scenic and challenging golf courses in Scottsdale. Then when it’s time to relax, head up to The Spa at Talking Stick and enjoy a relaxing spa treatment overlooking incredible views of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Talking Stick Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talking Stick Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talking Stick Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.