We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wandering Horse buffet and gambling review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talking Stick Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Talking Stick Resort to your Saves list
Talking Stick Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9800 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“Wandering Horse buffet and gambling review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went to Talking Stick for some gambling and lunch. We started out playing blackjack. We're non-smokers, so we were lucky to find spots at the BJ table in the non-smoking poker room. While it was stuck in a corner, the lack of smoke made it worthwhile. The dealers were all friendly and the rules were Vegas-like - no house friendly junk.

After a while, I wanted to try my luck at slots, so we headed there. This was my 4th time there and maybe it's just my bad luck, but I've never won anything. I believe it's another tight reservation casino.

We headed to the buffet for lunch and were pleasantly surprised. We expected something pretty generic. Instead, the options were varied and for the most part, quite good.

The service was friendly and efficient. The food was good and we got discount coupons to make it even more inexpensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    261
    112
    38
    46
See reviews for
84
267
28
159
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this casino/hotel resort and spa 3/13/13-3/18/13 Yes. I agree it's targeted to adults but family can stay - must watch and entertain their own kids. As for the actual review for us. Must rent car to get here but then we just parked it. Great place close to everything we wanted, nice rooms and wonderful staff. My husband golfed one day with friends. He took the shuttle to the course. I had a 90 minute massage. We gambled a little. Had dinner at all restuarants on site, Orange Sky -wow! Nice live music. We attend two spring training games - one at Salt River field and another at Scottsdale Stadium-took the shuttle so no problem parking. Used the pool and spa plus had drinks bought to us-sunny and relaxing. We know some people write a review when one has a bad day. We had 6 fantastic days at this location and decided to let you know. Special thanks to Phoebe and Becky in Concierge. We plan to vacation here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The dueling pianos were nice, but everything else was not. My friend is legally blind and because she had to hold onto an elbow, the resort thought she was intoxicated. When we tried to explain, they did not listen. They turned what was supposed to be an exciting night into a nightmare. This was my first experience at a casino and my last. I will never return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Was there for a business conference in March 2013. First, it's a casino with a hotel built around it. You get the casino feel when you walk in. I guess it's fine if you like it. You have to go through the casino to go from the front desk to your room. It's like checking into an airport. The rooms are very clean and new. However, they are terribly lacking personality. Towels in bathroom are clean but not fresh.
Did not visit the spa but heard good comments from coworkers. The no lifeguard pool is a puddle. I guess it was built shallow for the parents to leave their kids there unwatched while gambling.
Average experience, wouldn't recommend it for a personal stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a desert view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkingStickResort, Manager at Talking Stick Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I will pass this on to management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Talking Stick Resort. Hotel is pretty, pool is great. Service is less than adequate and food so, so. I think it is the first Resort I have stayed at when you ask staff a question you got the same consistent answer. " I don't know." One would think they could at least respond "I don't know , but I will find someone that does know." Our room was not cleaned one day and we had been out of the romm for 8 hours so there was plenty of time. When we got back and called we had to make 3 more calls to get someone to come and clean. Then they did not vacuum and they did not leave a new kleenex box that was obviously empty. Also noticed lots of safety concerns. No rail on side of tub to assist in and out. No safety rail in shower. Poorly lighted hallways and rooms. For the price I expected more.

Room Tip: Try and book a room on one of the top floors. The view is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TalkingStickResort, Manager at Talking Stick Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I will pass this on to management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Talking Stick Resort and Casino as a package of airfare and hotel stay sponsored by Southwest Airlines. It included airfare from Denver to Phoenix and 3 nights lodging at the Talking Stick Resort for less than 3 nights room alone. A very good deal. We added 2 sets of tickets for Colorado Rockies spring training games and made a long weekend of it. It was worth the trip and we had a great time at both the hotel/casino (although we are not gamblers) and the cactus league games.
Since I am not a gambler, I cannot speak to the casino and gaming associated with the hotel. However, the hotel and its amenities are very nice and only 3 years old. Our room was a king-studio with lots of room for 2 people, a spacious bathroom with both a shower and tub, a mini-frig, and an awesome view of the parking lot (try not to get a room on the west side of the hotel). The hotel has everything that most people would want with 2 swimming pools plus kids pools, a large hot tub, 5 restaurants, several bars, exercise room with new equipment, spa, free wifi in the rooms and throughout the property, a free business center with computers and printers, and free valet parking. They provide free shuttle to and from Salt River Fields and the Pavilions shopping area adjacent to the Fields. It is located on the eastern side of Phoenix (actually just east of Scottsdale) so you will need a rental car if you want to do anything outside of the immediate area. That's the good news.
The bad news is the staff at Talking Stick. Our experience with them was terrible. We found the bell staff unhelpful and only interested in servicing people arriving in cars so that they could gather tips. Otherwise, when we asked them any questions, about the shuttles to Salt River Fields for example, they were either vague in their answers or didn't know the answers and never helped us get the information we needed.
With the exception of one person who was absolutely outstanding, the concierge staff was completely incompetent and more interested in chatting us up with stories of where they the used to live and how they ended up in Phoenix, then helping us to get what we needed done.
The housekeeping staff didn't seem to know their own rules about when to change towels and how to make the bed. Towels were changed when they weren't supposed to be and used towels that were intentionally left in the bath tub to be changed were not. One day we came in from a ball game to find the bed had been only partially made. It was as though the maid had left in a hurry to go do something else and never came back.
Overall, because the hotel is new and seemed well maintained, I would give them a recommendation and hope that our experiences with the staff were anomalies.

Room Tip: Book you room on a high floor and on the east side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a really beautiful resort with spring training baseball games across the street on their property. The restaurant choices were limited and the food and price was okay, not great. The spa is very modern with expansive views. The spa cost $525 for two people (2 massages and 2 pedicures incl. tip). But it is lovely and comparable to other nice spas in town. This is a casino resort so there is a smoke odor all the time (in the casino, restaurants). Ate at the seafood restaurant "Ocean Trail" which is exposed to the casino in a bar type setting. I would have preferred to be seated away from the casino. My bill was $52 + tip for two people which included two cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talking Stick Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talking Stick Resort

Address: 9800 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85256
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#41 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talking Stick Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Talking Stick Resort, a luxurious Four-Diamond Scottsdale resort, where fun is limited only by your imagination. Play in style on our 240,000 square foot casino, one of the largest in Arizona. Savor the flavors and take in the panoramic views from the award-winning Orange Sky Restaurant. Check out Vegas-style entertainment and local favorites as they take the stage in the TSR Showroom. Test your skills on 36-holes of championship golf at Talking Stick Golf Club, one of the most scenic and challenging golf courses in Scottsdale. Then when it’s time to relax, head up to The Spa at Talking Stick and enjoy a relaxing spa treatment overlooking incredible views of the Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Talking Stick Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talking Stick Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talking Stick Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.