We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class all the way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician to your Saves list
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First Class all the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked this hotel based on glowing reviews from other contributors. This is a first class property with top notch service from the moment you arrive to the (unfortunate) moment that you have to leave. They address you by name everytime you enter the lobby and they go out of their way to make sure everything is to your satisfaction.

The Good:

Just about everything, but here are a few examples:

- Pool service was great - attendants put out your towels bring pitchers of ice water and offer frozen grapes and frozen bon bons throughout the day.

- The wine tasting everyday at 4pm is fantastic with great wines and amazing snacks.

- Morning coffee delivery (at your selected time) and set up on the balcony was a great treat.

- Backpack full of essentials and the car service to/from camelback mountain was great.

The Bad:

There was literally nothing to complain about. The outdoor hot tub was out of service while we were there - it was being repaired. so what!

We were there for 5 days in early october with perfect sunny clear skies and 100 degree weather. There were never more than 10 people around the pool and it was absolutely the relaxing break my wife and I were looking for.

Food was also great - from the Burger place at the golf course to the steak house at the Phoenician. We really didn't have much to complain about.


If you are looking for first class service, the Canyon Suites is your destination.

Room Tip: Its a small hotel so I think all the rooms are pretty nice. Certainly poolside are better as they g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, yesterday
I was holding my breath during the first half of your review, waiting for "the bad." What a relief! Thank you for your gracious compliments of our signature amenities and services and for sharing those breathtaking photos. Next time you find yourselves in need of another relaxing getaway we hope to be your destination. It has been a long eight months and we are anticipating the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    19
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
121
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a boutique hotel (60) rooms, so it is small/quiet, with personal service- but on the grounds/a short walk to all of the facilities of the Phoenician. This was our second stay there, and we are in the process of booking 2 more visits this year.

Room Tip: second floor rooms have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, yesterday
What a great review, concise and covered the essentials: service, property, and location. It will be a treat to see you twice more before the year ends, we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I chose to stay at the Canyon Suites at the Phoenician for our annual anniversary get-a-way. We go away every year for our anniversary and this was one of the best and most memorable of our trips. Our suite was beautiful, clean and very comfortable. The service was outstanding. Our Canyon Suites Ambassador, Kayla Graham, was extremely friendly and attentive to our needs. Kayla ensured that we were comfortable and always inquired if there was anything we needed. She even surprised us with a beautiful cheese and fruit tray, truffles and wine in celebration of our 17th wedding anniversary.

We really enjoyed the wine and snack hour, the french press coffee in the morning and the availability of fresh fruit and water on the property at all times. All of the pools at the Phoenician were beautiful, the grounds were lovely and the service was wonderful.

All in all a wonderful vacation. We will definitely be back! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking a moment to share your review. It is fantastic to hear that Kayla was able to create such a memorable Anniversary experience for you and your spouse. We hope to see you back for your 18th, if not sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This resort is top-notch, 5-stars. We were greeted by name every time we walked in, had a beautiful suite with a view of the pool, and the happy hour was very tasteful. Were here for a conference, wish we could have stayed an extra day!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Greetings once again, Melissa! I could not agree more, the Hour of Joy wine tasting is the highlight of every afternoon at the Canyon Suites! Whether it be on business or for pleasure, we certainly hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed at the Phoenician many times. This is clearly a step above for an excellent experience. Everything is top notch. The hotel, the room, the view, the amenities. 60 rooms of pure luxury. The people only want to please. Quiet and peaceful!, Definitely recommend it.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you, lsslovin for taking the time to share your praise with the online travel community! We truly appreciate your recommendation and are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent visit. From the looks of your profile photo, it appears you are a golfer? Hopefully you had a chance to enjoy our championship course! Wishing you the best of travels in the future and we look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First off if you follow me on Tripadvisor you know I have VERY high standards, almost bordering on impossible. For this I find NO shame, but many a "luxury" hotel has received my wrath both on this sit and also via my "to whom it may concern" letters (possible coffee table book coming this next year.) The minute we walked in the grand lobby of the Canyon Suites I knew this was going to be perfect. The property was spotless, the check in was handled at a desk, and this is the only way I like to check in. Alex had our room ready, and went through the LONG list of amenities we would be receiving by being guests at the Canyon Suites. To say I was blown away would be an understatement. Fresh coffee delivered to your room daily (no charge) afternoon wine tasting and a buffet of food (no charge) use of tennis courts with use of equipment (no charge) house car on call 24/7 to take us to old down AND pick us up (sorry St. Regis SF you need to really do the pick up to get a mention of PERFECT on here) as well as golf, spa, and one of the most amazing pools I have ever seen. We were escorted to our room by Alex himself, who went over everything with us, and even offered both unpacking and packing services (lovely if it was a longer trip, not needed for this) as well as the Canyon Suites pool and facilities are ONLY for the use of the 60 rooms it houses. No riffraff from the main property.

The beds were heaven, the sheets were heaven, the room was heaven, the food was wonderful, the amenities were the best, and the service at the pool hands down was the best I have ever experienced. I thought I had the best service in the world at the St. Regis in Kauai at the pool, but sorry folks Canyon Suites top it. On our second or third day by the pool it was getting warm and to my delight what arrives but a very attractive pool server with ice-cold bon bon’s for a “cool snack” followed by cool towels. Yeah it’s just that good.

Turn down service – Impressive – Room Service beyond impressive – Daily maid service IMPRESSIVE. I usually like bath sheets not small towels and ALWAYS ask in advance, and NO HOTEL ever has them waiting, well not only did they have them waiting its all we had the entire time, as well as soft bath mats which most hotels don’t even have.

From the minute we walked into the front door, to the minute we checked out we could not have asked for better. This morning while waiting all of about three seconds I say that the hotel was a five-diamond award winner for 2015, COULD NOT AGREE MORE. We will be back again and again. And for all the haters who claim its dated, bugger off, you have no idea what you are talking about.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Wow, what an impressive (and hysterical!) review and spectacular photos to match! In such a competitive luxury travel market you have every right to your high standards and we are overjoyed to have blown you away! I just finished sharing your comments with our Ambassador team and we are all extremely proud to have provided you with such a phenomenal experience. Your review speaks to everything we strive for on a daily basis. Alex says hello and wants you to know that he is flattered by your kind words. When your travels lead you back to Scottsdale know that we will be anxiously awaiting your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

World class resort with world class service. The Canyon Suits are quite, private and perfect for a family trip. If you want more pool action you can use the main hotel pool but the Suites are private. Rent a Cabana at the pool to enjoy the day.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite offers families 1800 sq feet of luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for sharing such a thoughtful review with our online community! I am pleased to hear that you found the Canyon Suites to be luxurious and private. We welcome your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Address: 6000 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician. From sterling silver coffee and tea service, a private infinity pool, to chauffeured resort transportation, our guests enjoy unrivaled signature features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.