We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star in the quiet season.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician to your Saves list
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“5 star in the quiet season.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been pondering for some time whether to allocate 4 or 5 as the rating for this review. In the end it had to be a 5 as we really enjoyed our stay. Here are our thoughts...
We were here at the end of the summer season (1-9 Sep) so the resort was very quiet meaning we practically had the facilities to ourselves at the suites so this is probably why we had such a relaxing stay. Things may have been different had the property been busier.
The main Phoenician resort itself has 600 rooms (approx 5 minute walk away) so the 60 room Canyon suites was a better option for us. The main resort itself is very dated and really needs a modern renovation to bring it to the standards of the other newer properties. The facilities on offer are very good and we used the fitness centre daily. We came back fitter than when we arrived!
Our second room faced the golf course and we could sit on the balcony and watch the golfers play their rounds. It must be a very challenging course as we could hear several "pink" type sounds (as people tee'd off) followed by "damn"! Very amusing...
The Canyon Suites appear to be more modern although still slightly dated. The common entrance area is nice but the corridors a little dark and unappealing.
We requested a quiet room and were given a room overlooking the pool. We noticed the room had an adjoining door beside the bed to the next room. Adjoining doors seem to be a concept fairly common in the USA and we're not a fan. The soundproofing is usually awful as we found out here. Before dinner we could hear a group of people in the next room clearly having a get-together. This was slightly annoying and we couldn't help wondering if it would be a problem throughout dinner. When we returned from dinner the noise got louder and louder until we finally went to reception and asked them to resolve it. They advised they would and clearly the group were contacted as they then were ‘shuushing’ each other really loudly and laughing and joking.
Out of frustration we contacted the manager who checked us in and asked to be moved. To his credit he offered us another room (upgrade) with a golf view. We weren't seeking an upgrade, just peace and quiet, but the room we were given was perfect. Spacious, elegantly furnished great view of the fountain over the small lake and golf course. More importantly, it was quiet.
We had breakfast included in our rate (otherwise approx $25++) and enjoyed sitting outside in the shade (too hot for direct sun) with a newspaper. The service was attentive but those pesky birds, they are something else and invade each table 1 second after you vacate so someone needs to be on guard at the table at all times! On Sunday there was a buffet (the omelette man is the most popular person) and all other days it was a-la-carte. Good orange juice but coffee was a bit watery.
Other positive points are the pool area. This was a quiet sanctuary with great pool attendants. There were only two other couples using the pool so it almost felt like our own private pool. The music being played at the pool was crazily loud and after speaking with the staff they managed to find a volume control on the bottom of each speaker. It then ended up so quiet that you could barely hear it. Oh well...
There were enough sun umbrellas and easy to move around given that there was no-one else there and you could hire a cabana at $350 per day but that seems a ridiculous price so no-one hired one. The cabanas didn't even have misters unlike those at the Four Season's hotel.
There is no bar in the Canyon suites so you have to walk to the main resort. We only did this once as it just felt too far away. We know it sounds crazy being only 5 minutes away but it just felt too far. Maybe we should have bought a nice bottle of wine for our room.
We dined on our first night in Il Terrazzo and were very disappointed. The dress code seems to be anything you like. I doubt they would refuse you entrance if you wore a mankini! The food was ok but nothing special and the whole feel was of dining in a 70's restaurant that has lost it's way. That put us off trying the JG steakhouse so we dined outside of teh hotel on all other nights.
The hotel location is excellent to drive to the shops and restaurants at Scottsdale Fashion square and the Biltmore Fashion Park (less than 10 minutes) and restaurants we rated were The Mission (excellent food, albeit a bit dark and tables a little close), Wildfish (dined their twice), Seasons 52. Don't bother with Flemings anymore... For lunch we were addicted to the salads at the Paradise Bakery.
The staff we came across everywhere in the suites and indeed the main restaurant are excellent and a special thank-you to Jared who sorted out our room issue. The grounds are beautiful and the location is great. Checkout was excellent as well and we asked and were given a 4pm checkout which was well appreciated.
There was a carpark valet on the first day but not any other day. There was a small sign saying carpark closed but we ignored this and parked our own car in the garage without any issue. A lift from the garage takes you straight up to the top floor bypassing reception.
With regard to the tourist attractions, do check out Butterfly Wonderland at 9500 E. Via de Ventura in Scottsdale as you'll be surprised how fun it is. They swoop around and through you. Also every Saturday night (4pm to approx 8pm) there is a car show at MacDonald's 9140 E. Indian Bend Road, Scottsdale AZ 85256 http://www.mcarizona.com/11120 It's really good!
All in all, a very nice stay and we were sad to leave. In comparison to the Four Seasons hotel, we felt we would return to the Canyon Suites as the location is more central and closer to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Face the golf course rather than the pool on the top floor so you get the view and sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and we are happy to hear that you had a relaxing stay. Thank you for your feedback in regards to the pool facilities and dining experiences; please know that your remarks have been shared with our management team to look at ways of improving the guest experience where possible. I’m happy to report that we are expecting a room renovation in 2014. We are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    19
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
115
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed there the weekend of Sept 13th and had a great experience. Stayed in the Caynon Suite building which offered over th top servce from both the desk agenst and the valet team. Anything that we asked for was taken care of by the team and the setting right up against Camelback Mountain was great. Definitely a must if you are looking to be pampered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician is truly a hidden gem. We are so glad you were able to have such an outstanding experience. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The canyon suites at the Phoenician was everything we had hoped for. We were celebrating our anniversary and were upgraded to a huge suite with an amazing view of the pool and camelback mountain. The staff attended to our every need; coffee service in the morning, driver throughout the day, booked tee times, booked treatments at the spa...the list goes on. The only downside to our stay would be that the spa on premises was just ok. The staff was kind but the actual facility was small and a bit dated, my facial was also just ok. The third day of our stay we went over to the Monte Lucia Spa. It was amazing. The golf courses onsite were pretty nice but not like some around the area. Went out to We-Ko-Pa and for a more true desert course. We only ate onsite for dinner one night at the 19th hole, Relish Burger. It was DELICIOUS!!!

Room Tip: Having a pool view with the mountains in the background would be worth an upgrade price, it is prett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We are so glad you were able to celebrate your anniversary with us! It is our pleasure to ensure a memorable experience from the room accommodations to the resort facilities and services. Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback as it is our goal to meet the needs of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about my recent stay at the Canyon Suites! Every aspect of my stay exceeded my already high expectations.

My memorable experience at the Canyon Suites started with the staff. Everyone at the property is so attentive, accessible, and friendly. Most of the time, it felt like they had anticipated my needs before I expressed them. By the end of my stay, I felt like I was leaving behind close new friends. Be sure to meet Julian, Patrick, Alex, and Amanda in the front and Cabana attendants Marcel and Ben! The staff truly sets this property aside and makes it feel exclusive.

The rooms and property are impeccable. My suite was gorgeous, spacious, and luxurious. Little unexpected touches like lip balm, unique bath salts, Bose sound system with in-wall speakers, and high quality complimentary shoe shine are among the many features that distinguish this property from other 5 star hotels. It was also outfitted with a full office and had sweeping panoramic views of surrounding mountains and the golf course. I could have easily spent a week or more in the room working, entertaining, or kicking back on the balcony taking in the pristine views.

I highly recommend taking the complimentary Mercedes shuttle to the nearby Camelback Mountain. The hotel will outfit you with a Canyon Suites backpack with waters, sunblock, first aid kit, and granola bar.

Other great property features were an outstanding massage, top-notch fitness facility, a variety of quality dining options, numerous activities, complimentary morning fruit and coffee / tea and evening wine tasting, and a spectacular cactus garden.

I loved everything about my stay. I've stayed at both the Phoenician and the Canyon Suites now - love them both - but most look forward to returning to the Canyon Suites!!! Best Luxury Collection I've experienced yet.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Front Office Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our wonderful Canyon Ambassadors and the relationships you were able to build during your stay! It is certainly our goal to provide the exclusive personalized services you were able to experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Arizona’s only Forbes Five Star AAA Five Diamond resort time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights in mid-July, in a King Suite (with pool view). We went straight to the hotel after spending a long, sweaty day packing and moving. The staff couldn't have been more polite and helpful! The room was large, clean and comfortable. The wine hour was a nice touch. The 24 pool was quiet and relaxing. The on-property car was convenient for a trip to the spa and the burger place. We would definitely stay again if in Scottsdale! As far as other Phoenician amenities, the burger place was yummy and laid-back, the spa was small and pricey, but provided a decent enough massage, and the main bar at the Phoenician lobby was huge and a short walk away after a nightcap.

Room Tip: First floor rooms might not be very private in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of The Canyon Suites at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a relaxing stay – I’m sure it was much needed after a long day of moving! We’re glad you were able to enjoy many of our signature amenities – like the complimentary wine hour and chauffeured Mercedes – during your stay at The Canyon Suites. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked the Canyon Suites for a quick anniversary trip to Scottsdale. My husband and I were floored that our experience was so different from all these 5 Star reviews that other "Advisor" users posted. The property itself is nicely groomed but the rooms at the Canyon Suites are dated and worn and we were really disappointed with the facilites.

Before I share the "cons" of our stay at the Canyon Suites I would like to thank the people who efforts did stand out as they are not responsible for the rooms and facilities at the Phoenician. Jordan and Supervisor Alex were awesome at check in when we were given a double bed room yet we had requested a King bed. I am grateful Alex upgraded us to a King suite as the room they wanted to give us just would not do. Damien was awesome and took us around in the car when we needed to get around the property without a complaint and found him to be professional yet warm. He even got someone to open the activity center when we wanted to go for a bike ride and found it to be closed! Last but not least we really liked Amanda who (poor thing) had to stand in the lobby for the poorly attended wine tasting with a big smile on her face. She was always professional yet delightful and sweet. Maybe becuase we booked our trip on Expedia and not through the Phonecian directly we were not considered premier occupants. I just did not experience the out of the ordinary service that I would not expect from any other 4 or 5 star hotel.

Now our disappointments....

Ok the rooms need an overhaul and like I read in another travelers review, we did indeed have trouble with the air conditioning in our room and it was hot at times. The Canyon Suites pool was under construction and we were really looking forward to a little more privacy there. The Phonecian's pools were OK but we found the service at the pool lame except our last day when a new young lady was working the pool. One kid was a bit rude to my husband when we simply asked him to help us with an umbrella.

When we wanted one nightcap, we had to either go outside of the building to get a drink or call room service and then get a drink that wasn't made properly. We are not big drinkers at all but on vacation, we wanted to endulge even just a little bit and found it difficult.

The spa facilites were old and again in dire need of renovating - I felt like I was stuck in ther 70's! Again the facilitator was good but for 500.00 we were not wowed! Honestly, the best spa in Scottsdale is the Willow Stream Spa at the Fairmont. Amazing!

All in all we just weren't that happy with the place aside from the very comfortable bed. This is our third trip to Scottsdale and I have to say we LOVED our stay at the Fairmont Princess. We went there for our anniversary a few years ago and they treated us like royalty and made our anniversary so special in so many ways. If the Canyon Suites are so great, why is it that even though I called ahead and let them know we were coming down for our anniversary and wanted to be sure to get a King bed, I got a double?

This is why I gave the Canyon Suites at the Phoenician 3 stars instead of 5. Not awful, not great.

Room Tip: Dont think your going to get a good room if you book on Expedia! Second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and bringing your concerns to our attention. Although we are happy to hear that you enjoyed some elements of your stay, we are greatly disappointed to learn of your overall experience, which is not representative of our AAA Five Diamond/Forbes Five-Star standards. We strive to create a personal and memorable experience for each and every guest, and we regret that your experience was not what you hoped it would be. Your comments will be shared with our management team so we can ensure that the appropriate improvements are being made. We are happy to report that guestrooms at The Canyon Suites are scheduled for a remodel in the very near future. We do hope you will consider staying with us again to experience the award-winning service and attention to detail for which we are known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Even though it was August and the pool was closed at the Suites, and some of the pools were closed at the Phoenician....it was still five stars. Impeccable service. The rooms are very nice. Facilities are great. I would recommend riding bikes, which are complimentary if you stay in the Suites. Definitely hit the Ice Cream Parlor, and if you are brave, try the 19 scoop challenge sundae. We tried and didn't get it done. Beautiful place and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Address: 6000 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician. From sterling silver coffee and tea service, a private infinity pool, to chauffeured resort transportation, our guests enjoy unrivaled signature features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood and Hotels.com so you can book your The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.