We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Scottsdale Resort! Impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Save Saved
You added The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6000 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Terrebonne, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best Scottsdale Resort! Impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay at the Canyon Suites after coming to Scottsdale last year and tried the Arizona Biltmore and Sanctuary. Let me tell you that this resort beat them hands down. The quality of service at this resort and the attention of the front desk staff is unparalleled, we stayed at many Four Seasons and Ritz-Carlton, and while they are very fine hotels, the service doesn't compare to what Canyon Suites has to offer. The front desk ambassador will take all the time you need to welcome you and walk you to the room. They asked me what newspaper I'm usually reading and coming from Quebec, I told them it's La Presse but USA Today would be fine. To my surprise, a printed copy of La Presse was delivered to me every morning! Every request that I had was done very efficiently without ever getting it wrong or forgotten.

The Canyon Suites has a nice private pool that is very relaxing. The atmosphere is calm and serene. The Phoenician has many larger pools but they are more party style with music. The service at the pool is a little long, I think the reason is that they are getting the food from the Phoenician.

When on property, you have access everywhere at the Phoenician which is nice. Food was very good except the orange juice at breakfast, it wasn't freshly squeezed like other 5 diamond properties. which I found odd.

I want to say a special thanks to Nate, Front Desk Ambassador, he's the one who truly WOWed us when we first got in, and it continued throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of The Canyon Suites at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! We appreciate you taking time to share your experience. Our ambassadors take great pride in creating memorable and personalized experiences for our guests, ensuring all details of your visit are attended to – including your newspaper of choice. We hope to welcome you back to The Canyon Suites during your next visit to Scottsdale so we can create another WOW experience for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    17
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
51
86
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We visited this lovely resort in late April with another couple as we celebrated my husband's 50th birthday. Normally we are beach people and this was a trip that pushed us out of our comfort zone. Thank goodness we decided to do so! Other high-end resorts should come here to learn about customer service. Nate (front desk) and Ben (pool) were extremely accommodating and we found that the room service was always on time, the orders were correct and the food was hot. Each couple had a one bedroom suite which rivaled any luxury resort we've visited. Both rooms overlooked the pool and were on the second floor. The four of us made good use of the fitness center and participated in the group hike on Camelback with our knowledgeable guide (I can't recall her name!) We look forward to a return visit and are hoping that it will be soon.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room which was spectacular - the view of Camelback was unparalleled. When the sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of The Canyon Suites at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you opted to stay at The Canyon Suites, and more importantly that you enjoyed your stay with us! We appreciate your review and are happy you chose to celebrate your husband's 50th birthday with us. We look forward to seeing you back again soon – whether you're celebrating a special occasion or just looking for a relaxing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Everything at the Canyon Suites was so stellar, I don't know where to begin. I travel very often and stay at the very best hotels (Four Seasons, Mandarin, Ritz, etc.) and the Canyon Suites turned out to be the BEST hotel I have ever travelled to. From the service to the grounds to the amenities, it's unlike any place I have ever stayed at before. From the second we arrived to the moment we left, we were treated like the royal family. We stayed in a one bedroom Canyon Suite. It was spotless and very comfortable. The room service was always delivered promptly and was delicious (smart idea toasting the bread in the room). Finally, the staff was unbelievable. Each member went out of his/her way to make our trip special, and always with a smile. I can't thank them enough -- you're all wonderful.

Room Tip: First floor rooms were convenient to pool and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of The Canyon Suites at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback! It’s a delight to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are so glad you could experience the Canyon Suites, and our commitment to providing unrivaled and personalized service that sets the bar in luxury hotels. Each ambassador strives to provide the highest level of service, all while leaving a lasting impression that is truly unbelievable. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The Canyon Suites is something different. It's something special. The rooms are bigger, the service is better and the exclusive nature of the Canyon Suites makes you feel like royalty. Thanks for taking care of us Nate on our one year anniversary. The resort itself is beautiful with lots to do and see. Great pools and lots of great food. This place is spectacular!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of The Canyon Suites at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Canyon Suites. Thank you for taking time to leave your kind comments. Our ambassadors are committed to providing unparalleled service where every guest is treated like royalty. We hope to welcome you back during your next anniversary so we can continue to provide the special service customary at the Canyon Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Canyon Suites this week for our Honeymoon and we had such a wonderful experience that it prompted me to write my first review. We're fortunate that we travel often and we appreciate the places that not only do the normal things well but also find the "Wow" factor. They executed both tremendously. They knew it was our Honeymoon and surprised us at dinner and bought us our dessert.......the "wow" was that we were eating at a restaurant in town! The service at the pool (Thanks Megan!) and all the restaurants was exceptional. I love that their check in process doesn't hand you off to a Bellman (Thanks Alex). The room was beautiful. We've already decided on going back with family over the 4th of July!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your first ever review! We appreciate your kind comments and will share with those ambassadors mentioned. It’s delightful to hear that your stay was truly indicative of The Canyon Suites – showcasing the highest levels of service while creating personalized experiences that reach beyond expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back in July!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed 5 days/4 nights at the Canyon Suites. Our original reservation was for a standard guestroom but we received an upgrade to a suite through a package we booked (it was based on availability). The suite was extremely spacious - my wife and I did not need all that space. The extra half bathroom did come in handy when getting ready for dinner, etc. Bathrobes and slippers were in the room for our use. Lora from the front desk was very welcoming and helpful in getting us checked in and setting up a dinner reservation at an outside restaurant. She even facilitated a bottle of champagne and a card on our anniversary. Ben and Marcel were excellent pool attendants and provided prompt, professional service. We had lunch every day poolside. There was underground parking and we elected to park ourselves. We were staying at the resort during a slow week and it was very peaceful and quiet. The main resort is only a 2-5 minute walk away. We had such a relaxing time at our pool that we did not venture out to the main resort pool(s). I had a great time playing golf at the Phoenician and will include that as a separate review of the golf course. I would recommend the Canyon Suites to anyone who is looking for a refined, relaxing trip. I have small children, but I would take them next door to the main resort and leave the Canyon Suites for adults.

Room Tip: Ask for a golf course view - I think it is quieter on that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Director of The Canyon Suites at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased to hear that we were able to make your anniversary trip special. The Canyon Suites is the perfect place to celebrate an anniversary, whilst taking in the beautiful desert surroundings poolside. I will ensure that the ambassadors you mentioned are recognized for their excellent service. We look forward to having you as our guests again- whether you're celebrating a special occasion or just need to get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

What can I say? We live in Washington State, where the top priority for a getaway is sunshine and service! We have come to Scottsdale for many years and we can't count the number of times we've stayed here...really, at least 6 times over the last 5-6 years or so, and we're about to go again in a couple of weeks. We love everything about it, the spacious rooms, the atmosphere, the food, the people, the mountain, the restaurants at the main hotel, room service, the spa. If you're looking to be spoiled, this is the place. I love that it's small enough to feel exclusive and not have a problem finding a nice chair at the pool, yet large enough to have any amenities I need, and close enough to town if you want to venture out, but usually, we just stay at the resort the whole time! The service at the pool is wonderful and the concierge is always pleasant and happy to see us! See you soon!

Room Tip: We like the poolside, and upstairs with the balcony, a nice view of the mountains, peaceful and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We appreciate your review and are so pleased that your enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our resort-within-a-resort is the perfect place to get away and enjoy added privacy, yet we are just a few steps away from all the additional offerings of The Phoenician. We look forward to spoiling you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician

Address: 6000 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician. From sterling silver coffee and tea service, a private infinity pool, to chauffeured resort transportation, our guests enjoy unrivaled signature features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Canyon Suites At The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.