We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7320 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Rovigo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and we found it nice and comfortable. The rooms were big and clean, the stuff was kind and friendly and the hotel pretty modern. The swimmingpool was good even if the deckchairs were a bit dirty.
The only thing that could be better is breakfast, there isn't a lot of Choice and it's served right in front of the lobby. Also the airconditioning in the room was a bit noisy but in general a good stay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    85
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
61
133
32
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinetop, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Convenient to The Fashion Mall with over 200 shops. And just a pedicab away from Old Town Scottsdale with all those art and Artifact shops and restaurants. The suites are great and we love the in room jaccuzzis. The staff is very attentive. The decor is subdued modern and impeccably maintained. The owners take great pride in their property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Michael,

From our entire team, thank you! For choosing our hotel and for taking the time to inform others of your experience with others here on tripadvisor.com
We are fortunate to have you as our guest, if it gets too cool up there in the high country you know we are nice and warm here in the valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

So I read many reviews before staying here. I was excited to try this best western that was supposedly a AAA triple diamond member.


Check in- very slow. The young male was slow never acknowledged diamond membership with best western just asked do I stay often at best western which I said I used to because now I am marriott gold and IHG platinum and stay at hotels usually like 3 days a week. I know service and the questions and slowness found at check in was not professional. I would have liked an upgrade which is a benefit of diamond since they have a sky loft suite and was told at their hotel occupancy was usually 30-40 percent which means they probably have some good rooms which entitles me to the best available room as an elite status, but again I was never asked about my room or welcomed as a diamond elite member and thanked for continuing bringing business to them.


The room itself- the room was clean tho. I like the stone inside the room the bed was comfortable which is most important. The room was a good size and probably bigger than some best westerns.


Everything was fine the check out. Check out is supposed to be smooth and easy by either leaving the key in the room or dropping them off at the front desk and informing them and actually helping recycle their keys. Since I stay at many hotels I always go to front desk and give them keys to recycle. This instance there wasn't anyone at the front desk. As I waited about two minutes I decided to ring the bell as another customer walked in from parking. He waited behind me and another 5 minutes and still no one. I had rang the bell about four times and we are at about a 7 min wait. So I go behind the desk and find a housekeeping individual and asked if she could find me the front desk clerk. Then the owner came out named Rudy Joey john or something but to be honest already forgot. I told him I'm checking out etc don't think as a diamond elite I should be going behind hotel deals to find workers that shouldn't be my job. Anyways told him it was a free night anyways because I had a travel card and he continued no it isn't because he wasn't completely reading the computer the reservation or the 100 dollar travel card in the system. Of course he found it and said how would you like to pay the difference. Usually it's a question like "is it okay to put the difference on the card we have on file" which is why I gave it to them besides incidentals I knew it wasn't a rewards night it was a travel card.

The service seemed very poor and old. Things need to be a lot smoother at this hotel. The bathroom lobby you have to go outside for and use a key from the front desk not your hotel key.


Overall after the service from the front desk staff and then a simple checkout by the owner himself I will never return to this best western independently owned property and thank them for the stay it was free in the end minus some taxes.


Hope they work on the service because that goes way further than any room and amenities they can offer. That's the beauty of elite at various hotels that have various price points and amenities they offer but service that should be basic and always a number one priority!!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Fayez,
Congratulations on making your first tripadvisor.com review! We appreciate you choosing our property and I am happy you liked our clean rooms and comfortable beds.

Your check in time was 4 minutes. Yes that is a little longer then usual and we apologize for that. Your room had a King size bed and Whirlpool tub. On your next visit please contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally see to it that you find a room, or hotel, that meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great location near downtown Scottsdale. The hotel was built with a Frank Lloyd Wright vibe modern/deco. Probably the nicest Best Western I have ever stayed in. Room was spotless and well maintained. Nice pool.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello BadKarma65, It is an honor to receive such a high score from you, a senior contributor to tripadvisor.com. From all of us at the Best Western Plus Sundial, THANK YOU!

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowley, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It had been a long time since I had stayed at a Best Western, but I have to say it was exceptionally nice.I really enjoyed sitting in the comfortable furniture on the second story covered terrace in the early morning hours drinking my coffee. Everything was clean and well taken care of. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear pointeauloux, Your review is music to our ears. Thank you for Choosing the Best Western Plus Sundial while in Scottsdale. From our entire team, we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We started our California tour from Phoenix and this hotel was just perfect for our purposes. Very friendly staff, clean and spacious room, straight forward breakfast arrangements.

It is very hit at this time of year and they actually had a monsoon just before we arrived which is not that common here.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Bernie C, Thank you for starting your vacation with us here in Scottsdale. We hope to see you again. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had an medical situation and this hotel was very close to the hospital. The Assistant General Manager Sergio was fantastic in helping us in this stressful time. We have stayed here before for fun and it was great but this time it was just magnificent, all the staff went out of their way to help us make this a smooth stop and support both of us. When it looked like I had to stay over because of extended care needed in hospital they were great but then the docs decided the stay was not needed and we were able to go home and the staff here at the Sundial were just wonderful and helpful again. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Hello Mark,

Thank you for the kind words. From Sergio and the rest of our team, our thoughts are with you and your wife and if there is anything we can do for you please let us know.

At your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial

Address: 7320 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Three Diamond The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial is located approximately ten miles from Sky Harbour International Airport 25-30 minutes via car taxi shuttle or limousine. Located in Historic, Vibrant Downtown Scottsdale the most desirable destination in The Valley of the Sun, featuring the southwest's finest shopping, dining, entertainment and culture. Experience a relaxed tone and distinct "sense of place." The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial reflects and implies the flavor of its unique fun filled location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sundial Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.