We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   7320 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed here in the middle of a 6 day road trip around Arizona. Was hoping to make this a relaxing 2 night stop over, but checked out after the first night.The motel is on a very busy street. Our room was very noisy from the traffic outside and the "modern-ness" was just cold and uninviting. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly, the pool and lobby were beautiful.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room on the back side of the motel. The traffic noise will be less and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello Kaycee502014,
I appreciate your kind comments regarding our very friendly staff and beautiful pool and lobby, however, I'm saddened to hear you were disappointed with our hotel. Yes as you said in your tripadvisor review the rooms away from Camelback Road tend to be well insulated from the Entertainment District and our pool area is relaxing and spacious. We do hope you give us another chance. Please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to assist you in creating a stay in Scottsdale that you are delighted with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    86
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
62
135
34
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent four nights here on the last leg of our Arizona "get away from winter" break. I booked the hotel on Hotwire not knowing exactly where we would be staying. What a pleasant surprise to be booked at this hotel. The location was excellent and it is not too big not too small...as Goldilocks would say..it was just right! We had the Sky Suite on the 3rd floor and it was very nice. Had a sitting area with a flat screen TV, our own little patio and a comfortable king size bed. The tiled walk in shower was lovely and we had ample space. One minor complaint was the street noise on Sunday night from a night club down the street. Thankfully, that only occurred the first night of our stay. The rest of the nights were quiet.

The location was so great, we barely used our car. Old Towne Scottsdale, the Arts District and the Fashion Mall were an easy walk,, with a great selection of restaurants and shops. We even caught the free trolley to a spring training game..a great bonus! Everything on the property is beautifully maintained including the pool area, which was most enjoyable.

Breakfast is included and is a step above most hotel breakfasts. They serve Starbucks coffee and offer 3 hot entrees in addition to fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cereal, and a large variety of breads and pastries. What more could you want?

If you are looking to stay in Scottsdale, don't hesitate to stay here. It's perfect!

Room Tip: If you're staying on the weekend, opt for the back side of the building to avoid the street nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jude N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Hello Marilyn S,
Thank you for spending your winter break in our great state of Arizona. And especially thank you for spending time at our hotel. We hope to see you again, and if you feel the need for a little extra heat this summer, you know where we are!
Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This immaculate , modern, small hotel is one of the best best Westerns we have stayed at . The rooms are very quiet and private and each has a out door deck . The access is exterior so no musty hallways . Each of the 3 floors has a covered lounge to take advantage of the street scene The hotel is located 1 block from the main shopping area of Scottsdale where there are many good restaurants . The hotel has a nice pool and outdoor lounge area.and easy parking .
Coming from L.A. the hotel is easily accessed from #10 the Scottsdale road north exit

Room Tip: Face the pool , shady side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our 10th annual Valentine's week in Scottsdale. For the previous 3 years, we've split our hotel stay into 4 nights at 2 different lodgings. The Best Western Plus Sundial has proven to be so exceptional; we stayed all 8 nights this year. The staff, ambiance, large rooms, and everything else is exceptional!

Their free breakfast is especially good and you even get free Starbucks coffee all day. If that weren't enough: Location, Location, Location!! We finally are able do without expensive car rentals since you can walk to EVERYTHING from here: shops, restaurants, art galleries, Fashion Square Mall. With Scottsdale's expanded trolley system, you can even get to just about anywhere you'd want to go in North Scottsdale. We can't recommend this hotel enough!

Kevin and Nancy

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice modern room. Well maintained hotel with super friendly and attentive staff. Road noise is pretty bad on weekday mornings from 6am if you stay near the front of the hotel. Most impressive BW I've ever stayed in. Definitely not your typical motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel was conveniently located. Clean, staff friendly. Service was good. Coffee and cold water and cold water bottles available 24 hours. Breakfast nice and convenient. Beautiful pool. Pricing reasonable for area and time of year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I've stayed at the Best Western Plus Sundial in Scottsdale many times. Always have a wonderful experience with guest service, breakfast and the room. I love how friendly and professional everyone is. This property is the perfect example of what a Best Western Plus has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial

Address: 7320 E. Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Three Diamond The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial is located approximately ten miles from Sky Harbour International Airport 25-30 minutes via car taxi shuttle or limousine. Located in Historic, Vibrant Downtown Scottsdale the most desirable destination in The Valley of the Sun, featuring the southwest's finest shopping, dining, entertainment and culture. Experience a relaxed tone and distinct "sense of place." The BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial reflects and implies the flavor of its unique fun filled location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sundial Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.