We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guacamole, but make a reservation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mission

The Mission
3815 N Brown Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)
(480) 636-5005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mission is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 1,025 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Transit: The Scottsdale Trolley stops in three spots within less than 2 blocks from The Mission!
Description: Old Town Scottsdale’s heart is beating to a Latin drum, now that The Mission has arrived and brightened the restaurant scene. Renowned Zinc Bistro Chef Matt Carter is now cooking up modern Latin cuisine blending influences from Spain, Mexico, Central America and South America. Home made Tortillas, Arepas, and Salsas are made fresh daily and all meats are prepared on a Plancha or a grill using pecan and mesquite wood that instills a rich flavor.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic guacamole, but make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our family of four, visiting from Australia, found this restaurant after walking into town from Hotel Valley Ho. We had no reservation on a Thursday night (24 April 2014), so we were told there would be an hour wait. We made no hesitation in accepting a wait list booking as we saw the great food coming from the kitchen. Scottsdale is a relaxing place to stroll around for an hour, so we window shopped the galleries and gift shops. We came back after 45 minutes and waited in the bar for about 20 mins or so. Whilst waiting for our table, the bar staff were so helpful in taking our round of drinks. As there were a few people waiting, the staff brought around complimentary mini margaritas for the adults. Once seated to our table, the staff were excellent. One of the girls was from Napa and she gave a ideas for our next US holiday and tips for a wine selection with our meal. We ordered the guacamole, made to order at the table, which was a hit with our teenage kids. Superb Mexican fusion dishes, which we shared. The manager chatted to us at the end of the meal about the restaurant and the experienced chef. A Great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    210
    63
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and food 👍👏”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Food is great, they serve some items on a Himalayan salt blocks and they serve duck. Everthing we ate was wonderful

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Upscale Latin and Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had dinner here 6/28. Thanks to Yvette for fitting us in, to GM Tom who treated us like family on our first visit, to Griffith who patiently explained the menu with recommendations for the benefit of this "steak and potato" aficionado. The apps, pork shoulder, guacamole and, yes, margaritas were exceptional.

The atmosphere is crowded but fun and we, the two of us, enjoyed meeting some locals at the table beside us who frequent the Mission weekly. After our visit we certainly understand why they do so.

And oh yes, the complimentary special occasion "sipping tequila" may make me a convert from my usual libation. Thanks for the special touch. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The table side guacamole is really amazing. This is a great lunch/dinner spot, within walking distance of the Giants Spring training stadium.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, but don't expect good service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

In the heart of old Scottsdale, we had a special birthday dinner here on a Thursday night. At 8:00 the place was fully packed and fully loud! We arrived about 15 minutes early for our 8:15 reservation, and even though there were many empty tables, we were made to wait in the bar. Our service in the bar was great, but when we were seated in the restaurant, things changed service-wise. We waited a while before someone even came to our table, and it wasn't any better after that, very slow and inattentive. That aside, the food was good and inventive, as were the drinks. Don't expect to have an intimate conversation with your table mates, as the place is LOUD. I would recommend giving it a try, just don't expect great service. It's fairly pricey, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mission also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to The Mission? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mission, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.