We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joyful Chinese Dining

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Joyful Chinese Dining
9699 North Hayden Road, #102, Scottsdale, AZ 85258 (McCormick Ranch)
480-998-8188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #418 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Neighborhood: McCormick Ranch
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: McCormick Ranch
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Best Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the best Chinese food I've had in a long time. My husband will only eat Chinese food here. The food is always fresh and cooked to order. It is where we take company if they are in the mood for Chinese. Excellent food and good service. Take out service as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burbs of Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went looking for a Chinese Restaurant in the area in which we were staying by using the "around me" app. We visited on Friday 4/5/2013 with a party of 6. The place is far from fancy. It is a nice neighborhood Chinese place that serves hot delicious food. We had Sizzling rice soup for the first time and will go looking for it again! Our other shared dishes were Tangerine Chicken, Pad Thai (Very Spicy but good ). Chicken Chow Mein, and Flat noodles with Chicken. Everything was delicious and my kids practically licked the plates. The server was excellent as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“feels like Guangzho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

More than satisfied with the portions and the flavors...reminded me of the restaurants in China great diversity on the menu....they did make me feel Joyful after I had eaten

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Second time is a charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Went back to Joyful Chinese last night with the family. We had the Imperial Family dinner for 3 at seventeen-fifty each. Lots of shrimp, the seafood soup is especially good. Large appetizer tray with a flaming pot for the skewered meat. Everyone gets to choose an entree also. Great service last night. The golden noodle was very good, as were the other entrees. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Mediocre meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We arrived on a Tuesday and there were only a few other customers but we had to go in search of someone to seat us.

The food was tasty but not as hot as it should have been. The sizzling platter barely sizzled!

I may be willing to give them another shot since I have heard that they are normally very good. But for this trip I was not overly impressed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joyful Chinese Dining also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Joyful Chinese Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joyful Chinese Dining, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.