We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YOU "GAIN" AT THE GAINEY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gainey Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gainey Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Gainey Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunny Scottsdale Getaway
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“YOU "GAIN" AT THE GAINEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The 2 bedroom & bathroom suite was fabulous for my husband & myself & my daughter & family!..the room was great!....The food was excellent for breakfast & dinner....yum!!!!!.....that is why i say "Gain" as we came home weighing more.....ha ha......We will definitely come back to this hotel as everyone was so nice and friendly. Loved the Gainey bears that you get when you go to your room....grandchildren had fun with them! The shuttle was also handy when you wanted to go to town or to the train playground for the kids! and they also gave us chocolate chip cookies when you check in & other times when asked! Great Service!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: top floor was quiet and not near the pool..room 336
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    179
    37
    17
    4
See reviews for
272
334
44
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat.....everyone was very friendly and always went out of their way to help us.....will definitely go back. The breakfast buffet varied every day and was more than enough food. We had an early flight to Phoenix and arrived at 9:30 at the hotel starving....the front desk clerk kept the buffet open so we could eat. The accomodations were great....location was great.

Room Tip: Would get the King Suite with 2 TV's...facing the courtyard/pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned home after spending 4 days at the Gainey Suites Hotel during Thanksgiving - Family Reunion. Great location! Studio suite was outstanding for two. The hotel is delightful.....warm and the staff was super! Everyone went out of their way to make sure everything was right. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over Thanksgiving with 2 adults, 2 kids, and a baby. The 2 bedroom apartment setup was perfect for us. There is a small kitchen and living area. The room as a whole was on the small side, but didn't make a difference because we were all comfortable.
They offer free breakfast which was less than mediocre so we ended up going elsewhere after the first morning. There is a Paradise Bakery and cute French place within short walking distance, which we enjoyed.
The staff was all friendly and helpful.
The heated pool was fun for the kids to swim in November.
Overall this place was good, (not luxurious) compared to the Four Seasons Scottsdale we have stayed at in the past, but the location is way better and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, with a great rate from travelzoo.com. Had stayed at one of Scottsdale's high end resorts 2 years ago, so am able to compare the two experiences.

Gainey Suites is a small resort property. Our studio suite had a full kitchen which we did not use, other than for keeping drinks cold, given that a full breakfast (including a daily hot item) was available each morning as well as a cocktail reception (including salad and hot food) 7 evenings a week. There was a lovely patio, furnished with heat lamps and lanterns, where guests could congregate to enjoy their food. Food area was kept immaculately clean, unlike many hotels we have stayed at where breakfast is included.
Courtyard was well manicured, and the pool was a decent size considering the size of the hotel. Comfortable lounge chairs with cushions lined the pool area and there were umbrellas for shade. At this time of the year (third week in November) the pool area lost its shade by 3:45.
Service was excellent and personal. The manager would drop by to say hello to the guests. Unlike higher end properties, both internet and parking are included, and there is no "resort fee" in addition to the hotel rate. A large wall computer in the lobby ("Monciege") offered easy access to information about area attractions, restaurants, hiking etc and printed out color maps for directions.

The main advantages of some of the high end five star resorts are their sprawling property/gardens, massive pools, location (more central to Scottsdale's Old Town and shopping), and somewhat of a more "chic" ambience. Might be more romantic for a couples trip.

If good quality as well as good value are important factors in your choice of a hotel, then I would choose the Gainey Suites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Arrived home last evening after a week in Scottsdale with a friend. Our experience with Olivia, Crystal, Eric, and of course, Rick, at the Gainey Suites was beyond what one would ever dare hope for at a moderately priced resort. Going out of their way at every turn, this team, and what a cohesive one it is, is a winner. Olivia was exceptional in responding to our request for larger accommodations, Eric and Crystal were very patient in answering our many questions, and Rick was, by far, the most gracious host.
Housekeeping does an exceptional job, both in the common areas and suites. The property is immaculate and very well maintained. The kitchen staff is delightful and the complimentary breakfast and evening snacks fresh and plentiful.
Admittedlly, I am quite fussy and not easily pleased, especially on vacation. I have stayed at far more costly and higher rated properties and would not hesitate to place Gainey Suites right up there with them. I was delighted to have found this property and would recommend to friends, family and clients. Thank you for making this part of our visit so perfect.

Room Tip: The two bedroom king suite is very spacious and could easily accommodate two couples or a family wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costa mesa, ca
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a great property, with more amenities than your average hotel. The rooms are larger than average with a living area and a small, well stocked kitchen. The kitchen has a full size fridge (although mine was a little beat up) that makes this a great option for long term stays and families that prefer to save money by cooking on premises.

Also, the complimentary cookies they give you upon check-in are awesome.

They have a great happy hour from 5-7 that offers beer, wine, soft drinks and other appetizers that you can enjoy on the patio overlooking the ample courtyard.

One suggestion - if you can, ask for an interior room. The rooms that face the parking lot are less private and feel slightly ghetto.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainey Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.