We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gainey Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gainey Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Gainey Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Getaway Package
Ranked #2 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
scotland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at Gainey Suites. We had a two bedroom suite which was ideal for us. We were traveling with our 17 year old son so it provide privacy but also a communal area to relax in. Service was amazing. Staff were very friendly and helpful and manager was always around with his finger on the pulse.This results in a very well run establishment with great attention to detail. Liked the computerised concierge board in lobby,first time I have come across this. Breakfast was very nice with a different choice each morning. Loved the complimentary cookies that reception gave out! The very happy two hours between 5 and 7 were a real bonus. Unlimited wine, beer and soft drinks were available as well as food. The buffet theme changed each evening wih pizza, tacos and hot dogs among those available. Some people made the most of this and found enough to substitute for dinner! This was particularly welcome for those staying on their own on business as it provided a way of meeting and chatting to people. All in all I can not recommend this place highly enough. Much better than a traditional faceless hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    169
    35
    16
    4
See reviews for
260
323
42
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 2/3 years ago and it is just as good if not better than it was last time. This hotel offers really great service, is very clean, is exceptional value and is in a great location. We were really well looked after and the font desk staff are really helpful in sorting out local restaurants etc. All in all this is a really great place to stay and really ops value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We followed the recommendations on TA and stayed 2 nights at Gainey Suites. We stayed in the two bedroom suite and it was wonderful! The room is very large and the kitchen was well stocked. We had a view of the pool area and a small patio which was also very nice. The evening reception was great - as vegetarians we often end up skipping these due to the choice of foods offered (chili, hot dogs etc.). At Gainey they had vegetarian options and everything was yummy. Breakfast was also very good and had a lot of options. The beds were quite comfortable but we made one mistake. Do not turn on the fan to the A/C! The first night I felt like I was sleeping in a wind tunnel! The A/C makes a horrible noise and I'm not talking about those that make a chug when they go on and off this literally kept me awake most of the night. The second night we left the fan off and all was well. That was the only bad thing we experienced, I also noticed that the carpet in the halls might need to be replaced soon as it's getting a bit dingy and stained. However, the room was clean and very nice. Value wise it's been awhile since I've traveled and the sticker shock was awful no matter what hotel we looked at so I'd say that this hotel is comparable to the others out there.

Room Tip: The room was quiet and being on the pool gave us a sense of peace and serenity
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherburne, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am a consultant who often spends weeks at a time on the road. I often take my wife. Many hotels get old and tiresome after only a few days.

Gainey Suites is a far different experience. It is well landscaped with an inviting pool and lounge area. We were in one of the Patio type suites which open directly on to the pool area. Each of these rooms have privacy curtains around an open patio so you are not sharing your outside space with close neighbors.

The rooms are pretty standard for suite type hotels but are very well kept and clean and with the additional patio space are very spacious.

The inviting patio with direct access to the superbly maintained pool area made things very comfortable for my wife while I was working. She was very comfortable with the room and the facilities. However, she was even more happy with the friendly hotel staff. They provide a free shuttle service within a 5 mile radius of the hotel in a very accomodating manner. It was almost like she had a personal driver and guide.

All this in addition to very good complimentary breakfasts and evening appetizers and beer /wine service make Gainey Suites a place I will return to when I next work in the Phoenix area.

Room Tip: Try to get a patio room. Opens directly to the inviting pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restondrums
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for four nights and received incredible care during our stay. Having a full breakfast included, an extended happy hour which you could make a meal out of.....and spacious accommodations that are upscale while having a sense of homeyness....that's a tall order and this hotel did it for us. Reasonable pricing, extraordinary amenities and a very positive welcoming staff, that made it for us. Can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard, beautiful fountains and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second winter time trip to Gainey Suites. On both occasions we have spent a week. For anyone planning a trip to Phoenix or Scottsdale, we would find it difficult to better thius hotel. Location - it is close to just about anything you could want to see or do (close to Arizona Mills, Outlets at Anthem and the shops in Scottsdale - perfect for Christmas shopping). It has an ideal location being next to a selection of dining options although the complimentary evening reception is so good you may well choose to skip dinner. Buffet breakfast is good too! The rooms are well appointed, large, comfortable and with good kitchette facilities. And the pool is just lovely - an ideal place to just soak up the sun - although be aware it is a popular base for Wedding parties which can make it loud. Free parking and the views of Saddleback Mountain just are the icing on this particular great value cake.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at Gainey Suites 5 nights for a conference I attended at the same hotel and have nothing but glowing reviews! The staff is warm and friendly; the night I arrived, the manager Olivia helped re-arrange my reservation so I could get a room w/ a patio. Every time I saw her afterwards she greeted my by first name with a smile and asked how things were! All of the staff were as warm and welcoming.

The rooms are bright, clean and comfortable! Each morning while I was attending the conference housekeeping came by early and by lunch my suite was immaculate. And the suites are great- it felt more like an apartment then a hotel room!

One of the best things about staying here is all of the food perks- a delicious breakfast is available each morning with lots of fresh food and every evening from 5-7 there's a happy hour with complimentary alcohol (wine and beer) and food. Happy hours included tasty food like hot wings and pork sliders, but there's also healthy options like salads. A couple of nights I just had the happy hour food for dinner and didn't need to go out.

The conference I attended is held here every year and I can see why they keep coming back. It is a great location with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay while in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gainey Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainey Suites Hotel

Address: 7300 East Gainey Suites Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85258
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainey Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Guests,In the heart of all that makes Scottsdale, AZ "a world class destination" and perfectly located in the exclusive oasis-like Scottsdale neighborhood of Gainey Ranch where you can walk, run, or bike on winding paths past golf courses, parks, and greenbelts; and next door to the Shops & Restaurants at Gainey Village. And just around the corner you can work out at the Gainey Village Health Club or pamper yourself at "The Spa" (enjoy special rates for our hotel guests) The Gainey Suites Hotel is a unique, upscale boutique-style retreat that offers a more intimate, inclusive, and relaxing alternative to the hassles, higher rates and additional fees of the larger chain resorts in Scottsdale, AZ.We are pleased to announce that our $1.5 million renovation of our guest suites and public areas is complete. In our guest suites you'll find all new contemporary wood cabinetry and stainless steel kitchen appliance ensembles, living areas with custom crafted trestle style desks, desktop power and charging stations, FREE Wi-Fi, and HDTV, faux leather task chairs, sleek new cordless telephones, and distinctive porcelain desk lamps, along with granite tops on the night stands. You'll also see new carpet throughout the hotel corridors and public areas as well as elegantly re-designed function space.The stunning new Travertine stone pool deck and spa/Jacuzzi with spectacular new furniture, upper deck fire pit and poolside cabanas is now completed.Our new lobby and beautifully crafted guest services reception and Gift Shop is complete featuring an interactive Scottsdale Experience center with adventure & activities videos and the amazing e-Monscierge with a free ap you can even download that will tell you what is locally all around you...all to make your Scottsdale Experience simply FANTASTIC!Our new Terrace Patio Bar is now open! It is a classy and cozy Wine & Barista Bar inside and on the outside patio, a full-service al fresco "Santa Barbara Style" bar done in rich teak woods with a vibrant mosaic tile back wall, and colorful accent awnings that adds a wonderful new dimension to the Gainey guest experience.We so greatly appreciate your business and are very excited to share all these wonderful property enhancements with you. We are at your service!Sincerely,The Gainey Suites Hotel Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gainey Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainey Hotel Scottsdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainey Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.