We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite Four Seasons property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   10600 East Crescent Moon Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255 (Troon North)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 100 Resort Credit
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My new favorite Four Seasons property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The stunning grounds are surpassed only by the friendly and efficient service. It is a quiet, very beautiful setting north of Scottsdale, staffed by people who genuinely care about the guest's comfort and experience. The food is very good, with many options for those on gluten free diets. Any request is handled easily and happily.

I am really looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    180
    76
    29
    11
See reviews for
271
484
41
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I am very convinced that at least some of the reviews in this space are sponsored by the Hotel itself. If you have any experience with the Four Seasons chain, you cannot help but notice that while this particular Four Seasons has everything, it is all a watered down version of the real deal. You could call it the Four Seasons Lite or the Marriott Deluxe. Except the prices rival any of the best Four Seasons which is shocking to me. We paid the same room rate in Maui and the difference was night and day. I can't even write down all the little odds and ends, but the overall morale of the staff in Scottsdale is so low that far from the cheery Four Seasons staff you may be used to, you actually have people trying hard to break a smile. The facilities definitely need to be ugraded, they are spacious and the backdrop is gorgeous, but everything is getting old. The kids club is an utter joke. The have not one, TWO video game rooms within the kids club and don't go by the 'activity guide' those activities barely last a few minutes and essentially all the kids are encouraged to get hooked to video games. Again, if you've been to a real kids club at a nicer Four Seasons you would know that they usually go all out to engage the kids. Everything worked, everything was fine and everything was tremendously over-priced for what it was.

On the positive side, the pool is gorgeous, intelligently laid out and the backdrop is stunning. What this place could be and what it is ... its a pity.

Room Tip: look for rooms close to the lobby otherwise you will be walking endlessly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and providing us with your honest feedback.

I apologize that your experience with our Kids for All Seasons program was not part of the highlights of your visit. We do provide a Kids For All Seasons comment card that we encourage parents to complete upon their departure. This helps us identify areas for improvement. We support suggestions that will help make our Kids for All Seasons more enjoyable for kids and parents.

I do appreciate the wonderful comment mentioned of our pool.

Again, I thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and often.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The desert seems to enjoy a quiet that I find incredibly relaxing. The Four Seasons resort was amazingly quiet. It is funny, but like the way a smell can bring old memories to the front of your mind the quiet around the Four Seasons brought me back 30 years to when friends and I would go into the hills behind Santa Barbara when I was in school.

The rooms are laid out more like apartments. It gives you great privacy, but the walks to and from the main building are longer. The rocks that are all around you provide a nice backdrop, and reinforce the notion you are at a really nice place. I was only there one short night with an early flight the next morning so I did not really get to investigate. I hope to get a chance in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us and I appreciate your nice words regarding the serenity and privacy of the resort.

We hope that we have the opportunity to personally welcome you back to the Four Seasons Scottsdale in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for a week,and loved every day of it. The pools are warm and wonderful, being from Canada, we were some of the very few who was using them, I guess arizonians found the weather too cold, but it was great for us! The rooms are very, very nice. We really enjoyed the L'occitane amenities, nice touch! The pool area had people coming by giving out freebies like frozen ice cream treats, frozen grapes, etc. Everyone very very friendly and polite. We also had dinner at the restaurant, while it was a little pricey, it was WONDERFUL. I had wagyu beef, and it was one of the tastiest dishes I have ever eaten. Awesome food.

The location is incredibly quiet, relaxing and peaceful. The only downside is that it's a fair ways out there, and it would take 20 minutes to drive there from anywhere else. However, I would return again in a heatbeat. The service, rooms, and quiet peaceful location made the drive totally worth it. Once you're there, you're not going to want to leave much anyway!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We travel to Scottsdale every year to visit my parents and usually stay at their house, but, due to an overbooking at my Dad's, we wound up staying at the Four Seasons. It happened to be a beautiful time of year there (mid April 2011) with the cactus in bloom. We had adjoining rooms, which were incredibly spacious, had gorgeous bathrooms, tons of closet space, and had the most incredible view of Pinnacle Peak. It was about 95 degrees and we sat by the pool in a cabana with misters spraying water on us to cool us down. The wait staff brought over frozen treats (drinks, ice cream, etc...) every half hour or so. They had a kids club that we sent our children to in the afternoon and my kids enjoyed that. The hotel overlooks Pinnacle Peak, which has the most gorgeous trail (about 2.5 miles there and 2.5 miles back ... not a loop trail in other words). A relatively easy walk with the most amazing views.
The food at the Four Seasons was expensive, but really good. Check out Greasewood Flats across the road from the hotel for awesome burgers in a really cool biker, ghost town type setting. And down the road is Pinnacle Peak Patio, which is fun (not spectacular food but a place to see and decent burgers too). And I got a great massage (in the evening) at the spa.
The hotel staff really went out of their way to help us. My son got gum in his hair on the plane ride so my Mom met us at the hotel with peanut butter that we put through his hair to get the gum out. But that left the peanut butter in his hair. The hotel staff brought him down to the salon and shampooed him for no charge! (I guess they didn't want peanut butter all over their pool chairs!!)
I was surprised that it was as kid friendly as it was. Great place, great views, great rooms. Can't say enough...

Room Tip: We liked being near the pool with the view of Pinnacle Peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We grabbed a cab at Phoenix Sky Harbour airport and headed north through Scottsdale for about 30 miles.

The Four Seasons Hotel Scottsdale nestles on the edge of the Sonoran desert. It is surrounded by mountain peaks, statuesque cactuses with many spiky arms reaching for the sky, and rocks and boulders of interesting shapes and sizes. The buildings are authentic to their American Indian origins, decorated in warm reds and oranges. A slight burning smell wafts through the resort from the many blazing chiminea fireplaces.

The view from the sundeck in the cocktail bar literally takes the breath away. 35 miles of unbroken horizon right back down to the Camelback Mountain in downtown. Whilst the resort contains all the amenities that you would find in a normal seaside resort, this amazing vista is more than adequate compensation for the obvious lack of sea.

The weather was pleasantly hot, never quite rising above 80° each day. Most of the American guests would not appear until after lunch leaving the poolside relatively empty until then. The poolside staff are attentive, but not intrusive, and always happy to help and talk.

Liv who works there set up our sunbeds each day with fluffy towels and supplied us with an endless supply of Bud Lights, nibbles, sundaes, smoothies and of course lunch. Try the spicy chicken skewers with hot green dip. You need the cold beer to cool your mouth down.

The guest rooms are luxurious, the beds gigantic and soft enough to sink into. Fortunately for us we also had that astonishing view down towards the Camelback. A huge shower, a separate bath and double sink filled the bathroom which was suitably replenished daily with a range of lotions and potions. There was even a fireplace in the room should the temperature drop too much, and although not a real log fire, it was a great fake gas one.

Breakfast was in the Mexican themed Crescent Moon restaurant. Isn’t it just fantastic to have breakfast made order? No cold congealed buffet sludge here. Great fresh food cooked as you like it. Eggs over easy. Eggs sunny side up. Muffins with sharply sour but refreshing grapefruit juice.

The Talavera restaurant was much posher and somewhere to spend a pleasant evening. Although chilly in the evening, the patio has fire-pits which keep you toasted and warm. Fine dining, great steaks, great chicken again with a Mexican and American Indian twist. And what a great bottle of Ravenswood Barricia Zinfandel.

The on-site spa is simply lovely. They have the steamiest steam room I’ve ever seen in any spa anywhere in the world.

I can’t fault the service in this resort, always efficient and delivered with a smile, especially the concierge who keeps you fully updated on all arrangements they make. There is golf nearby with two 18-hole courses. If you want to see the desert on horseback, they’ll arrange for Cave Creek Outfitters to come and collect you.

You can walk to Pinnacle Peak Park and take a gentle pleasant hike of about 4 miles up to a summit another fifteen hundred foot above the resort. From here again the views are stunning. You can see 50 miles in every direction and the peaks merge into the horizon and into the light wispy clouds which gather as the sun goes down.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and very detailed review from your recent stay at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Your thoughtful comments are truly appreciated. We are always extremely delighted to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your impressions from your visit. We value your patronage to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back the next time your travels bring you back to Scottsdale!

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLO
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The grounds and rooms here are beautiful. Can't say enough about the staff-they epitomize customer service. Food was very good, a little overpriced. Only complaint is that the internet (not free!) was really bad. Kept dropping service and was unbelievably slow. They did agree to remove the charge from our bill. I loved the "adults only" pool-very quiet for reading. A lot of nice touches here. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We had rooms farther from the center of the resort-it was very quiet even tho the hotel was full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenShank99, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your valuable feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

In regards to our food and beverage prices, we do an actual competitive analysis with other luxury hotels and our prices are very comparable to our competitive hotels in the area. We are also in the process of upgrading our wi-fi signal around the resort.

I am happy to hear that you did enjoy the grounds, our rooms and your time at the pool, and I will share your praise with the staff.

We look forward to your return to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale or any future Four Seasons Worldwide Hotel.

Sincerely,

Ben Shank
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North

Address: 10600 East Crescent Moon Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Troon North
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#1 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#2 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale At Troon North Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Hotel Scottsdale
Four Seasons Scottsdale
Scottsdale Four Seasons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.