We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decently run Motel 6” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Scottsdale

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Scottsdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Scottsdale
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6848 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Downtown Scottsdale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Decently run Motel 6”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Motel 6 of Scottsdale

+ microwave and
fridge
+ outlets convenient to bed (for CPAP)
+ bathtub with shower
+ sink outside bathroom for easier access
+ nice swimming pool
+ disposable plastic cups
+ nice (hardwood?) floors

0 tight little room
0 only premium channels are HBO and HBO2
0 wi-fi about $3/night (see below)
0 handle jammed in shower, cannot get water (reported in
morning and fixed by evening return

- shower floor is slick with no mat, hold bars, or
appliques
- cannot hang clothes from rack, microwave in way
- no facial tissue
- no shampoo
- no clock
- no list of TV channels
- Internet downloads very slow

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
20
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo BC Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Travelling across Arizona in RV and husband and I needed a location close to downtown attractions and shopping in Scottsdale. (first time there)
We came across the Motel 6 on Camelback Drive and it had a perfect location. My thoughts were "going to be kinda sleazy and old".
Wow.......were we surprised. Small pool,(has wheelchair lift for disabled) Smaller compact rooms which are basic but all remodelled with new bathtub/shower combos and new laminate flooring. Non Smoking or Smoking available. We stayed on Floor 2 which overlooked the pool and was away from main highway. Think Room 252
Air conditioner was a bit oldfashioned and noisy.....but hey.....for $50 a night in downtown Scottsdale is was OK.
We could park the RV easily and were within 100 yds of THE Fashion Mall. Great little restuarants, close to downtown canal, and walking distnace to Old Town. (also has free shuttle than runs from the Mall) Wonderful.
We are even considering a weekly rate for a last minute sun destination in the winter

Room Tip: Room 252 has inside view of pool and away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've been staying at this Motel 6 occasionally for the past few years. I used to like it fairly well.
On my last stay I was not so fond of it. There was a weird, bad odor in the bathroom. The fake wood floor is wearing out and overall the place is getting funky.
I hope Motel 6 decides to make over all of their properties.
Just because it's cheap does not mean it needs to be ugly, smelly and less than perfectly clean.
All the people that work there are absolutely great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was our 2nd year at Motel 6. Rooms very clean and comfortable, staff polite, helpful and they keep the area tidy. Pool area nice but water a little cool
Walking distance to local bars, restaurants but fairly quiet at night. Would definately stay here again and would recommend.I remembered to take my hair dryer this time and as we needed a refridgerator for insulin we booked a room with one in advance. Reasonable rates too
Pancake house on site, good food and service, only open mornings.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

You know when you check into Motel 6 it is going to be for value, not luxury. That being said, this is probably the best Motel 6 I have ever stayed at. We only needed a quick room for the night, no need to get all the frills. The property is very close to one of the Best Parts of town; Old Scottsdale. We spent some time walking around the streets, enjoyed a drink at a streetside bar and a really nice dinner in Old Town. The Motel is so close to Old Town we just had a short drive back to the room, and settled in for the night. The grounds are well kept, the staff is pleasant and we felt completely safe. Enjoyed a free coffee in the morning and we were back on the road again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is one of the very first Motel 6 facilities ever built and it is located in central Scottsdale within easy walking distance of shopping and restaurants. It was very clean and while the rooms are basic,they are well maintained. A very good value as well. The staff was helpful and accommodating. This is not a resort, but is a convenient and well,priced way to stay in downtown Scottsdale.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It is in a good location. They have some handicapped room with the handicapped showers. If you end up with one, the shower head is set at the height for a wheel chaired person. It is not set high enough for a standing person. The room was ok. It was filthy under the bed. The mall is right behind and next to it. So there is a lot of shopping and restaurants near that are open during the day. There is a "The Original Pancake House" at the Motel. It opens very early, but does not stay open late. I would stay there again if I am looking for a place to rest. The internet is approx $2.99 plus tax for every 24 hours. It has cable. There is a pool. There is also a laundry room. Housekeeping will go in everyday to tidy up so don't leave anything valuable in the room for your own safety. There wasn't a do not disturb sign.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a non-handicapped room if you are not handicapped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Scottsdale

Address: 6848 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Scottsdale 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Motel Six Scottsdale
Scottsdale Motel 6
Scottsdale Motel Six

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Scottsdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.