We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Super location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Beautifully landscaped oasis near Fashion Square mall and Old Town Scottsdale. Easy walk to both. Service was super; rooms comfy and quiet. Pool and garden area are inviting both day and night. Only negative, charge for wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am happy to hear you had a great experience with us. For your next visit, please join our guest loyalty program, Kimpton InTouch and wifi is complementary.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    365
    106
    49
    41
See reviews for
252
433
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the Firesky, excellent spot while in Scottsdale. We were able to walk to old town for shopping and restaurants and enjoyed all the local sites. We also enjoyed the complementary bicycles and did a great ride on the city bike paths thru golf course and parkways. Staff were very friendly, enjoyed the morning coffee bar, best hotel coffee on our three week trip. We ate one night in the hotel restaurant, good food and service, lovely outdoor patio near a large outdoor fireplace. Large pool area, lovely landscaping around pool area, festively lit at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Our location "is" pretty amazing! So close to the action and the serene desert. Thanks for sharing your experience. Next time you take our complementary bikes out for a roll around Scottsdale, our Chef can prepare a picnic lunch that we can attach to the bikes so you enjoy his cuisine while you take in the sites.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This was our first time in Scottsdale, and we were incredibly pleased with our choice to stay at FireSky Resort. Everything was incredibly clean, and the grounds were beautiful.

We spent a few days just lounging by the pool and the service was excellent, but watch out as your first drink will probably be a double.

We had a small issue with the bedding in the room and the length of time it took to resolve the issue, but overall the room was spacious, comfortable and the front desk checked in on us to make sure that everything had been resolved which was very much appreciated.

Room service takes a bit longer than expected but the food is excellent! Plan to have a dinner at Taggia but book in advance so you can sit on the patio and see the beautiful pools at night.

The shuttle service will take you anywhere you need to go within 3 miles, and the front desk was incredibly helpful with directions, and helping us arrange transportation.

HINTS:
- book the spa when you arrive if you are planning to go as it gets busy but is well worth it
- In addition to Taggia if you are looking for excellent food try Oreganos for awesome pizza and Olive and Ivy for amazing Mediterranean eats which are both very close to FireSky

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are much quieter Try and get an even number room as they face into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
What a wonderful testimony. Thank you. I really appreciate you sharing the details with future guests of the FireSky. Plan another trip back soon! It is beautiful today in sunny Scottsdale.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A small group of us from all over the US meet a couple times per year and Firesky was our meeting destination this time. The site worked well for us. For our meeting room, we took advantage of their presidential suite, that had a large conference table for the 8 of us to formally meet. We met for drinks on site both late afternoons and then left for dinner offsite each night; nice restaurants within walking distance, including Cowboy Ciao. I had arranged for a late check-out on my final day, yet my card was deactivated sometime around noon, which was annoying, but a quick trip to the front desk got this resolved. I would look to stay here again should a Phoenix/Scottsdale hotel be needed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for the nice review but I am troubled that you gave us 3 stars. If you have ideas for improvement, I welcome them.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

What a nice place to stay this was. We have booked a courtyard view room but when we checked in we enquired about a pool view upgrade. I'm a light sleeper which I mentioned and immediately the lovely girl at the desk suggested I keep my allocated room as there was going to be a wedding party overlooking the lagoon pool and, therefore, probably a fair amount of noise. You've got to like a hotel that advises against paying more to make sure you are comfortable!!

Anyway as we had been promised, the courtyard rooms were lovely and very quiet, looking out onto the gardens between the accommodation block and the main hotel (apart from at 2am when some idiot Dutch guys walked down the corridor talking very loudly twice - but the hotel can't be held responsible for inconsiderate fools like that!).

The room was well equipped with mini bar ( which you could move around to accommodate your own drinks), you could request a coffee maker which arrived very quickly and overall it was very pleasant.

There are effectively three pool areas, one with an imitation sand beach, a bar and lounge area and a restaurant. On the first evening we ate in the restaurant overlooking the main pool area under floodlit palms and burning fire pits and it was very relaxing - good food, very nice recommended wine.

The next night we ate at the Roaring Fork which is situated virtually opposite the hotel and that was excellent too.

From the hotel it is only a 10 minute walk to Fashion Square with shops and a few restaurants. Another couple of minutes takes you to the canal side and yet more eating opportunities.

From Fashion Square you can ride the free trolley down to and around Old Town. We walked there and used the trolley to come back as the desert heat can be energy sapping!

Old Town itself is worth a wander around and the museum is pretty interesting.

The hotel serves wine for an hour late afternoon, just one choice of red or white, and several glasses if you are so minded and this is a nice touch as is the free wifi and $10 minibar raid voucher that you get if you belong to the Kimpton loyalty scheme.

The quiet location and the excellent staff would definitely bring me back here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Your testimony warmed my heart! This is exactly who we are and I am happy you enjoyed the experience and the great location in Sottsdale! (Note, we have two pools as I hope no one swims in the lagoon:)) Come back again soon!
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Was there for an extended weekend. It was a busy place with a conference going on, at least 1 wedding, and a couple other events......but you wouldnt have known it! The hotel seems to do a great job of catering to all their guest types - those of us just relaxing - as well as those with a little more "intent" to their visit.

The courtyard is beautiful - you wouldn't know you were actually bordering N.Scottsdale Rd as you lounged by the pools.

For people wanting to be near central Scottsdale - a great choice. Walking distance to the old town, as well as great restaurant.

Definitely will stay here again. I would have a couple requests for the hotel.......first - upgrade the wine served at your happy hour - we would have likely stayed and paid for a few glasses had it been better! and second - you really do need to hire an official doggie mascot as many of your sister Kimpton's have done. It's a great feature of the hotels - and a lot of fun to come back to the property and be able to have some puppy love as you walk in!

Room Tip: Courtyard facing in the 200 or 300 buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks! Our Sommelier, Emily Wines, from Kimpton Hotels selects the wine all Kimpton hotels serve each month and I am sorry you didn't care for it, but no worries, it will change December 1 and I am sure it will be fabulous. Your are right we need a Pet Director, I just haven't found that perfect four legged ambassador and my cat, Alley won't stay out of the rafters.......Thanks again for the wonderful feedback.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A girlfriend and I just stayed here over the weekend for a girls' getaway and it was fantastic! Good sized room! Excellent grounds with wonderful pools. The spa is GREAT - oh so relaxing. The hotel is within walking distance to tons of great shopping and restaurants. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for something nice, reasonably priced and close to lots of things to do!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
How nice to hear that you had a fabulous girls getaway! Jurlique Spa is amazing and I am glad to hear that you loved the treatments and got a chance to relax and rejuvinate. Thanks for the review and plan another trip back soon! HIgh of 84 today.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FireSky Resort & Spa is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and the adjacent Taggia restaurant, Aqua Pool Bar and Taggia Lounge. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West – the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.