We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds but not impresses with the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off Staycations
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds but not impresses with the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Walking around the FireSky Resort was absolutely beautiful but wish that the rooms were just as beautiful. Found that the room smelled musty and decor was blah, although the bed was very comfortable. Wasn't ever able to access the Internet during my stay and after several calls to the IT department it never was fixed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    400
    117
    53
    43
See reviews for
268
459
64
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at FireSky between Feb 17 & Feb 23. The level of service is what makes this a worthwhile stay. They have a helpful, friendly staff. It is not inexpensive, Scottsdale, winter, & the start of spring training add to the cost. The room we had was ok, clean & comfortable. The grout in the shower needed to be removed and redone. Great location to old town Scottsdale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a wedding in Scottsdale. Beautiful lobby and pool area. Nice firepit and communal sitting areas. Nice hot tub that was warm and stayed open till midnight! Bar had great friendly bartenders! The actual property is old but Kimpton has done a great job with the renovation. Nice body products and love the complimentary "things that you forgot". I forgot hairspray and a nail clipper. They got me new travel ones complimentary! Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
We prefer "mature" over "old', but yes - we've been here awhile. Excited to be a party of so many past memories and looking forward to all the new ones. I hope your stay with us was among these. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Firesky a few weeks ago. We LOVED it. We previously have stayed at Montelucia/Intercontinental in Paradise Valley, but we liked Firesky more. The location is great for walking to many downtown venues. We never took the shuttle but walked and drove to the sights. Our room was very nice and we were able to upgrade to a lagoon front room after our first night. The staff was excellent.
We also ate at the restaurant and completely enjoyed our food. Yum! We would have eaten there again if there were not so many great restaurants in Scottsdale. Our favorite was Davanti's Enoteca.
Our favorite part of the experience at Firesky was their lovely wine hour. We loved the bourban- laced hot cider with whipped cream. Super delicious! They even provide some classy appetizers with this.
I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Choose an inward facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
You're so kind....thank you! Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel last week based on member feedback. The pool areas are amazing although it was cold for most of our trip and even snowed one day! The bathroom area is good as far as the sink is outside where the toilet is, so you can make more use of the space. The bad thing is that you have to walk into the room with the toilet/shower before you can close the door. The walk in shower also gets the door wet and part of the floor. If you are not average size (which we are), you might have trouble using this room comfortably. Looks like some room have bathtubs, ours did not (we did not need one either). Work our room is great, lobby is beautiful. Ask for a fan if you need one for noise, as they do have them!

Room Tip: As others have mentioned, it is worth it to get a pool or courtyard room, or you look and hear the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Glad to hear you survived the mighty Scottsdale Blizzard of 2013! Crazy cold weather....but today it's 80*, sunny and Spring Training is in full swing! I hope you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We've stayed at several Kimpton properties across the US and the Firesky is certainly one of the best. From within the pool area you might forget that you're basically in the desert and not right on the ocean. Very lush landscaping, clean, great attention to detail. Great bar, exercise room ("fitness center" has earbuds you can use, which I've never seen before and probably wouldn't be first to use public earbuds but hey, it might be nice if you forgot your own pair) and hot tub. Didn't dine in the restaurant there (Italian fare) but looked OK. Room was very spacious, very clean and well appointed. Bed is quite comfortable, and was very quiet (we were in the third building, towards the rear of the resort). Didn't use the spa but wife said it was what you'd expect at a ~$250/nt hotel. Ample parking around the resort. Would definitely stay again if I'm ever back in Scottsdale/Phoenix!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin ., General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for the great comments! Since you're obviously a well-traveled Kimptonite....I hope you have signed up for our loyalty program...InTouch. Earn free nights, get free wi-fi, exclusive offers and deals...need I say more? Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a lovely hotel within 3 miles of great restaurants and shopping. The grounds are beautiful with the lagoon(more like a pond but nice nonetheless), pool, firepits etc. Despite the cool weather we were able to enjoy drinks around one of the many outdoor fire areas. The pool was well heated and according to the kids the warmest of three resorts we stayed in in Scottsdale/Phoenix. The wine reception is a delight, the food (breakfast and snacks at the bar) were very good. The free shuttle to and from any destination within a three mile radius was a great service and one we used several times. We stayed in a a ground level room with a lagoon view: beds were comfortable, room was nicely appointed but the low ceilings and size of the room did not make us love it and I thought it was a little expensive for what we got...especially after I booked at another resort later in the week, paid a $120.00 less per night and the resort was five star all of the way!

Room Tip: Definitely get a room on the interior (pool or lagoon view), the north side particularly will have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clm037, General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for the review! FireSky is so close to many culinary delights and local attractions, but I sure hope you got a chance to savor our restuarant, Taggia! I am glad to hear you enjoyed the complimentary car service we provide to get you around Scottsdale! Let us do the driving.
Cheryl
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FireSky Resort & Spa is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and the adjacent Taggia restaurant, Aqua Pool Bar and Taggia Lounge. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West – the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Amex, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.