We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Firesky Resort for a couples getaway and enjoyed our time there. The location was great for us since we wanted to be able to walk to downtown Scottsdale. The rooms were nice and ours overlooked the courtyard. The best part about the hotel was the staff. They were friendly and happy. The hotel offers free shuttle to anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. My friend and I used the service to go to the antique mall and the two different drivers (different each way) told us how much they enjoyed working at the resort. The pool area was nice but the weather was so cold we could not enjoy it. My only complaint which we were really ok with is that there are no elevators. If you do need assistance the staff will help you bring your bags up to the second level.

Room Tip: Our room was close to the main road so could hear some road noise. You should request a room away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the great review! We hope you come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    365
    106
    49
    41
See reviews for
252
433
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

After driving in from Las Vegas, we felt like we were pulling into an absolute oasis when we arrived at the Firesky! Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who offered us a glass of lemon infused water. This was followed by complimentary wine. We were smiling before we even checked in. Once we did check in we were pleased to find the rooms quite nice (they were renovated from the previous hotel) but not over the top. However, the rooms were well appointed with a great bed, good thread count sheets and of course nice toiletries and the usual funky Kimpton robe. That evening we had a lovely time roasting Smors on the back patio sitting next to the patio camp fire. The pool area and patio add a real nice ambiance to the hotel. In summary, we would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there when we are in Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Ask the desk staff for a SMOR package to roast on the back patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much! We hope you come back and spend s'more time with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went for a girlfriend's weekend and loved this resort. Perfectly situated in Old Town Scottsdale and the resort has a shuttle service to any of the shopping and dining within 3 miles. All of the staff were friendly and professional and made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. My only complaint would be that there isn't an in-room coffee maker--we had to walk into the main area for coffee in the morning; which wouldn't normally be a problem except it was freezing the few days we were there! All in all, a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the review! The FireSky is a great place to work....Kimpton Hotels & Restaurants was just named to the Fortune Top 100 Employers for the 3rd straight year. Kimpton takes care of their team members...and our team members take care of our guests. What a great relationship!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I've stayed at the FireSky twice now - both times in the middle of August. Primarily lured by the fantastic rates during the peak of summer heat, my husband and I most recently visited in 2012. We had a courtyard view room facing northwards - we could see the pool, but were far enough from the noise and hubbub, which was also nice.

Love the pools and the poolside bar - that, coupled with the InTouch member perks (bonus beers) during our stay made it feel like we were at a much pricier place. We thoroughly enjoyed our balcony as well - facing northwards likely helped the comfort level, even though it was around 115F every day.

Made the most of a 4 day trip - visited Sedona, the Botanical Gardens, downtown farmer's market, and even made it to a DBacks game. Location is great - easy to get to, parking is no hassle. Even though my husband 'hated' the heat, he also conceded that he had a great time and we should make this a tradition in August (our birthdays are mid-Aug as well).

Room Tip: Courtyard view rooms are nice - you can see the gardens/pools but don't have to hear people spla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
And people think no one visits Scottsdale in the summer! Our beautiful courtyard area features a zero-entry, sandy-beach pool as well as our luxurious main pool. Aqua bar caters to every whim and will ensure that you remain hydrated (and libated!) while soaking in the sun. We're happy you enjoyed the SIZZLE of summer in Scottsdale. Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just returned from a 2-night stay at this property and wish I was their on my own time, not for business. The grounds are awesome, beautiful pools, nice spa and they have bikes for guests to use. The rooms are super! All appear to at least have a balcony/patio or enclosed area (which would be great for traveling with pets as Kimpton is Pet Friendly). Had dinner both nights once in the restaurant and once through room service; both good experiences. Location is close to everything you would want to access when visiting the area (for reference resorts like the Phoenician are only a handful of miles away).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for the great review! And thanks for mentioning the bikes for loan. Talk about a great way to get around and explore Old Town Scottsdale. Everything is within a short and easy ride...shopping, restaurants, galleries.....we've got you covered! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Although I've stayed at the FireSky many times for business before, my family and I just spent two nights there for fun prior to heading to the Grand Canyon. The FireSky never ever disappoints! Located in Scottsdale, just a short jaunt from Old Town, we stayed there over New Years Eve and it was perfect - just the right party-feel in the lobby, but the hotel was careful to make sure and moderate the noise near the guest rooms, so we weren't woken by revelers once. The rooms are clean, spacious, and lovely. The lobby is just gorgeous - expansive and elegant with Southwestern touches, but nothing cheesy. The complimentary wine hour from 5-6pm every night is a blast with great wines, Wii, and games (including corn hole - yes, I kicked my husband's butt). On previous business trips to FireSky I've enjoyed the restaurant, but this time I enjoyed the pool and hot tub. My son, a wimp when it comes to cold water, got right into the heated pool despite the 65 degree air temp. One of my favorite features of FireSky are all the outdoor sitting areas - some by the water, some by fire pits - that are great for sipping a glass of wine, reading a book, catching up with a travel mate, or checking e-mails (free wi-fi) . There's even a few adorable tiny jackrabbits that wander about so my son and I played Spot the Bunny for an hour one morning. However, the best thing about the Firesky is the staff. You won't find nicer, more genuine or helpful people. All Kimpton Hotels have amazing people working for them and FireSky is the creme de la creme.

Room Tip: Ask for ground level pool facing - bigger patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Awww! We (heart) you too! What a treat it is to read about your experience at the FireSky! I'm happy to hear that you had the opportunity to spend some "down-time" with us and recharge at our little oasis in the desert. I commend your son for braving the "cool" temperatures. I suppose cool is a relative term :) We look forward to our next opportunity to add a little pampering to your business or pleasure trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday night in late December. We booked the hotel that morning as we were driving to Phoenix. The hotel is ideally located close to fashion island with lots of bars and restaurants. We enjoyed the hot tub late into the evening.We didn't venture out that evening but instead had drinks and food in the hotel bar. It would be a great hotel in the summer time as it has lots of pools.

Room Tip: As the hotel does not have elevators I suggest staying on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thanks for the nice review! I hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary shuttle to get you around Old Town. Everything is an easy walk from the Resort, but if you do some shopping and you have bags to carry, our shuttle is a great convenience! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FireSky Resort & Spa is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and the adjacent Taggia restaurant, Aqua Pool Bar and Taggia Lounge. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West – the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.