We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here twice this past year and it's a great place to stay. The rooms are nice. The pools are awesome. Very close to Old Town Scottsdale. The restaurant onsite is good as well. We have eaten breakfast and dinner there. The patio is very nice. Staff is friendly. They also have a hosted wine hour every night.

Room Tip: Skip the patio guestroom and get yourself an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for your comments! Speaking of Taggia; last night I had the chance to experience one of the monthly Wine Dinners we're now featuring....oh my - it was AMAZING! If you get the chance, I would highly recommend it. Glad you enjoyed our little slice of heaven….I hope we get to serve you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    365
    106
    49
    41
See reviews for
252
433
61
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We love that the Kimpton brand allows pets and that they are very welcoming to our pups. It seems, though, that any time Kimpton takes over a hotel, the customer service and attention to detail goes down (eh em, the Canary Hotel in Santa Barbara is a perfect example). Upon arriving, we got a "room for the outside party guests" (i.e. booking through hotwire, expedia, etc. vs. the hotel's website). I didn't realize that searching for the best rate would get me a worse room. The hallway smelled really unpleasant. We had to smell it every time we went into our room, and that is a bit of a bummer. The pool was fine, but small. I liked the complementary cocktail hour (nice touch). I think Kimpton needs to step up their game or I am stepping away from the brand (with a little tap dance.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Oh no! I'm so sorry that we didn't make a great impression with you - please accept my apologies. Of course we would prefer that everyone confirm their reservation through one of Kimpton's convenient channels, that's why we offer a Best Rate Guarantee, but we certainly don't discriminate against reservations that come through other channels. We are very proud of our relationships with other on-line retailers; they are an important part of our business model. I hope you'll come back and give us another chance, I'm sure your next visit with us will restore your faith in Kimpton - no tapping needed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the end of October/beginning November. Good hotel and location. We had a room overlooking lagoon, which I would recommend for quietness as there can be road noise on the outer rooms. Bathroom was a bit small for the quality of hotel and price, but this may just be as we had an end room. Very friendly staff and helful concierge. Walking distance (15-20 mins) to downtown and oldtown Scottsdale. Why don't more Americans walk?? Might help with the obesity issues.

Room Tip: Rooms facing lagoons will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CherylMartin, General Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I am happy to hear you were comfortable in your home away from home. The FireSky is special and I am glad you felt the relaxation we provide. Please come back soon and thank you for taking time to tell others about your recent visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pet-lovers know that Kimpton is the ultimate in welcoming pets: no pet fee, no weight limit and all sorts of critters are welcome at Kimpton. The FireSky Resort & Spa in Scottsdale, Arizona, exudes a gracious ambience from start to finish. Our dogs names were on the chalk board welcoming them along with a few other Fido friends. We were given a dog bowl with treats and toys and our room included bowls and doggy Snoozzy pads. The grounds are luscious with large trees and palm trees, wait, are we in Scottsdale or Hawaii? It was hard to tell with water features and intimate hideaways scattered throughout the property. Doggy bag stations dot the property with grassy areas to walk your dog. Chef Massimo De Francesca creates a masterpiece to please any palette and a call to room service will get you just what is desired for Fido too. Our lagoon view room included Pillowtop mattresses and plush feather pillows, work station and lounge. Lest we forget Kimpton's signature gold fish, (ours was called Nuriel) who winked at us, I am certain, as we all turned in for the night in the comfort that is Kimpton's trademark.

Room Tip: Kimpton's are all pet-welcoming but be sure to let them know you are traveling with the entire f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Like all Kimpton hotels, the FireSky Resort & Spa is a pet-friendly property. We strive to make sure our furry, four-legged friends are just as comfortable as all our other guests. I'm glad to hear that you and the gang were comfortable and enjoyed your time with us. I hope you and your favorite Fidos get to escape with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Kimpton knows how to do it that's for sure. Their customer service is always outstanding, the rooms absolutely wonderful, pool... amazing, free transport within 3 mile radius (drop off and pick up) via Cadillac Escalade. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Ah yes....warm days, cool nights - doesn't get much better than this! Come back and see us again soon - our new Chef Massimo DeFrancesca is working culinary MAGIC in our dining room! The man can work wonders with Risotto :) Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel's layout with central courtyard/pools and gardens creates a really relaxing atmosphere. It's centrally located in the middle of town, but you wouldnt know it. You can always find a quiet spot to read a book and enjoy the weather.

The staff was friendly, particularly the concierge and shuttle drivers.

Would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I'm so happy you enjoyed our little Oasis in the Desert! We've got some AMAZING discounts available around the Christmas.... If you want to experience the Holidays in a completely different way, check out the great deals we have going. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights at firesky and loved every minute! It was part of our honeymoon and on mentioning it at reception we had an upgrade to a poolside room with patio and free champagne and nachos!

All the staff were very welcoming and we love the complimentary shuttle down to the old town which is well worth a couple of hours wandering around.

The pool area makes this hotel what it is. We spent a wonderful afternoon around the pool area and had our pick of loungers and cabanas. Waiter service at the pool meant we were never short of cocktails.

We ate both nights in the restaurant on site and both times the food was lovely and well priced. Sipping on a cocktail by one of the fire puts was the perfect way to end a day at the firesky.

All in all a fabulous stay: just sad that we live 6000 miles away and can't visit more offer!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehn B, Manager at FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Congratulations! Champagne & Nachos....what a little slice of heaven! I'm so happy to hear that we made your special time a little more special. 6000 miles is a long way to travel, but you'll have to come back and celebrate an anniversary with us sometime. Best wishes from us all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 4925 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (Formerly Caleo Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FireSky Resort & Spa is truly an oasis in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. This luxury boutique hotel is remarkable for its Jurlique Spa, unbeatable location, exceptional service, sumptuous amenities, and the adjacent Taggia restaurant, Aqua Pool Bar and Taggia Lounge. The area boasts more than 250 golf courses, the Scottsdale Fashion Square, Waterfront district, Phoenix Art Museum, Taliesen West – the Frank Lloyd Wright School of Architecture and nearby Sedona and Salt River Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Amex, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firesky Resort And Spa - a Kimpton Hotel
Firesky Hotel Kimpton
Firesky Resort Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FireSky Resort & Spa - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.