We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a 4 Star hotel (2+ maybe).” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This is not a 4 Star hotel (2+ maybe).”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Even 3 stars would be a pushing it. Rooms are old and dated with the smell and ambiance of a 1980s roadside motel. Now I should have figured this out ... given the fact that the prices were lower than anything else in the area ,,, "caveat emptor"

On the good side -- it is spread on grassy grounds with pools -- and I guess if you had kids with you the overall experience may not be bad.

Also the location is good, BUT if you are looking for a 4 star stay -- this is not it.

Bed was bad, pillows and bed covers flimsy, aircon made strange noises and to top it off there were bugs in the bed.

Not a place I would recommend or stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience at our resort did not meet your expectations. We are always looking for ways to improve our property and appreciate your feedback. It will allow us to make necessary changes to ensure that future experiences meet ours and our guests’ standards. Thank you for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    152
    113
    61
    43
See reviews for
79
121
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

we booked what should have been a romantic stay-cation getaway at a 4star Scottsdale resort through priceline and we couldn't have been less impressed. At check-in the front desk agent failed to inform us we would be in a room with 2 double beds so we didn't realize until we were in the room on the other end of the property. The trip went downhill from there, the property has beautifully maintained grounds but staff repeatedly walked by trash and there was a pile of newspapers outside our neighbors room. The beds were the least comfortable things we've ever slept on plus they squeaked horribly! there was zero guest name usage by the staff with multiple opportunities. the pool bar never opened and staff at the lounge sat in our view on the patio of the lounge. After we were extended a courtesy one hour late check out we were not informed that we would still be locked out of our room at noon so another long walk to the front desk was needed and our suspicions were confirmed that they knew we would be locked out. The staff is nice but so for from what should be called a 4 star resort. this is a 2 star motel

Room Tip: pick something close to the front desk so your walk to complain will be short
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Ryan, we are very sorry to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay with us. It is important for us to hear feedback from guests as it allows us to make improvements and ensure these issues will never happen again. We will look into your comments about trash on the grounds, as we pride ourselves on maintaining the highest standards in this regard. We are also working with our staff to solve the communication issues you experienced. We apologize for your less-than-satisfactory stay, and will certainly take your remarks into consideration. We thank you for your business at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Arizona, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The idea that this is a 4-star hotel is a joke. I have stayed in 2-star hotels that were cleaner and provided better service. The grounds are the only thing kept in good condition. The buildings/rooms are older and not well maintained. I had to stand in dirty water while showering because the bathtub wouldn't drain quickly enough. There was dried up something behind the toilet paper roll. I don't even want to guess what it was. I left the TP roll off so the maid would clean it, but he/she just replaced the roll with no cleaning done. The coffee pot was thoroughly disgusting - left a bad taste in both coffee and tea run through it. We asked for a new one and got it (one positive).

Last, but not least, there is no free Wi-fi, nor is there access to a business center as they advertise. Well, you can get into the room, but you'll have to pay $0.50 per MINUTE to use any of the machines. Again, lower star hotels offer this as an actual amenity and if they're going to advertise it, they need to provide it. If you want Wi-fi, you can pay $13 per day for something you can get for free at Starbucks or McDonalds.

I booked this through Priceline and was deeply disappointed. I would have thought a 4-star hotel in the Scottsdale area would be very nice, not a low-class motel masquerading as a resort by charging high prices for every little "amenity".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your experience at our property did not meet your expectations. We certainly welcome your feedback, as it allows us to improve our service in the future. We apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced, and will ensure that future responses to such issues are prompt and satisfactory. We are currently reviewing several of our policies in the hope to create a better overall experience for our guests. Thank you for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to the Scottsdale Plaza Resort for 6 years and sometimes more than once a year. We come here from the North of England - a 24 hour trip door-to-door. Now, would we make this trip on multiple occasions if the hotel was not up to scratch or the service poor? Clearly not. The staff we have encountered have always been warm and welcoming; service levels high and; room cleanliness excellent. Some of the comments we have read may say more about the guest than the hotel. Would we recommend the Plaza to others. Absolutely and without reservation. It is not the newest hotel in Scottsdale; but I have been to newer ones and been treated like a production-line customer. And yes, there are times when conventions are on-site, but the same happens at all good hotels who actively compete for this essential business. This could be a small irritant for a holiday-maker; but one that should be put into context with all the good things this hotel has to offer - good location, tranquil setting, excellent grounds and excellent staff. By the way, I am a Deputy Managing Director and Business Development / Customer Services Director in a far more demanding service industry. If I had any issues about this hotel, we would not come. I do not and here were are again!!

Room Tip: Ask for the Bi-Level or Patio Suites, which are spacious and extremely comfortable. If you have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Steve, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stays at the resort. As a locally-owned and operated business, we strive to provide the best possible customer service to our guests, and are pleased that you have chosen to make us a regular destination. We hope to continue this tradition and welcome you back many times in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked a room here off of Priceline, and I thought I scored a bargain. I was wrong - even at under $60 a night, I would have been better off someplace with less attitude and more inclination toward customer service.

First irritant - bellhops at a place where you had to drive to your room? WTF? Spare me the embarrassment of telling these poor guys that I could handle it myself.

Then, my hugest pet peeve of the snobby hotels. $13 bucks for a freaking internet connection. REALLY? Somehow, virtually every hotel in this land manages to finance a wireless router just like my damned home does, but this hotel feels like it ought to tap every business traveler stupid enough to wind up in its clutches for an extra $13.

On top of that, the staff clearly knew that MANAGEMENT was screwing the guests, but they were apparently unable to do anything about it. When I complained to the hotel desk that my internet connection did not function adequately (it was slow and lost connectivity several times), she acknowledged that a lot of people have that problem, but she did not offer to fix it by deleting the charge or even promising to look into it.

I ate at the Remington lounge, which was actually kind of nice. The bartender was top-notch, and the jazz was good. That's why I give it a second star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. We take customer feedback very seriously and appreciate the opportunity to improve our service; we are currently reviewing several of our policies and will take your comments into consideration. We recently replaced our internet system, and hope that as a result any connectivity issues have been resolved. We apologize again for your experience, but hope for the opportunity to serve you better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at this resort for a conference, which worked very well and was perfectly suited to the event. We stayed 7 days in all and the accommodation was very comfortable and the most spacious I have ever had. Really very very good. We had a problem with our bar fridge which was immediately addressed. All interaction with staff was very friendly and professional. The concierge is great and knows so much about the area. Although now we know more about the bus routes. Yes you can catch a bus right to the Desert Botanical Garden. Public transport is pretty good around these parts. There's not much happening in walking distance of the resort. You really need a car or a Harley. There is loads to do and see. Shopping? Arizona Mills Outlets at Tempe (down the freeway) and the outlet at Anthem is well worth a visit. Don't hire a car at the hotel. They will skin you alive. A 2-day hire car organised from the Hertz desk at the resort cost twice as much as a 5 day hire organised at SkyHarbour. We only had 3-4 meals at the resort which were expensive and not outstanding. We did not visit Remington's. There is good dining out and about in Scottsdale - but you will need transport to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience all that the surrounding area has to offer. We host many conferences on our property and strive to create the most convenient and relaxing experience for our guests. We apologize that your experience with meals was not entirely satisfactory, but hope that you will visit us again and try the excellent food at Remington’s. Thank you again for your comment and feedback, and we hope to see you again at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were frankly aghast at how tired and run down this place is. Grounds are great but rooms are way overdue for facelift. Considering we spent 2nd half of week at a 5 star Westin 3 is a generous comparative rating. Even service was a mixed bag. Staff were generally friendly and helpful but when we arrived there was a used plate and 2 cups outside our door and it was still there next morning except creatures had spread the food around. We phoned to have this removed and eventually it was but we had to phone again to have the fries that had been spread around removed. One positive note is that there are a litany of great restaurants within walking distance. As others have mentioned I think using the term resort in the 21st century and not providing wifi is a contradiction. There are some strong supporting bones to this place so ownership can either build on that to create a much better resort or continue to operate at 3 star level. In either regard we won't be back.

Room Tip: Yes book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We are always working to ensure all of our guests consistently experience high-quality customer service and timely responses, and apologize for the problems you encountered. We very much appreciate your feedback, as it will enable us to make the changes necessary to ensure customer satisfaction in the future. We again apologize for your experience, but thank you for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Address: 7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.