We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottsdale Plaza Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Prescott, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Scottsdale Plaza Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked 2 rooms through Priceline then read the reviews on Trip Advisors and were really concerned. We arrived at the resort and the location was great, the grounds were beautiful, the staff was friendly and honored our request for an interior room with a view of the grounds. The staff at the sports bar were very friendly the food was good for pub fare. We had breakfast and lunch poolside and service was great there too. We decided to stay an additional night and they gladly upgraded us to a 1 bedroom villa, which was very nice and only $35 more per night. It is an older property which means the landscaping was mature and beautiful. The furnishings are a little dated but still clean and well cared for. We putted on the putting greens, which was free and they even gave us a putter and balls at no charge. Yes like most resorts there are fees for the snacks and wet bar but don't eat or drink them if you don't want to. All in all it was a great place to stay, clean and very accommodating, we will definitely stay there again and hope we can still get an awesome rate through Priceline.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. It is our pleasure to provide great service and a well-kept property. We're also glad you enjoyed a few of our amenities including the pool, JD's Sports Lounge, and the putting green. Spring is a beautiful time in Arizona. Thank you again for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    152
    113
    61
    43
See reviews for
79
121
35
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Unique travel experience for us. Stayed at hotel because of event the next night at same location. Stayed in a villa suite,. Nice size, a little dirty. Next night of event stayed in lodge suite. Fabulous room, huge lodge with a baby grand piano, living room, kitchen and bar. Loft area with bedroom & bathroom. Lower master suite has huge jacuzzi tub and sauna. Next three nights stayed in a regular room. Room layout was nicer than the villa suite even though it was smaller. Room service was great. Cleaning up from room service was not good. Used tray sat there for two days. Fitness center was ok. It needs new treadmills. Older property that is beautiful. It seems like they are updating property but not quite there yet.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your stay at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. The Lodge Suites are always a big hit, so we're glad you were able to experience all of our room types during your visit. We are always focused on ways to make guest experiences better. Your input is definitely noted. We appreciate your stay and hope you have the opportunity to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was a nice place but for the money you can get do much more. The rooms were spacious but spares and furniture was a little dated. You could see light under the door when it was closed. The workout room was alright. The food was ok. As mentioned, it was mice but for the money you can do better.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. While we're disappointed to hear your stay did not meet your expectations, we do appreciate your feedback. We will use the information to make future changes and provide a better experience for our guests. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagar, Arizona, United States
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was kind of nervous when Scottsdale Plaza accepted my bid, but I was pleasantly surprised overall at the quality of our stay. Yes, this resort is old, but well cared for, as are several of the resorts in Scottsdale. I don't think they have worn out their usefulness yet! I called ahead and requested a king size bed and room close to pool. The customer service on call was exceptional and my requests were granted upon arrival. Our room was on the bottom floor and faced inside toward court yard. It was quiet and DARK enough to sleep in both mornings of our stay. The bed was comfortable and room was clean....Now, for the negative, the room did smell musty and we found the carpet was damp underneath the wall mounted a/c unit, I had brought a diffuser just in case and handled that problem myself. Also, the hotel did charge an extra fee for internet which I was unaware of, although it might have been on the information card on connecting...I didn't see it, though. Otherwise, the pool area was great and we took full advantage of it with near 80 degree weather in February.

Room Tip: Room facing inside the court yard and facing the north stay pretty dark in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves in excellent customer service, so we are glad the staff showed nothing less. Thank you for the information regarding the A/C unit. We will certainly look into this issue. We appreciate your visit as well as your insight. We hope you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Overall an average stay. Great things to day about the service (outside of the maid), the pool and the grounds. Bad things to say about how we could hear everything the neighbors were discussing and the maid didn't replace used cups or washcloths. I would have been upset if I would have had to pay for the wireless, but luckily I had my company mifi with me. You can tell the rooms are old, things like the bathroom door has been painted a few times.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We regret to hear your visit was less than we strive to provide; however your feedback is very useful. We have had previous comments on the noise level in certain rooms and will use it to make future adjustments to the resort. We also apologize that housekeeping did not provide excellent service. We will follow-up accordingly to ensure any issues such as this do not happen again. Your input is appreciated and hope you have to opportunity to come back for a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

What a complete waste of a good location on a beautiful property. You can NOT call yourself (or convince the International hotel rating system or whatever the liars in question call themselves) a four star hotel with obnoxiously loud window mounted AC / heating units (almost unheard of in 3 star hotels, let alone 4), small rooms, old carpet, slightly oversized twin beds referred to as being Queen-sized, thin walls, and most amazing of all, the LACK OF WINDOW DRAPES THAT DO NOT PROVIDE EVEN A MINIMAL AMOUNT OF PRIVACY (AND, WORST OF ALL) A COMPLETELY INABILITY TO SLEEP IN PAST DAWN (ROOM IS FILLED WITH LIGHT GIVEN THIS POOR EXCUSE FOR WINDOW (MIS) TREATMENTS).

Really, who cares how nice your grass, fountain, lobby and conference rooms are if it is impossible to get a wink of sleep in this feeble excuse for a Scottsdale Resort. I'm surprised local, legitimate, resorts have not petitioned to remove the word RESORT from your name as it diminishes this (exclusive) term beyond reason.

Shame on you Plaza "resort" and shame on those that have colluded in the perpetuation this fantastical four star farce!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
It is extremely unfortunate to see the frustrations and disappointment in your stay at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. We strive to maintain excellence with quality service, cleanliness, and property updates. As stated on all room descriptions, our rooms are furnished with full-size beds. We do apologize for any misunderstandings, but we appreciate your feedback. We hope to use your insight in order to better serve our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The resort was beautiful with plenty of amenities and the staff was very friendly. The food served at our conference was done very well. My only complaint is the mattress used for the rooms were very uncomfortable. Plus I didn't like the shampoo and conditioner, it smelled bad. Also the price of $199 a night was not a good value for the room, you were paying for being at the location and resort. I would compare the room quality to La Quinta or Clarion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. We appreciate your feedback and apologize the room did not meet your expectations. While we work hard to provide excellent service and well-kept grounds, our goal is to provide positive guest experiences both on property and within the rooms. We will use this information in order to make future adjustments at the resort and better serve our guests. Thank you, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Address: 7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#46 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.