We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickled and dimed. That sums up this resort.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Save Saved
You added Scottsdale Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 78 hotels in Scottsdale
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nickled and dimed. That sums up this resort.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My room rate was $169, tax on that was $23.95 (15% is high, but I don't vote in Arizona, and it's easy to soak people who don't live there. So, while that's high, and would make me less likely to go to Arizona if I wasn't on business, the tax is not in the hotel's control).

Let's move on then:
We then have a $17 per day resort fee
a $8 portage charge
a $2 per day maid gratuity
a $12.95 per day internet charge, and
a $2.54 tax on the internet use.

So, my $169 per night room rate balooned to over $244 per night when all the above were added in.

When you read the fine print on the $17 resort fee, that's supposed to cover carrying one's bags. So, why another $8 "porterage charge"? And, while I always tip housekeeping, I hate to be told to do so, and does the maid get to keep ALL of the $2 per day?

Moving on:
I ordered a beer in the bar. Happy hour price was $3.30 including tax. I gave the bartender (NJ name plate) $5. He then moved on to take another couple's drink order, and brought their drinks back. I was still standing by the bar. He looked at me, like, yes? I said, change? he acted, like oh yeah, I forgot. Sure. No tip for you.

The rooms themselves are OK. Spacious enough. Beds could use some updating, and the HVAC system is very noisy (light sleepers will want earplugs).

And, for $12.95 per day, you should expect the internet to work. Not. Very spotty in places.

I HATE these kind of places. The more these places get ratted out the better. If I have a business meeting at a place like this again, I'd find another hotel nearby and drive to the meeting. The Hilton Garden Inn and Holiday Inn Express are much better, have free internet, and at least at the Hilton's I've stayed in, the breakfasts are pretty good too.

Room Tip: Hard to say. Away from Scottsdale Boulevard probably best, as its a very busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
The feedback on your stay is incredibly disappointing to hear. We apologize your needs were not met during your stay. The resort fee covers parking, access to our pools, access to our fitness center, in room coffee, free local calls, incoming faxes and a daily newspaper delivered to your room. No gratuities (porterage or maid) are ever mandatory. However, group room reservations are handled differently than leisure guests. Room rates are contracted individually and vary based on the needs and agreements of the group coordinator. We have also recently upgraded our internet property-wide to resolve any problems with wireless connectivity.

While your feedback was unfortunate, we do appreciate your input and will use it to better serve future guests. Thank you for staying with us at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort, and again, thank you for your follow-up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    145
    108
    56
    39
See reviews for
76
113
32
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I did not stay long so I was unable to enjoy the amenities and spa. However, I had a double queen room that was updated and remodeled, but honestly I thought smelled like a old smoker room. The front desk clerk said it was a non smoking room and it didn't smell like recent smoke, just the old dingy smell. I thought about asking for a room change but didn't want to go all the way back to the front desk and start over. You can find better in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We regret to hear about the odor in your room. We would have been happy to move you, and we appreciate the feedback. We will make sure to document your concerns in order to prevent further experiences such as this in the future. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you have the opportunity to come back for a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A nice place to stay for business meetings etc. They seem to cater more to conferences than a family vacation but it is still pretty nice. I am sure there are fancier places in the Scottsdale area but this is nice for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind remarks. We are definitely known for our group business and meeting space, but we enjoy families as well. Our pools, spa, fitness center, and restaurants are catered toward both family and business travelers. Plus, having a large property gives everyone plenty of space. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group, as I expect most folks do. Property is quite large and spread out; a golf cart drove us to our room and wish they had been around to take us back and forth. Easy to get lost. Rooms were also large but quite dated, though they had INCANDESCENT (yes, you read that right) lights!! The bed in my room sagged in the middle. Nice patio. Very friendly staff, good checkin experience. Our company folks are evenly split between Marriott and Hilton points; neither of us was happy that SP has no affiliation unless you want to go back. The banquet folks did an incredibly good job with the food and banquet service, thank you!

The hotel went to the nickle and dime school of revenue; I ABSOLUTELY HATE IT when the TV always comes on to the Carnival Barker hawking movies at a VERY LOUD volume. Even if turned off for a moment it dumps you back to the "convenient in-room movie channel." PLEASE don't figure we're all chumps who will pay for a movie if you endlessly market for us to press the menu button. A nice tray of snacks in the room but no thanks for a $3 pack of gum or another $3 if you want better coffee. If you're thirsty, the $6 bottle of water beckons ... or if you want a lip balm or lotion there's a convenient package there for another $10. Thank goodnes the mini-bar was locked.

Room Tip: Get something close to the convention center if you have a business meeting ... take comfortable sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
We regret to hear you did not have a more enjoyable experience with us. Our bellman are definitely available throughout your entire stay to provide transportation to all property amenities. We apologize if that was not communicated to you. We do pride ourselves in being a locally owned and operated resort, so unfortunately we do not have a corporate affiliate. However, we hope to reward our guests by providing the Plaza Preferred Program with a valuable point system. Thankfully our staff provided you with the excellent service our guests deserve. We will take all of your concerns and feedback into consideration. Thank you again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson,az
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The rooms are old and dingy. Beds need to be replaced. They sag in the middle. Rooms and bathrooms need a facelift. Walls are so thin that i could hear entire conversations. In fairness, the staff I dealt with we're very pleasant. I got the room for a deal with Priceline and still feel I paid too much. Not worth more than $100. Oh, there is a resort fee of $17' too.

If you are on a budget and can get a good deal, just know what you are getting before you go ahead and book. It is rated 4 stars on Priceline. There's no way that this is 4 star property.

I will not return or recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We definitely work hard to provide quality customer service, so we are thankful our staff provided you with such. We are disappointed you did not have a more enjoyable experience with us at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort, but we will document your concerns in order to make future adjustments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place with great staff. The food here is very good as I was here for a convention and they feed us several meals and they were all good. I don't care for the location as there is not much near by if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Great feedback, Dave. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your input. We appreciate the positive remarks and will pass them on to our staff. We hope you'll come back soon and stay with us at your leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We just stayed 3 nights at the executive lodge on the property. The accommodations were great--but what really sets this hotel apart are the grounds. Everything was so pristine, the flowers were beautiful, the grass green and well kept, the pool was a real treat. We loved taking a whirlpool and playing volleyball in the pool. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Wow. What a great review! Thank you for your feedback and your positive thoughts on our property. With our own in-house landscape team, we are able to keep the grounds immaculate and maintain beautiful grass and bloom all year long. We're glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Address: 7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#47 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.