We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the old town charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Scottsdale Plaza Resort to your Saves list
Scottsdale Plaza Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 78 Hotels in Scottsdale
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Loved the old town charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Loved the 2 story casitas. We went in July and the deals were amazing. Could not beat the deals they offer in summer. The grounds were well-maintained. The cleaning people and groundspeople were extremely pleasant. The rooms were very adequate and clean. The restaurant for breakfast was awesome and the pool bar/restaurant was great. Loved it and can't wait to return. So relaxing. LOOOVE old town Scottsdale!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We appreciate your stay at Scottsdale Plaza Resort. The 2-story Casitas are a secret gem with spacious home-like comfort. Summer is definitely a great time to visit and take advantage of our property. Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    167
    138
    67
    48
See reviews for
88
139
36
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Only stayed one night, but liked it well enough to stay longer or return. Helpful staff. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Bed was very comfortable. Resort is spread out, quiet. It is an older property, but nicely maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your stay here at Scottsdale Plaza Resort. Our staff is responsible for keeping the guests happy, so we greatly appreciate the positive feedback. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for a conference. I see "resort" in the title of the hotel but I didn't get that resort feel during my stay. It's located off a busy main street. The hotel and restaurant are adjacent to one another but not convenient when walking especially if your room is on the opposite side of the property.

Overall, hats off to great staff. They were very pleasant and helpful. I agree with other reviewers that items here are pricy. There is no refridgerator or microwave in the rooms. You can rent one. If all are out, then they can clear out the mini bar for a fee. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was a bit outdated with dim lighting. They have a variety of pools to choose from but the smaller pools were quiet. The landscaping is very well maintained with clean pools and tennis courts. You have an opportunity to see a jack rabbit at nearly every turn.

Room Tip: If looking for convenience in room selection, choose a ground floor so it's easily accessible to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at Scottsdale Plaza Resort. SInce our property is located close to the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, we do sacrifice complete seclusion for convenience. As you noted, we have an extremely large property which helps keep the resort feel. We pay extremely close attention to detail in cleanliness and maintenance, so we appreciate your positive feedback on the grounds and rooms. We appreciate your feedback and hope you choose to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night as my husband had been here years ago for a few corporate conferences. Positives-beautiful, well kept grounds, a few nice views, bar staff friendly though service somewhat slow. Food average. Rooms clean but outdated. They have coffee packets that...they will charge you for! Internet they tried to charge us for one night every time we signed in, $12.95, agreed to ONLY charge us for two times. We are expats living in Switzerland but from this area. We also chose this hotel to be close to family. Trust me there are better options in Scottsdale and The Valley. Check my other reviews and you will see that I rate higher on average... This was just not for us.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We appreciate you choosing Scottsdale Plaza Resort and hope you enjoyed your time back in Scottsdale. While we do offer complimentary coffee packets in the room, we have upgraded Starbucks coffee for a charge. The internet is $12.95 per day, and we apologize if there was any inconvenience or miscommunication during your stay. We take great pride in the quality of our property and do hope you will choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

I am writing this review at McDonalds as they give me free Internet with my cup of coffee...The Plaza gives you a Newspaper and charge you 12.95 for internet per day.
Hotel and room is clean..Honestly to far to walk from your car to the room..There is plenty of help, to help you with there hand out. Oh well...This is the last night of a month long trip...I'd rather stay at a Clean Best Western with Free Internet, and a Simmons Mattress.

Room Tip: Great Hotel but if you can afford the nickle and diming you to death...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort! Thank you for the feedback regarding Internet access. We’re excited to let you know that you can receive free in-room Internet access when you book through Facebook. We hope that you consider staying with us again and encourage you to book on that channel to receive complimentary Wi-Fi during your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Yup. Me too. I have never had a problem with naming my price on Priceline because I always check out all of the places they are calling "4 star". I look at the cheapest one (there's always one $80 one hidden in there with all of the $300 ones) and if I can live with it, I go for it. In this case, I failed to see the Scottsdale Plaza as one of the options, so when we ended up there and I saw all the bad reviews I freaked out a bit.

GOOD NEWS: It is actually very nice and comfortable. Huge (built more for conferences than intimate holidays, I would say), pretty grounds like everyone says, cute little bunnies at sunset, and excellent service.

BUT HERE'S THE IMPORTANT TRICK: I kept reading about the annoying AC units that go on and off all night, and I really, really hate that. I can put up with a little dirt, some lackluster service, and plenty of other indignities, but a loud, chugging air device that will keep me up all night is a deal-breaker. So I called and upgraded to a suite for only $25 more than the $80ish we had already paid to Priceline, and it was great. Quiet, big, central AC, the whole deal. Yes, it's silly that they don't have free wi-fi, but we were only there for a night.

If you need a good, affordable stop-over place in Scottsdale, go for it. If you are planning a family vacation, I'd say this place feels more corporate than resort-y, but it's a perfectly respectable place.

Room Tip: If you hate loud AC units, upgrade to a suite for just $25 more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Scottsdale Plaza Resort! Thank you for the feedback regarding the air conditioning units and we hope you enjoyed your stay in your upgraded suite. We have recently made improvements across the entire resort with a $3 million renovation and we hope our future guests will be pleased with the new changes. We hope to see you again next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice and clean, but wouldn't really call it a resort. We got it off priceline. Do online to get a decent rate. Did not use spa or eat breakfast there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdaleplaza, General Manager at Scottsdale Plaza Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks for staying at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort. We hope to see you again, next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scottsdale Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Plaza Resort

Address: 7200 North Scottsdale Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85253
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scottsdale Plaza Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Scottsdale Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Plaza Hotel Paradise Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scottsdale Plaza Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.