We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Monarch

Cafe Monarch
6934 E 1st Ave, Ste 102, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
+1 480-970-7682
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Monarch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $65 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Monarch, in Scottsdale, Arizona, offers contemporary American cuisine in a fine dining, ultra-romantic setting. Located in Old Town Scottsdale, footsteps from the Valley Ho Hotel, Cafe Monarch is locally owned and family operated. Monarch offers guests a seasonal, chef-inspired 4-course prix fixe menu, which changes every week. Quaint, charm, romance and warmth surrounds this true foodie destination. Cafe Monarch, is especially popular for special occasions. Its candlelit courtyard is surrounded with vines, lanterns and bubbling fountains, which makes for a very romantic experience. Cafe Monarch is open for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 5:30pm. Cafe Monarch is owned/operated by the Lewkowicz family. DUE TO THE HIGH DEMAND FOR OUTDOOR SEATING WE CANNOT GUARANTEE OR RESERVE COURTYARD SEATING. WE WILL DO OUR VERY BEST TO ACCOMMODATE REQUESTS WHEN POSSIBLE. THANKS FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING!
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Old Town Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our first visit to Café Monarch and we were very impressed. We asked for a table outside, and even though it was a hot day, it had cooled off enough to be comfortable in the courtyard. The amuse bouche was a lobster-filled fried squash blossom - light but excellent flavor. The salad course was simple, but very fresh with an excellent dressing. We both had the lamb which was done to perfection. The dessert was simple but perfect. We did opt for the wine pairings, which at $25 each was a good value - they paired the wines very nicely with the salad entre and dessert. The service was very good - present without hovering. We were not rushed at all, even though we were the last couple to leave the restaurant at 10:00 pm. we will definitely go again

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    21
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had a great meal and a wonderful experience at Cafe Monarch. The courtyard is probably the most attractive location we ate in during a week of fine dining. The service staff was knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. The meal was outstanding, a creative mix of tantalizing flavors. Two of us had the steak and two had the fish, both were excellent. One of the owners stopped by to ask if everything was satisfactory, and of course it was. As we were departing, they invited us into the kitchen where we met the chef and another owner. Cafe Monarch is on our "must return" list for the next time we're in Phoenix.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Magnificient!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Fabulous ambiance and food with attentive service at the Cafe Monarch. The restaurant itself is quaint and romantic. We were a little skeptical about the set menu but it was such a non issue. The food was amazing with beautiful presentation. We absolutely loved it!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best food and atmosphere in Scottsdale Oldtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We picked this small restaurant after reading the very favorable online reviews. We were not disappointed. The menu is limited to two fixed price entree offerings, which change weekly. This is done because of the very small kitchen. The other three courses are common to both entrees, so may not seem to be a "perfect fit" at first, However, they are so well thought-out that we found this was no handicap, no matter which entree was selected. The offerings the week we dined there were ribeye steak and bluefin tuna. We opted for the ribeye. It was the best that I have ever eaten, and was perfectly prepared to our individual "doneness" levels. Service was impeccable, with one of the owners actually delivering courses to us. The backup wait staff was excellent, as well. When the owner/manager checked back with us, as he did frequently (but not intrusively), I commented that my Caesar salad had a slight "grittiness" of the Romaine lettuce in it. He insisted on whisking it away and bringing me a replacement. This was done expediciously, and without a lot of fuss. The replacement was perfect, as was my wife's original salad. Very impressive. The outside garden patio was a wonderful place to dine, very cozy, and yet not at all cramped. The landscaping greenery, which surrounds with vines somewhat curving up and over the edges of the space, and all the other tasteful accutrements makes this like an "outdoor room". In temperate weather, this is an excellent place to dine. Prices are very reasonable, considering food, service, and atmosphere. The wine selection is not extensive, but they have picked some excellent offerings which cover most of the bases on varietals. Wine prices are also completely reasonable. We will eagerly return, next time we're in Scottsdale.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Delicious prefixed dinner, great staff, great ambiance, cool drink menu and amazing food. Made for a great date night... The garden patio was cozy and with a Parisian decor and feel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Monarch also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cafe Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Monarch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.