We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word: AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Monarch

Cafe Monarch
6934 E 1st Ave, Ste 102, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4329
+1 480-970-7682
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Monarch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 1,013 restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Cafe Monarch creates a dining experience unmatched in Arizona. Surrounded by a candle lit courtyard and 2 gorgeous dining rooms, guests enjoy a menu filled with fresh, organic, all-natural seasonal ingredients. Quaint, charm, romance and warmth surrounds this true foodie destination. Cafe Monarch offers guests a 4 course menu based on seasonal, local and organic offerings for $55 per person. Monarch's in-house sommelier pairs each course with the perfect wine, which you have the option to experience as well. Upon reservation please specify if you have any food allergies and/or dietary restrictions. Cafe Monarch will accomodate any allergies or dietary restrictions to ensure every guest can enjoy every course. Reservations are highly recommended. .Trip Advisors Certificate of Excellence 2013 ranked #3 of 903 restaurants in scottsdaleLocal Eats Award under category "Best restaurants in America""Cafe Monarch is like no other restaurant in town, which is precisely its appeal" - AZCE
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“one word: AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband took me to Cafe Monarch for my birthday and it was simply amazing, Make sure to reserve well in advance. He made a reservation weeks earlier. honestly, he had heard the great reviews of the place and wanted to ensure I had a nice birthday. We took a bottle of our favourite wine and enjoyed a beautiful evening with delicious food and a beautiful setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    93
    11
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not your average dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautiful little gem in downtown Scottsdale. Chef owned and operated, this place is a Don't Miss. Though cash only and reservations required, don't let the need to plan ahead turn you off. The set menu has been fabulous each time I've gone (4) and, unlike many places, each entree has been a step above the rest. Bring your own wine and get ready for a wonderful dining experience!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Our go to Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Book early as this popular gem, gets booked weeks in advance. We have consistently enjoyed our dining experience at Cafe Monarch. Chef Chris is dedicated to providing a unique dining experience. We had a sweet start to our meal with Crostini, roasted peppers, with scallions, tomato, and organic greens. It was delightful. We had Seabass as a main course. It was a very generous portion. It was served on a spinach bed, with black rice and topped with asparagus and a slight chile oil. Done to perfection. We finished with puff pastry, with Brie and julienne apple.
BYOB with a $10.00 corkage fee, is just fine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“cozy, romantic, delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

an AMAZING experience. my bf knew the owner and i kept nagging him about making reservations and we finally did on valentine weekend and it was an AMAZING experience. the design aesthetic is very rustic european and it is an escape when you're inside with the sights and smells. everything has so much detail and thought put into it. Chris did a FANTASTIC job and he has amazing vision. His menu changes daily and consists of 3 course of appetizer, entree, dessert. all perfectly matched. we didnt have alcohol but we had their hibiscus and jasmine iced teas which were perfectly light and a nice take on plain water. service was friendly and attentive. i could come here all the time if i could afford it. thanks so much for one of the most romantic dinners of my life.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Amazing!! I made a reservation about a month in advance for the day after Valentine's Day. Chef Chris made a note that I dislike mushrooms. BYOB is a plus, only $10 for the corking fee. The back patio is gorgeous. The chandeliers, candles and hanging vines create a romantic atmostphere. As other reviewers have mentioned, the tables for two are quite small. This does, however, make the experience pleasantly intimate. The staff is personable and kind. Chris did make it out to our table to greet us and was very nice. The food was excellent, a steal for a $45 3-course prix-fixe menu. The options of the night were sea-bass and chicken, both outstanding and really generous portions. I would very highly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Monarch also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cafe Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Monarch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.