We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic dining experience you must not miss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Monarch

Cafe Monarch
6934 E 1st Ave, Ste 102, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
+1 480-970-7682
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Monarch is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 963 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $65 - $100
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Cafe Monarch, in Scottsdale, Arizona, offers contemporary American cuisine in a fine dining, ultra-romantic setting. Located in Old Town Scottsdale, footsteps from the Valley Ho Hotel, Cafe Monarch is locally owned and family operated. Monarch offers guests a seasonal, chef-inspired 4-course prix fixe menu, which changes every week. Quaint, charm, romance and warmth surrounds this true foodie destination. Cafe Monarch, is especially popular for special occasions. Its candlelit courtyard is surrounded with vines, lanterns and bubbling fountains, which makes for a very romantic experience. Cafe Monarch is open for dinner Tuesday-Saturday at 5:30pm. Cafe Monarch is owned/operated by the Lewkowicz family. DUE TO THE HIGH DEMAND FOR OUTDOOR SEATING WE CANNOT GUARANTEE OR RESERVE COURTYARD SEATING. WE WILL DO OUR VERY BEST TO ACCOMMODATE REQUESTS WHEN POSSIBLE. THANKS FOR YOUR UNDERSTANDING!
London, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A fantastic dining experience you must not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant is a do not miss in down town Scottsdale, boasting a fabulous courtyard (in the evening lit up with candles and chandeliers) or if you prefer quaint dining inside. You need to bring your own wine, $10 corkage, and menu for lunch is approx. $13 per entree, first come first serve no reservations. The dinner is a pre fix for $45, and the chef prepares the same meal for everyone, you need to let him know when booking your reservation of any allergies or food dishes you dislike, which he will readily accomodate, reservations only. The meal plan changes everyday for lunch and dinner. We had lunch there today, Jennifer was our waitress, so accommodating, lots of charm and wit, great service. Then the owner/chef came out to chat with us, another wonderful experience. He used to work for the film producer of the sitcom Frazer, lots of stories to tell I am sure. Only open from Thursday to Saturday for lunch and dinner, and Sunday Brunch. Call at least two to three weeks ahead for dinner reservations. Enjoy
ML and F

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    21
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We chose this restaurant based on Trip Advisor reviews and were so glad we did. It was like stepping into a little corner of heaven. We were in town for a girls' weekend and felt pampered and indulged. Each lunch was incredible (I discovered I love beets after hating them for 44 years) and the decor was charming. If you only eat one meal in Scottsdale, make sure it's here!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dr. Jekyll or Mr. Hyde”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We looked forward to our evening at Cafe Monarch as part of our vacation to Arizona based on the outstanding reviews on Trip Advisor. Chef and owner, Christopher, could not have been nicer over the phone. After taking into consideration our parties food allergies, intolerances, and preferences, he designed a 3-course menu (1 appetizer, choice of 2 entrees, and 1 dessert). The restaurant is price fixe, cash only, and BYO. We did not meet the chef/owner since we were seated in the north dining room. The room was spacious, allowing for private conversation, and overlooked a lovely courtyard. Two appetizers (split pea soup with lemon and roasted beet with goat cheese and crostini) were presented that evening and all courses were timed far enough apart to allow for a relaxed, dining experience.

When our entrees arrived (ancho chile short ribs and garlic -herb shrimp over polenta), all three shrimp dishes were cool. Our server took the dishes back to the kitchen. 10 minutes later, a man we did not know burst into the dining room ranting in a loud voice and insisted that the dishes had to be hot. We were quite taken aback by this rude behavior and assumed it was the chef/owner although he never introduced himself. The shrimp dishes were returned to us in a few minutes at an appropriate temperature. Dinner ended uneventfully with dessert (baked pear with blueberries and pistachios with a side of chocolate ganache). When the bill arrived, $10 has been deducted from each shrimp dish. Although unnecessary, we told our server it was certainly appreciated.

When I returned home from vacation, Chef Christopher had left a lengthy tirade on my answering machine erroneously accusing me of a poor review on TripAdvisor (which I had not written). Since the restaurant does not have email, I wrote a letter to Christopher saying I would hold off on my review until I received an apology for his arrogant and inappropriate behavior. I received a prompt and humble apology via email.

It is obvious that, as a chef, Christopher is passionate about his food. As an owner in the restaurant business, however, resolving small problems by respecting patrons is equally important. I would recommend Cafe Monarch for its unique dining experience and creative dishes. I hope that when you go Dr. Jekyll appears instead of Mr. Hyde.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great first meal in Scottsdale, AZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

After an almost 4 hour flight from Atlanta and starving for a great meal we found Cafe Monarch to be outstanding. We were greeted by the host/ server as we walked up to the entrance of the restaurant. He informed us the menu was posted in chalk around the door which was really cool. We asked for his recommendation and followed his advice. We had his two favorites, the curry chicken salad and salmon salad and they were over the top delicious. Best lunch ever! We noticed a sign in the window that said; “Sorry, we are booked for the rest of May for dinner”. That should tell you something.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Off night?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

It sounds like I will be adding to the off reviews for the February 17. I really, really wanted to love this place. We consider ourselves to be "foodies" and after the excellent reviews, we thought this would be stellar. Appetizers were fine (pea soup and beet salad), the entrees were humdrum - ribs and shrimp with polenta. The dessert was pretty poor - poached pear that was poached in much too much water. Came out watery, and still a bit hard.

The servers were excellent, although I felt bad for them as they were constantly chastiesed by the chef. The dining rooms are wonderfully decorated and the ambience is unique.

We are willing to give this another try based on the great reviews.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Monarch also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Cafe Monarch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Monarch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.