We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Luxury Western Lodging - Great Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sasabe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch
Save
You added Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   1 West La Osa Ranch Rd, Sasabe, AZ 85633   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sasabe
Scottsdale, AZ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic Luxury Western Lodging - Great Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I had a chance to have a break from the kids last spring while mom and dad were out visiting us in Scottsdale. We had a fantastic time. I am not a rider (my wife is), but the wranglers were wonderful and I really enjoyed riding. The meals are "foodie" heaven. I wish I could eat more. The staff was great. The rooms and the Hacienda are beautifully decorated. Everyone looked forward to when the bar opened for the wonderful Margaritas. Unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Ask Veronic for the room she would recommend for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    12
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
14
46
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My sisters and I just had the best long weekend at the ranch. Everything was included: three meals per day, horse back riding, a great pool, a wonderful service. The owners, Richard and Veronica, were great to talk with and when time permitted came and visited with us. They have created an place where people of all nationalities gather and get to know each other. We had a cookout and bonfire one night. Thank you for creating such a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Rancho de la Osa has been a guest ranch since 1920. It is, very simply, a treasure which you should not miss if you love the west and want to experience an unspoiled area of the high Sonoran desert at an authentic hacienda rich with centuries of Mexican and American history.

We spent five days there in early March and wished it could have been much longer. Riding is a main activity here. With over 20 horses and wonderfully patient, knowledgeable wranglers, there is the opportunity to ride the trails through the hills and washes of the desert for up to 4 hours a day. Or if you’d rather, there are many paths for hiking in the desert. The pool and hot tub feel great after both activities!

Every meal is announced by the ringing of the old mission bell. Each was delicious and served family style in the hacienda dining room with its incredibly long and beautiful table, or on the patio for lunch. The menu was varied and the food was always plentiful.

The rooms and bathrooms are extremely comfortable while maintaining the feel of the ranch. Rooms have their own fireplaces with always a ready supply of wood. Each room has been redone by the owners in the vibrant colors, paintings and patterns of La Osa’s western and Mexican heritage. There are no phones, tvs or internet connection in the rooms, although there is internet accessibility in the Cantina, where guests gather for cocktails before dinner. Cell phone reception is spotty. But that’s the point. Here we could get away and enjoy the absolute peace of the land, the animals, the stars, the life. It is THE place to relax and recharge or to work without distraction….which is something many political figures and other well known people discovered years ago. Their pictures and their roles in history can be seen in the hacienda.

The owners and every member of the staff were unfailingly helpful, friendly and welcoming. Very quickly they made us, and all the guests we met, feel at home. Veronica and Richard have owned and managed the ranch for 16 years. But like La Osa’s owners many years ago,they don't just run the ranch, they love it. This we could feel and see in the work they have done on it. This makes a special difference and is another reason why, if you miss this ranch, we think you have missed a wonderful and unique place.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great experience was had with extremely caring staff from proprietors to servers. Gourmet breakfast, lunch, and dinners were outstanding. Although isolated and extremely close to border, ambiance of ranch was extremely relaxing with opportunity to separate oneself from the anxieties of business / workplace. Wranglers were really outstanding; particularly patient with guest lack of horseback riding experience but also sensitve to allowing each rider to find their own comfort level. Everyone I interacted with had very postive and accomodating attitude towards
satisfying guests. Only recommedation is that staff take a more proactive attitude towards alerting guests to addtiional fee for beer / alcohol (very steep $). All in all, an outstanding experience which I would not hesitate to recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here two days as part of a bike tour with Sojourn. At first I was concerned about the remote location but that added to the experience. The close proximity to the border made for some interesting stories. The food was very good and the hospitality was terrific. Rooms were comfortable. The history of the place is quite interesting--check out the albums in the lounge area. I suspect the horses are really pack animals, but this is probably best for most inexperienced riders. The desert is fascinating. Warning--cell phones don't work well here BUT there is free long distance available in the lounge.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Hi …
Richard & Veronica, Robyn, Carol, Ting, Shawn, Jeremy, Sean, and France!
We wanted to thank you all for a Thanksgiving Dinner that had a bit of Southwestern flavor we will never forget…
Our Room was perfect…from the starlit sky to the cozy bed and the romantic fire in the fireplace…
During our horseback rides, you’re Wranglers; Jeremy & France shared many historic stores about the history of the ranch and the well-known guests who stayed at the there…..…Who needs TV???
Each meal is rated Five Star in our book…I don’t know how you do it…you always accommodate everyone’s likes and dis-likes…
Sometimes the hustle and bustle of life & work becomes simply overwhelming and we are not even aware that has taken us over; every day seems the same…. your ranch helps us realize we need ADVENTURE… you offer the atmosphere for us to reconnect with life and each other... to step outside our daily routine and remember what adventure is.
The old Western movies captured the imaginations of many people for years…and experiencing that world first hand is even more captivating…So we tell everyone we know that when you sit down to plan your next vacation, consider visiting Rancho De La Osa instead of just lying on a beach somewhere….take a step outside the box and experience a real ADVENTURE that you will remember for the rest of your life….
Veronica, on our first visit we were seeking complete privacy in a romantic and historic setting and were Married at your ranch with you and Richard as our witnesses…We wanted to let you know that after our second visit we realized that we loved the area so much we bought a small ranch nearby! Looking forward to seeing you soon!
Thanks,
D & D~

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Rancho De La Osa came as a referral to the two of us as the perfect get away. We work long hours in very stressful situations and needed a place that would offer a balance of complete down time and activities should we desire...along with great food. It was the BEST referral we could have ever hoped for. We LOVED it!! We loved the restful atmosphere, the welcoming and colorful decor, the thoughtful service, the friendliness of all the staff and owners alike, the hiking and horse back riding in the fresh air.. it was all so wonderful. We're history buffs too, so learning about the history of the ranch and of the area, complete with photos on every wall was fascinating. The library with books and DVDs that guests could take to their own rooms was a real nice touch. And although I hate to say it, it was good to have internet access in the cantina as I did need to sneak away to check a couple things over the weekend. Their rooms are so beautifully decorated with huge comfortable beds and all types of antiques. We truly enjoyed meeting the other guests over our 4 night/3 day stay. Such a wide variety of people with such interesting backgrounds coming and going on their own vacations. And truth be told, I was pleased that not all the rooms were full. With only a few couples there it really allowed us a chance for conversation when we wanted and quiet when we didn't. We were also very impressed by the intern program that the owners Veronica and Richard were running. They had staff from across the world, from the USA to Malaysia to South America and beyond. Truly a fun and global flavor. And, the staff! They really went above and beyond. For example, I had anticipated much cooler weather and it ended up being very warm. The female wrangler, the approximate same size as I am, generously and spontaneously loaned me one of her shirts to ride in. I was so grateful that I didn't have to sweat it out on horse back under the hot sun in my wool sweater. That generous giving from the heart is not something one encounters often. It was like being with family. All in all it was everything we hoped for and more. We left feeling much more peaceful than when we arrived. I would highly recommend this experience to anyone. Having said that, this is a rustic historic country retreat. All the amenities are in place but it is not for someone who's looking for a "city" or "commercialized" adventure. Enjoy!

Room Tip: We had a two room suite with a fireplace in one of the rooms. It was adorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch

Address: 1 West La Osa Ranch Rd, Sasabe, AZ 85633
Location: United States > Arizona > Sasabe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sasabe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the late 1600's, the fertile Altar Valley was settled by Spanish Jesuits. Father Eusebio Francisco Kino and his followers built a mission outpost on what is now our ranch. Still standing and in use, this rare historic adobe structure is considered to be the oldest building in Arizona. Today it serves as a peaceful gathering place for guests to mingle and relax. Rancho De La Osa or 'Ranch of the She Bear' is one of the last great Spanish Haciendas still standing in America. In 1921 Louisa Wade Wetherill, who is still considered one of the foremost Navajo historians, came south looking for a lost tribe of Navajos. She never found them, but she started Hacienda De La Osa Guest Ranch on Thanksgiving Day, 1924. We are a private, intimate Guest Ranch, with 18 Territorial-style guest rooms. Each guest room has a private bath and most have a wood-burning fireplace. All guests are within a short stroll to the pool, hot tub, hiking, Wildlife Refuge and corrals. Enjoy Southwestern dining in our romantic, historic hacienda dining room, secluded outdoor courtyard or under the stars at a cookout! We have a Cantina with full liquor license and carry an extensive wine list, premium tequilas and a margarita you won't soon forget! You will enjoy choice cuts of meat, innovative entrees, fresh, crisp greens and vegetables and decadent desserts. We are happy to cook vegetarian or low fat--just let us know before you arrive. Rancho De La Osa is a truly special place that rejuvenates the spirit and invigorates the soul. We hope you will visit soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho De La Osa Guest Ranch Hotel Sasabe
Rancho De La Osa Hotel
Rancho De La Osa Guest Ranch Arizona/Sasabe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rancho de la Osa Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.