We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best B and Bs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Down By The River Bed And Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint David
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Down By The River Bed And Breakfast
Save
You added Down By The River Bed And Breakfast to your Saves list
2255 Efken Place, PO Box 387, Saint David, AZ 85630   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Saint David B&B and Inns
Queen Creek, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the Best B and Bs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just spent 2 nights in this delightful place. It is a little off the beaten path but well worth the trip. The building - inside and out - is beautifully done. The rooms are large and comfortable and the décor an endless source of delight. Mike and Angie are wonderful hosts and even better cooks! Breakfast was a treat both mornings both for content and conversation! If you have a chance to stay here, don't pass it by. We definitely plan on going back - hopefully in the Fall so we can enjoy the inviting outdoor spaces. Thank you to the Hugs for a wonderful break!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Patti we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to our B and B. hope to see you again in the future and we will be working hard to keep our standards high.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

You must stay here! You will not regret it and you will thank your lucky stars you came here! The rooms are gorgeous with beautiful decor. The beds are super comfy and the rooms are spotless. The breakfasts are scrumptious, with a rotating menu (nothing boring here) and are more than you could ask for! Just a few things we had...soufflé, strawberry crepes, quiche, peach smoothies (all made from scratch!!!!!) I'm salivating just thinking about it!!! The owners know hospitality and what they're doing! We had an amazing time! Thank you so much Down by the River!!! I hope we get to go back! Much better than any hotel! If I could give more stars I would!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Wow thanks for that wonderful review. We work hard and make our b and b a great choice for a stay in Cochise County. It is nice to see that our efforts have impressed a guest to this degree. Thanks for choosing us for your lodging while visiting Southeastern Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were thrilled with the accommodations and warm hospitality at this delightful B & B. Rooms were spotless, beds wonderful, and themes unique. Hosts Mike and Angie were down to earth and so helpful with suggestions of activities and road directions to maximize our time. Our mornings were started with a 7am pot of coffee waiting, an 8am fruit smoothie followed by a gourmet breakfast at 8:30. This ended up being our energy meal of the day! We hope to return on another 3 day week-end to pick up with adventures missed. Thank you Mike and Angie! Lynn Meyer Aurora, Colorado

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Lynn thanks for bring the group. When you want to come back and enjoy the warm Arizona sunshine we will be here with the lights on. Thanks for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hosts' have a thoughtful vision not only in the construction of the B&B but in the operation. The directions to the property are accurate - once you get there the details in the rooms, the services, and the common areas are pleasant. Mike and Angie are top notch hosts and accommodate their visitors like special guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope to see you again and we will greet you as an old friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had visited DBTR by myself over a year ago, and always wanted to go back. This time, my husband was with me, and he loved it as much as I did.

We were part of a "full house" over New Year's Eve. We had not met any of the other couples before; all of the others were friends from Mike and Angie's past. We never felt like outsiders, and are so pleased to have met the other couples!

We spent one evening at the San Pedro Valley Observatory with an astronomer. It was an awesome experience. Then we did some other sightseeing (the monastery, the Coronado vineyards) on another free day. There is plenty to do, but no rush to do it when you're Down By The River.

Some people have commented on the garden gnomes. I must say that, as a HUGE "Harry Potter" geek, I felt like I was walking in the Weasley family's garden, and I loved it.

Keep a light on for us, Mike and Angie . . . we'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Every year we do New Years Eve for our guests that stay with us. Sometimes we have old friend here and other times we don't but no matter what we believe that everyone that comes here has had the chance to make new friends and memories. I am sure we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Everything about our stay was great, including gracious hosts and great accommodations, breakfast, atmosphere, and surrounding setting. Definitely worth the short drive from the interstate to get "off the beaten path".

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again someday so you can make new memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely accommodations, excellent hosts, great breakfast, and, best of all, a good set of directions to find this off-the-beaten-path site !!! The rooms are lovely, full of lovely decor, and themed to the Southwest. Angie and Mike are full of information and make their guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBTRBAB, Owner at Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Susan C we were glad that you found us off the beaten path. Our seclusion makes us one of those places people want to find even though we are close to everything.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Down By The River Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Down By The River Bed And Breakfast

Address: 2255 Efken Place, PO Box 387, Saint David, AZ 85630
Location: United States > Arizona > Saint David
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Down By The River B and B. The Lodging Hub of Cochise County, is located at the northern end of the San Pedro River National Riparian Conservation Area, between Benson and Tombstone. The area is one of the best in the United States for migratory bird watching with more than 400 species migrating through the area in a years time. We are minutes from Tombstone and Kartchner Caverns, a newly opened wet cave system located in Benson AZ. The property consists of 4 guest rooms set on 15 acres abutting the San Pedro River, the last free flowing river in Arizona. The mountain views and tree lined river views give the B and B a romantic quality seldom found in the Arizona Desert areas. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Down By The River Bed And Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.