We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Quality Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   420 E. Hwy 70, Safford, AZ 85546   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Safford
Vancouver
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than adequate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

One thing to know about Safford is that there is 2 copper mines in the area, and thus the hotels are 'full' with construction workers. You are lucky to get a walk in room (make a reservation). They have driven up the local hotel prices, and the hotels do not provide the same accommodating services as in other small towns because they don't have to. The nonsmoking rooms have often been smoked in (inconsiderate out-of-town workers) for example.
The room was large, clean, quiet, more pricey than we have been paying, and it's just instant coffee for us this morning. The only nonsmoking room we could get in town on a Wed night. We were on the ground floor at the back of the property, so not noisy. They have a complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we were happy to provide accommodations for you during your stay. You are correct that very oftern in hotels guests do smoke in non-smoking rooms. We have a deep cleaning policy in place when that happens to try and ensure the next guest will not be inconvenience and we do have a damage charge for when that happens. We are very proud of our award winning housekeeping staff and were happy to see that you noticed. Your comments regarding that will be passed on to our staff. Would love the opportunity to discuss the accommodating services that you felt were lacking as we offer: free full hot breakfast with expanded hours, free lobby coffee and tea, cookies at the desk at 5 p.m., coplimentary weekday paper, guest laundry, indoor pool, saunas and hot tub, exercise room, in room refrigerators, in room blow dryers, in room coffee, free local calls, free Wi-Fi, HBO. We did used to provide same day valet services, however the only drycleaner in town closed, so this service is no longer available. If you would like to let me know what we could do to make your next stay more enjoyable please email me at tammy_mayhew@visitsafford.com. Again thank you for your time and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
10
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I come here on a regular basis and is it always nice and clean and always friendly staff.
The have inside and outside rooms. I travel alone and prefer the inside rooms... If I was with my family I wild want the outside rooms

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you choosing your Quality Inn & Suites for your stay in Safford and for taking the time to provide us with your comments and feedback. Like you many people like the outdoor access of the casita rooms and many like having the close access to breakfast and the pool for the rooms in the main building. Again thank you for your time and patronage and we hope to be able to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Staying at the Quality Inn Safford on business. Very friendly and accomodating staff. Room is somewhat dated but clean and comfortable. I've been there for a couple weeks now and everything I need for an extended stay is available (microwave/fridge). Plus the Manor House is right across the street. No need to worry about driving after you have a beer or two.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we appreciate you choosing our facility for your recent stay in Safford. Your comments will be shared with our staff, as they strive to meet or exceed our customers needs and expectations. Both your time and patronage are appreciated. Please have a safe trip wherever you go!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

A very clean hotel that also feels very new (or newly renovated). Spacious rooms, proper bathroom with all the toiletries one needs (and supposedly anything you need extra at no charge at the reception - didn't try that though). Unfortunately no soundproofing thus neighboring conversations, slamming doors on the hallway, bathtubs and even windsounds on the roof are audible.
Good location very close to the center of Safford, walking distance to several good restaurants - no necessity to go to the below-average restaurant across the street.
Free breakfast with many choices especially on the eggs & meat side of things, unfortunately 100% disposable everything, and a lack of fresh products.
WLAN worked like a charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for choosing your Quality Inn & Suites during your recent stay and for taking the time to provide us with your comments and feedback. We were pleased to see that the accommodations were to your liking and apologize for any inconvenience regarding the noise. We wish that we could offer real plates and silverware for breakfast, however, we are restricted by our franchise. The breakfast crew was pleased to hear that you enjoyed their efforts. The MH acoss the street was interested to know anythign they could do differently to improve your experience there. Please feel free to email at gm@visitsafford.com if you would like to comment further so I can pass it on to them. Again thank you for your time and patronage. We hope to be able to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was okay on the outside. Stayed there because we were in Safford for work. Once inside the desk clerk was friendly and helpful. However...The lobby had cookie crumbs all over the floor, same ones for 2 days. The elevator was stinky and creaked like the cables were about to snap. The hallway walls and tables in the hallway were dirty. The bathroom was dirty, and the linens, especially the washcloths looked as if they hadn't been washed in a while. Also the A/C was extremely loud and ineffective, and the walls were so thin that I didn't sleep for 2 days.

The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was okay. I will definitely not be staying here again. There are many choices in Safford and the surrounding communities that are much cleaner and more relaxing!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Please accept our gratitude for choosing our property and our apologies for your experience. It is our goal to always put our best foot forward in regards to staff and accommodations. Your comments have been turned over to the head of housekeeping and maintenance and will be used for training purposes. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about this further, as this venue does not give us enough information to be able to look up what room you were in, so we can investigate further and put a more comprehensive plan in place to assure it does not happen with another guest. Please feel free to email me at gm@visitsafford.com or call me at 928-651-1000. While noone likes to receive complaints we do appreciate it when someone brings their disappointment to our attention. It gives us the opportunity to change. I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Everyone here was very friendly and helpful. The building and room was clean
The refrigerator was full of water and tilted so it spilled all over the floor. The bathroom door didn't stau closed and the air conditioner was very noisy.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your patronage and comments. We were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and your compliments will be shared with our staff. It was disappointed to read about the refrigerator, bathroom door and A/C unit. We looked through the maintenance and front desk log book for September to see if we could identify the room, but could not find where it had been reported. If you would like to give us your name or room # that you stayed in, you can do so at the email address gm@visitsafford.com. That way we could make sure this did not happen to future guests. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience. We hope to be able to host you in the future and thank you for bringing these items to our attention, and again please accept our apologies for having to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was a very nice room, clean, attractive, very helpful, friendly service, good food for the free breakfast. good location - easy access. We would recommend this motel to our friends and family - Quality Inn's are realiable for good service and clean rooms

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy M, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your patronage. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your comments and feedback. It was nice to know that you enjoyed your time with us. Your comments will be shared with the entire staff. Your comments regarding the reliability and consistency of the Quality Inn brand will be shared with corporate as well. Someday we hope to be able to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 420 E. Hwy 70, Safford, AZ 85546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Safford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Safford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful mountain vistas from the balconies of this award winning hotel. This gorgeous and well appointed property includes the famous Rocking Horse Saloon and the Manor House Great Room for dining. While relaxing in our indoor pool you may view the vista of Mt Graham. Enjoy hiking, golfing, dancing, fishing and hunting or just being lazy. Call about our packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Safford
Safford Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.