We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un cut rough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Rico Country Club

Rio Rico Country Club
1069 Camino Caralampi, Rio Rico, AZ 85648
520-281-1901
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 attractions in Rio Rico
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This resort is located an hour south of Tucson, atop a 4,000-foot mesa.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Un cut rough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I loved the course layout but the rough was totally out of control an you could not find your ball if any of your drives strayed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    9
    6
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
1 review
“Rio Rico Country Club… A must play course!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Somehow surviving in the middle of a bad economy and a severe drought, I found this unique property well-maintained and in better condition than most courses in Southern AZ. Super- friendly and accommodating golf shop staff, rangers and food and beverage gals. We were paired up with a couple of members who were absolutely delightful and openly shared their enthusiasm for the game, golf club stories and the locale with us. Spectacular mountain views, huge pines, and numerous mesquites line a good part of the course and provide much needed shade on a warm day. On the sidelines we were lucky enough to see deer grazing on the hillside and a bobcat brave our drives while crossing the fairway in front of us on the back nine. A fun and challenging course with fun people made for a pleasurable day.

Don’t miss out on this one! We will definitely be back.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What happened to quality?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

Played the Robert Trent Jones course at Rio Rico and was surprisenly shocked to see the condition of the course in such poor quality. The green fees were still on the high side ,considering the time of year. Hard to believe that just a few years ago they PGA held Q school qualifying there. Would not recomend the course ,to many other good choices around the area...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Back Nine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Nice setting. Restaurant was just a basic golfer's menu. Back 9 was more interesting than the boring front 9.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lg1955
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

ate lunch there after husband played golf. Waited for the staff to unload beer from the truck before even taking our order. Paid $9 for a sandwich and one of the slices of bread was a heel. It was calm and relaxing there and everyone just laughed, but it's a little weird!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Rico Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Rico Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rio Rico Country Club to your Saves list