We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black and white movie delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vendome to your Saves list
Hotel Vendome
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   230 South Cortez St., Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Malton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Black and white movie delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

As two road trip Brits we were stunned by this hotel. I just felt that at any moment I'd look down the corridor and see Humphrey Bogart stepping out of one of the rooms in one of his Philip Marlowe roles. It was also good that the town centre is a four minute walk away.
Delightful staff, great rooms and a very friendly town.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    73
    10
    4
    9
See reviews for
57
162
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Vendome again this year, and some of our fellow reenactors heard noises. One even woke to find her door open! Fun time was had by all. Great place to stay, super service, nice area, close to everything! Already made our reservations for next year for the Gunfight at Whisky Row!! See you there!!!

Room Tip: We love the downstairs, easier to drag our suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I would give it 5 stars if our bed had been more comfortable in Abbey's Room. It sunk in the middle and you know how that can be for 2 people sleeping in it! LOL!

The owner was really super nice! The hotel itself is a historic gem! Very clean and lovely accommodations. This is the best place to stay in Prescott!

Stay in Abbey's Room. The ghost kitty is active at times.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our third time staying at the Vendome was just as enjoyable as our earlier visits. The previous time we brought our Italian relatives who had a great time with their 10 year old daughter. What I find special here is the friendliness of the staff who offer drinks at the bar in the afternoon before dinner and who put out a really delicious breakfast at the same bar in the morning. It really does have the feel of a B&B since other guests tend to make conversation with newcomers.

The hotel is one block from Prescott's central square and convenient to many shops and restaurants. I like the flavor of this town and it makes an easy stopover on our way home from trips to Utah or Wyoming.

Room Tip: Check the photos on the Website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Every time I visit Prescott I stay here. Lovely rooms, incredibly comfortable beds, claw foot tubs, and the friendliest staff. The pocket bar in the lobby also has one of the more delightful craft beer selections in town. They host acoustic music on their patio on the weekends and their breakfast beats anything you'll find at a chain (think homemade scones and fancy bagels from a local baker). Located close enough to walk anywhere downtown, but far enough away from the Whiskey Row noise, it's the perfect place to stay in Prescott.

Room Tip: Every room is different and lovely; there are a couple suites, with 2 bedrooms and one bath, which a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent location - two blocks from plaza. We elected to stay in Room 16 which is haunted by resident ghosts Abby and Noble. Abby lived at The Vendome in the 1920's and was believed to have been an owner of The Hotel Vendome but lost the business due to overdue taxes. The new owners allowed Abby to stay with her husband and cat in Room 16. Abby soon became ill with tuberculosis and sent her husband out to get her medicine but he never returned. Abby left in despair, decided to starve herself and her cat Noble. They perished shortly after in their beloved Room 16. We never saw Abby or Noble, but are told they are very friendly ghosts and are known for moving things about, opening doors, turning on the TV, and Noble likes to snuggle into bed with you occasionally. Included is a continental breakfast each morning and their pantry is open 24/7. Pantry provides Keurig Coffee Machine, tea kettle, gourmet teas, hot cocoa, water dispenser, ice machine and complimentary regular and diet sodas. Along with that is the Fremont Bar which opened in February 2012. Very enjoyable stay sitting on the front porch visiting with other guests. Each and every room is unique and their web site gives a complete description of all rooms. Don't hesitate to enjoy a stay at the Hotel Vendome.

Room Tip: If you are not afraid of ghosts check out room 16. Second floor, (stairs only) charming, but small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our first stay at the Vendome but it won't be our last! It is a small historic hotel and the owners are lovingly restoring and improving it. We were in room 15, one of the rooms already redone, and we loved it. Very large modern bathroom with soaking tub. Our room was very clean and quiet since it was at the back of the hotel. There are only 20 rooms so it's almost closer to a B&B. Wonderful porches; upstairs and downstairs; perfect for a glass of wine in the evening before heading out to dinner and also wonderful in the early morning with a book and a cup of coffee. This is not a Ritz Carlton and the rooms are not suites but the ambiance of the old building is captivating. The location is ideal to walk to all the restaurants and yet it's just far enough away from Whiskey Row that it is very quiet and less "touristy."

The staff were very helpful, particularly with recommendations about restaurants. There is a small continental breakfast but if you're looking for a little more, there is a wonderful coffee shop next door with breakfast sandwiches. Most of the guests we talked to were there for the first time and everyone was enamored with the atmosphere. We didn't see the ghosts though but we will definitely look for them next time!

Room Tip: We loved room 15 because it was in the back corner of the hotel so it was very quiet. We also had a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VendomeHotelPrescott, Owner at Hotel Vendome, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate the supportive response and we are always working towards reviews such as these. Thank you for visiting our property and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Steph and Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vendome

Address: 230 South Cortez St., Prescott, AZ 86303
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Prescott
#7 Family Hotel in Prescott
#9 Business Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vendome 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored 1917 hotel, complete with resident ghost, includes breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vendome Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.