We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not waste your time” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines to your Saves list
Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1290 White Spar Rd., Prescott, AZ 86303-7230   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Do Not waste your time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We should have read the reviews before making the reservation. Dogs barking in the adjoining room., light fixtures that were broken, heat lamp in bathroom that did not work properly, very limited space for clothes, adding a daily charge for the "convenience" of having a safe in the room, limited parking when rooms are booked, and worst of all a breakfast area that only seats 8 to 10 people and the rising sun creates a glare in the eyes of those whose seats face the east. As the Inn was booked there were many people who were unable to enjoy something to eat. (Especially when 3 people decide to just sit around for an hour and rudely chat so loud that they not only take up limited space but also think that everyone needs to hear their conversation). As for the outside conditions, let's just say that the place needs to have someone attempt to clean once in a while.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    27
    12
    14
See reviews for
22
42
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night in an effecieny unit. This is a beautiful location in the pines, convenient to downtown Prescott. The room was nice, the bed was comfortable and all appeared clean. However, there was a terrible musty smell of mildew or mold that just wouldn't go away. Be aware that if you stay in an effeciency you have to walk up 10 steps or 6 steps to get to the room, not to good for someone who has problems walking up stairs. You also have to walk up the steps to get to the swimming pool. The breakfast was not very good. The pastries were cold, like they just came out of the fridge. The staff was neither rude or friendly. Because of the smell I can't give this property a very high rating and would not recommend it to anyone. Too bad, this is a beautiful location and nice looking hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed one night, rather old and everything is dated. Tacks in halls where picture must of been hanging at one time. Time warp back to the 1950's except for TV nice LG flat screen TV. One entered the room from a common outside hallway. No screen on bathroom window so bugs could fly in. Bed comfortable but again everything was just so old. We would not stay there again. This was a time we just did not want to spend too much money so we settled. But nice location out of town and quiet. Charged us $1.50 for use of safe when I pointed out we did not use safe we were given a refund.

Room Tip: Small sign on road is set back from street so as you are traveling down road one does not see the si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

SUMMARY: If you want to stay at a dirty hotel, with a terrible staff and especially rude owner (David) - go for it. But if you are looking for clean rooms, nice, friendly staff, and a wonderful getaway, go somewhere else.

DETAILS: This place is a scam. They try to tell you your credit card declines and then takes cash deposits without giving a receipt. They tell you they do not give receipts for your cash payment. Then, once you get them to finally say they will give a receipt for the cash, they hand write it on your bill. To top it off, when I gave them a second credit card, they tell me that card is declined too. Keeping your cash you paid them and pushing me out the door because they don't have time to deal with me. When I go back to my room, I look on my credit card's website and they ran the charge... it was not declined. They are trying to scam someone, most likely the corporation by not documenting I paid cash.

UPDATE: I called the Choice Hotels Corporation and this is not common practice, they assured me that it is not the practice of their corporation to take cash and refuse to give receipts. Something was going on with this owner, and I hope they catch him in fraud and take the hotel away from him. Very disappointing.

Room Tip: Don't go! That's the only tip I can tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here twice, as a solo traveler. Found the owner on site, both times, a good sign.
Both stays, nice clean, quiet rooms with nice views, of the pines. Prices were very reasonable.
Only a few miles from downtown, the location provided a pleasant respite in the evenings.
Breakfast area, with great view, was somewhat cramped and food was standard. Understand,
a scheduled remodel will remedy this. For dinner, a short walk to Papas Italian Restaraunt,
is perfect. Good food, great service, and a nice patio, surrounded by pine trees.
The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Even suggesting a great scenic side trip to Bagdad,
a copper mining town. Bagdad Diner, cheesburger time! Will be back here, for sure, on
my next Prescott visit. Great place to visit for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Personal preferance, 2nd floor. Kichenetts,available. And don't forget courteous communication...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Canyon National Park, Arizona
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked through Hotwire and they have this Comfort Inn listed as a 2.5 star, in my opinion it is a 1.5 star facility. As we were pulling through the parking lot to our room we saw a huge mountain of trash, it must have been quite some time since the last trash pick up. The beds were clean, but the carpets were disgusting, really need to be updated. My mother-in-law dropped something which rolled under the bed, she proceeded to get it and found that wasn't the only item there, things from long ago... My husband went to get some ice and encountered some cockroaches. We decided we really didn't need ice. The shower would not drain properly either. On the bright side, I believe the sheets were clean...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here one night while traveling through Prescott. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. She provided us with a map of the area and pointed out places that would be lovely for viewing that evening's sunset and also recommended a delicious Italian restaurant close by. The room was clean and comfortable, but average. No complaints because the price was reasonable. Breakfast was fine with waffles, toast, pastries, coffee, juice, fruit, etc. The location was very quiet but was a bit of a drive outside of the city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines

Address: 1290 White Spar Rd., Prescott, AZ 86303-7230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn At Ponderosa Pines Hotel Prescott
Comfort Inn Prescott
Comfort Inn Ponderosa Pines
Prescott Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn at Ponderosa Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.