We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coolest motel ever!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apache Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prescott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apache Lodge
Save
You added Apache Lodge to your Saves list
1130 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“coolest motel ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I live in Phoenix and had to go to Prescott for the night last weekend. I always wanted to stay at this retro lodge. It was built in 1946! This place has tons of character and charm.It's truely a iconic motor lodge on the outside.The rooms have been updated.The front desk guy,John was so nice and always in the office. The room was clean and the bed comfortable .It's close to downtown which made going to dinner easy.There is a great free latte/coffee machine in the lobby so you can grab a coffee for the road on check out.I plan on returning again next time I go to Prescott.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    40
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
21
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buckeye, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have been to Prescott a numerous of times and I have always wanted to stay at the Apache, but we had always had reservations elswhere because I could never remember the lodges name?? Anyhow, we did have the opprotunity to get a room this time (cancelling another hotel reservation) and was not disappointed! I love staying at the older motor lodges because they have so much character. The room was clean, the coffee delicious, the bed super comfy (slept like a baby, fortunantly a very quite night) I had a heck of a time getting up. We will be staying again. Thanks Apache Lodge! P.S, bring toilettries ;)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is an old place, very colorful! They are working to re-decorate and re-do rooms. The place is quaint and the owners were nice and very helpful. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

A fantastically kitchy and rustic motel that has comfy beds and old world charm for a heck of a good price!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a treat! Funky and clean...all-in-one coffee maker in the office had espresso, cappucchino, chai tea and more...desk man a great guy! Back stairs to J.B.'s restaurant on Sheldon St. a plus...great service and breakfast from menu and buffet. Price for two full size beds was very affordable. Short drive or inexpensive cab ride to "Whiskey Row"...Circle K within walking distance. My wife and three other couples sat in lawn chairs, shared beers and thoughts and didn't disturb a solitary soul (of course we're of an age that likes to bed down before 10:00 PM). For folks used to being catered to, not pampered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed at the Apache for just one night with my wife and 11 year old son. We had just driven from Las Vegas and needed a decent place to spend the night. We checked out several motels in the area but choose the Apache based on price. We drove in about 8 pm and were greeted by a very nice guy working in the office. He showed us a basic room near the road. Unfortunately, you could hear the traffic...plus the room received the neon glow of the motel sign. We made some small talk and then asked if there was another room availaible. He said for a few extra dollars he had an interior courtyard room available. This room had 2 double beds and was much better. It had a small, clean bathroom and TV. The Apache is a throw back to another era. If you are looking for a charming little motel with basic ammenities you will not be disappointed. If you need down pillows, valet parking, or room service...this is not the place for you It's a nice clean hotel with a friendly staff. We also ate dinner and breakfast at the restaurant next door. Good basic food. Happy Travels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I don't like to write bad reviews because people depend on their businesses for a living. Just the same, I have to warn you off staying at the Apache Lodge in Prescott until they take care of some serious upkeep problems.

This is a drive-up to your room and park right there kind of motor-lodge. The rooms are small, but that's not unusual for old properties. The problems were more the condition and difficulty of using the tiny place. The carpet was very old and coming apart along every seam. The room was very dark and should have had more lighting available.

There was the tiniest bath room that while using the commode you could rest your chin on the sink in front of you - no exaggeration! There was no fan in the bath room but not to worry - they had thoughtfully punched a hole in the roof and put a tin pipe on it. I could sit down, look up at the stars at night while resting my chin on the sink! During the day, any insect or bird could come right on in with the Arizona heat.

Then there was a family in a nearby room who chose to sit outside our window all evening and have a little beer drinking gathering in lawnchairs. Not helping the ambiance, was the the proprietor joining them for a can, leaving us no one to speak to about the lack of privacy.

Thankfully our stay was short at one night. Here's hoping yours is even shorter.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apache Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apache Lodge

Address: 1130 East Gurley Street, Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apache Lodge is a 1940's vintage Motor Court, conveniently located within walking distance of Historic Downtown Prescott. Though great care has been taken to maintain the nostalgic image, you'll be delighted to find modern amenities that include: Free High Speed WiFi, Free Business Services, In-Lobby Guest Computer, Complimentary Hot Beverages, Ice and Vending Machines, Coin-Op Guest Laundry, In-Room Refrigerators, Cable TV with HBO, and much more! Our dedicated housekeeping staff ensures that we are able to offer some of the cleanest rooms and most comfortable beds in all of Prescott. We're proud to offer this level of service for attractive competitive rates! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apache Hotel Prescott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apache Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.