We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“While ambitious, fails to execute” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Maison - CLOSED

Restaurant Maison
436 W Goodwin St, Prescott, AZ 86303
+1 928-445-4482
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $55
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“While ambitious, fails to execute”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a difficult undertaking—serving interesting well-prepared, creative, vibrant and cutting-edge food—in Prescott. Unfortunately Restaurant Maison does not succeed. While ambitious, it fails to execute properly—from entrance to exit—and from service to finished product.

The website photo of a charming-looking stone building—gorgeous photo and gorgeous building. Unfortunately it is not this restaurant—RM is in a small unimpressive strip mall area. If you live in Prescott you would likely know that, but if out of town, one would have no clue.

It took a little while for someone to greet us as we stood waiting at the entrance; our cutlery was missing forks and later in the meal, a knife; service was very slow paced, slower than it needed to be but it just seemed the kitchen could not keep up with the orders even though at any one time there were no more than 20 to 25 patrons. It took about 2-1/4 hours—which might be just fine if we had also had wine with each course. (We had a 4-course prix fixe at $55 without wine.)

While some of my dining friends had successful courses, 3 or my 4 courses were misses. One course was cold when it should have been hot; main course protein was burned, dry and overcooked, dessert—I could not finish with way too much cayenne and cinnamon oil making it a one-flavor mouth feel of hotness, not the chocolate. The kitchen must like basil oil and balsamic, though while tasty, many of our dishes had those. (By the way, I did not ask for a replacement of the burned product, but when the server asked how I liked the dish as she was clearing plates--I showed her the leftover burned items, all she said was that she would tell the manager and walked away. No apologies.)

While the restaurant has only been open a few months and I can forgive stumbles in a new restaurant, these kinks should have been worked out by now. Perhaps the restaurant will mature, but I do not believe I would give it another chance.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    1
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional Creativity and Flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We had lunch at Restaurant Maison - and it was outstanding. The creativity that goes into each dish is exceptional. The flavors are superb and meld together perfectly. The portions are not large, but they are sufficient (this isn't your half pound burger place). We wouldn't have wanted more. I had the duck pastrami sandwich with the pome frites - YUM! How creative and innovative. Best pastrami I've had in a long time. The other luncheon choice was the Maison Burger (ground chuck and duck breast). This was served with the house salad and dressing. Again, rave reviews for it. We have special restaurants we love in Prescott - and this is now added to the list. It's nice to have a restaurant with a French flair in town. We are looking forward to having dinner there soon. We're glad that Adam, Harley and Charlie are in town. Same goes for our server, Justin!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Amazing service, cute place, and only the best food I have ever had , ever!, definitely going to return, the chefs, props to them, their food is what made my experience so wonderful, I definitely recommend this to any one that likes good food, ya you spend a tad more than some places, but it is going to be the best food you can get in Prescott area

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice service, good food, but NOT fast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had eaten at this restaurant in it's previous incarnation and found it quite disappointing. But, we were willing to give it a try and had a nice experience. The ambiance is rather odd as the room is narrow and tables quite close together.

The menu is modest and all lunch items are $9. They were out of the duck pastrami, but we had a BLT and the tart flambee. Both were quite nice. The lone waitperson did a good job with the small dining room and was obviously customer friendly. My only concern, and it's a concern, not a complaint, was that the food was slow in arriving. We weren't in a hurry, so it didn't matter, but I'd hate to go there in a rush.

They have a $55/person four course dinner menu that looks very appealing. I think we'll definitely go back for some nice occasion and try that. Remember, though, it's in a strip mall and if you go expecting a fabulous, romantic view, not so much.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Discovered the restaurant while browsing on TripAdvisor as I wanted to find a place to take my niece from the East Coast which did not belong to a big commercial chain. We were 4 people, all had different entrees, mains and desserts, all wonderful, innovative, beautifully presented. Very "French cuisine" in all aspects, the flavor combinations are like a firework for the palate.

Definitely a must if you visit Prescott!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Maison also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Maison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.