We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Food & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's

Murphy's
201 N Cortez St, Prescott, AZ 86301-3017
928-445-4044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 184 Restaurants in Prescott
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The front desk staff at the Residence Inn recommended Murphy's for our 28th wedding anniversary dinner and they were spot on. We loved the historic building, great ambiance and friendly staff. The fresh warm bread and homemade salad dressings were lovely. I had the filet and my husband had the rib eye, the steaks were delicious so tender, juicy and perfectly seasoned. The steaks just melted in your mouth, some of the best steaks we have ever had. We had an awesome crème brulee for dessert and the staff surprised us with a happy anniversary song. Can’t wait to come back and bring the kids with.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    74
    44
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Escondido
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All around good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good menu good atmosphere and good service. One of the better values in downtown Prescott. We will eat there again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Murphy's, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
To all our 5 star guests, we cannot thank you enough for the excellent reviews. We appreciate your patronage and taking time to write about your dining experience. Please return so we can thank you in person. Guest Relations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Dinners in a Historic Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I ate there twice during a one week stay on business. Prime Rib one night and salmon the other night. Good food, good wine selection, good service. This building is right in the downtown square area and just a block or so from SpringHill Suites by Marriott. It is on the National Historic Registry as it use to be a dry goods or hardware store in the Old West.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, Guest Relations Manager at Murphy's, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you, thank you and thank you again. We appreciate the review and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. Kelly H., Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Historic flavor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

You step back in time the moment you enter this 130 yr old mercantile turned restaurant- beveled glass, original wood bar. Butternut squash soup-a velvety, rich bowl of heaven-ample portions, delicious dressings, bread from the oven. Our server- Brook and hostess Tamara were delightful! We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We haven't been to Murphy's in a few years due to questionable reviews on another site. What a shame! We had a lovely dessert coffees and creme brûlée last Saturday night. The restaurant is so beautiful and the staff were so pleasant, we decided to come back for lunch the following day. That turned out to be a very good decision. I ordered a 22oz prime rib and my spouse had steak and eggs with a fall spiced potato blend. The food was cooked to perfection. The service was great.
We will definitely be returning to Murphy's!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.