We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coco's Bakery & Restaurant - CLOSED

Coco's Bakery & Restaurant
1721 E State Route 69, Prescott, AZ 86301-5663
928-777-0226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Sedona, AZ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I had looked up this restaurant's website before we went there. When we got there, I noted that one of the burgers on the website was not on the menu. Our waitress said it was no longer offered, but she would have the cook make one up since it used common toppings. It was very good. My wife ordered the chicken and rice; she said it was very good. Portions are more than adequate. Since it was my birthday, the waitress offered a free slice of the pie of my choice, which was also very good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, AZ
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“All Quality problems are Management Problems”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My friend & I ate dinner there tonight. Grilled fish & Battered Fish.

I explained to the server that the broccoli was old and had many brown shriveled patches. The rice was so over-cooked it was congealed into a glutinous lump.
I was offered a replacement; but said that I did not want more food from a kitchen that evidently has a serious quality problem.

Then we found one (of the two) battered fish was not cooked through.

The Manager, reported that the General Manager said the brown on the broccoli was ‘seasoning’.

Outcome: a very small discount was applied to the bill.

Conclusion: The General Manager is aware of the lack of quality; but cares not.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Service was very friendly. Food was very nicely served. Will visit again

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornville, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I'M EASY TO PLEASE, BUT THIS DINNER...UGH!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Really, I am easy to please. I usually don't complain...we stopped at Coco's on a rainy, cold April afternoon to have dinner before going to see a concert. We had been to Coco's in Flagstaff, AZ and loved the food. The server was prompt and the dinner menu looked good. I chose the "Cod Filet with lemon butter" which was listed as "new".
I opted for a salad, which came quickly and it was pretty good. The server brought us bread, which consisted of two pieces of pumpernickel and 2 pieces of sourdough. The sourdough bread seemed to be stale. Then the dinner came. The huge plate had a few broccoli spears on it, a small, maybe 3" baked potato and a cod filet that was about 5" long x 3" wide. It was breaded and more hard than crispy. I began to eat it and suspected it was not cooked thoroughly. It was mushy, wet, and the fish was kind of clear, not white like I expected. My husband thought it looked alright, so I kept eating. After eating about half the fish (which wasn't much), I gave him some to try. He immediately said, "No, this is not cooked through!" The server came by and I pointed out the fish and she said that it was cooked and it is always like that! She did ask me if I wanted something else instead, but since I had already finished half the fish, I felt guilty asking for something else. My husband had all you can eat barbecue ribs, got four, finished the four, and asked for four more only to offer me some because I left half the fish. To me, the ribs were fatty and greasy, so I declined. He then asked the server if he could take it home and he was told no, because it was an all-you-can-eat so leftovers were not allowed to be taken home! He was upset, because he didn't want it to be wasted, but was too full to eat it. The server came back a few minutes later, told him he could take the ribs home, and gave us 10% off our bill because I was dissatisfied. At least she made it right in the end, but I won't eat there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Week days you can get a simple breakfast--two eggs, two pancakes and two bacon for $3.99 plus coffee at 99 cents. Service is good, and they know how to cook your eggs!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coco's Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coco's Bakery & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.