We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Highland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Highland Hotel
154 S. Montezuma St., Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We just returned from a great nights stay at the Grand Highland! The place is small, only 12 rooms, and they are small rooms, but everything was charming and comfortable.

This hotel is located right on Whiskey row, you are centrally located here. We stayed on a Saturday night and did not have any problems with noise. (But we were out and about until about 11 pm). The hotel did provide ear plugs if you need them, we did not. We were in the Rodeo room, which is located towards the back of the hotel.

Check in was fast and friendly, this is a family owned place, the staff seems to all be very accommodating. The room was cozy (small) but comfortable. Clean, and welcoming. There were lollipops on the bed to greet us. The staff made sure we knew how to control the A/C unit and the TV (both have remotes). And bottled water was supplied, and replenished upon request.

The bed was so very comfortable! And I loved the claw footed tub in the bathroom, so charming!

In the morning we had a nice breakfast, bagels, fruit, juice, and pastries. Very nice selection set up in the hallway near reception. They also have trays which makes it easy to carry back to the room.

I have to admit I only stayed here because the hotel I wanted to book was sold out (we were booking just a few days ago). And I am SO GLAD it was. This place is adorable and charming. I recommend this hotel to anyone. We will be back :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand H, Owner at Grand Highland Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We are glad your circumstances led you to giving us a try! Our intimate size and claw foot tubs as well as our Romance Package certainly create a romantic getaway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    31
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
190
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This place was so much fun. Loved our room, the Grand Highland Room, at the front of the hotel. It was a good size with a bow window, which might have been a cool window seat with a cushion and some throw pillows to take advantage of the wonderful view of the Courthouse across the street. I can understand, however, possible concerns about someone accidentally going through the window to the pavement 20 feet below. The bathroom was very nice with a claw foot tub/shower combo and a great corner sink. The staff was terrific, full of suggestions which were all excellent, and friendly pleasant folk one and all. The hotel was lovely, great location...until the sun goes down. We knew the noise was going to be a factor, especially as we were there for a weekend, and the hotel staff has made efforts to lessen it including ear plugs and a white noise machine, which helped quite a bit. But you are right on the Square and Whiskey Row which absolutely lived up to its name both Friday and Saturday nights. Overall, I would definitely recommend The Grand Highland Hotel with the caveat to possibly go during the week.

Green Features: The hotel had 2 waste baskets, recycle and regular. There were some placards asking us to be environmentally conscious through use of towels and sheets for more than one day.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a gem...
Located in the middle of downtown, the hotel is modern without losing the touch of history.

The check in was handled with courtesy and friendliness. The lady was pleasant and went out of her way to make my short stay comfortable.

The decoration of my room was beautiful, the bathroom was spacious, immaculate and modern; the toiletries, carefully chosen and placed in a little bag that made it look elegant and chic.

The noise was bad until maybe 10:00pm, but afterwards everything was quiet.
The hotel provides earplugs, so I made use of them.

In the morning, they brought me breakfast to the room (very punctual) and although it was simple, it was a magnificent way to start the day!

I would *love* to go back for a longer stay....

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The impeccable, pristine rooms will bring you back to the last century; each decorated differently, and the doors are left open when unoccupied so you can peek in and enjoy. Completely redone after a 2012 fire that destroyed the adjacent building. Only surprise was that there is no elevator and the lobby and all 12 rooms are on the second floor. Definitely not handicapped accessible, but Ray, our host who checked us in, kindly helped carry our bags up the stairs. The location of this boutique hotel is perfect to stroll the Whiskey Row area and is right across from Courthouse Square. Rooms are small and without any chairs or tables (other than a nightstand), but they will be glad to bring you folding chairs and a little folding table so you can sit down in your room and enjoy the nice breakfast that is served as a buffet in a hall near the lobby. Parking is free in a multi-level city garage down the back stairs. A very pleasant stay in a family-owned treasure.

Green Features: Many eco-friendly touches. Lollipops provided. Energy-saving bulbs make for a rather dim room, but the bathroom has plenty of light.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Perfect location. Spotless rooms. Fun themed rooms. The staff is wonderful and the service is fabulous.
I am making another reservation tonight before I leave.
My only issue is that all rooms including reception are on the second floor. No elevator.

Room Tip: Rooms in front may be a bit noisier because they face Whiskey Row.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Grand Highland Hotel is perfectly located right in downtown, facing the courthouse. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and comfortable. The claw foot tub was a wonderful feature and the bed was very comfortable. Service was always provided with a smile. I was also very impressed with the continental breakfast - bagels, pastries, greek yogurt and small Naked juice smoothies. Cookies were available when we checked in. We had bikes with us and they accommodated them without any problems. I wish to be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Spent a wonderful Saturday night at the Grand Highland Hotel. Chose the Speakeasy Room which looks out over Whiskey Row toward the town square. I thought the themed rooms were a great concept. Could have stayed in the shower for hours. I thought the noise from Whiskey Row might be an issue, but the bed was so comfy, I slept like a baby. I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive choose a room away from the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prescott hotels
0.2 mi away
Hassayampa Inn
Hassayampa Inn
#9 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Prescott
Hampton Inn Prescott
#4 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
4.1 mi away
Forest Villas Hotel
Forest Villas Hotel
#17 of 22 in Prescott
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Residence Inn Prescott
Residence Inn Prescott
#3 of 22 in Prescott
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Prescott
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vendome
Hotel Vendome
#5 of 22 in Prescott
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Highland Hotel

Address: 154 S. Montezuma St., Prescott, AZ 86303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Highland Hotel, located on Prescott's Historic Whiskey Row, is now open as a truly unique boutique hotel.Guests who ascend the stairway from the sidewalk entrance to this second-floor site, will be charmed by the 12 individually decorated guestrooms, each inspired by an aspect of Prescott's storied history.Exceptional, personalized service is offered in a facility combining preserved architectural features with contemporary amenities expected of quality hotel accommodations. *Complimentary Continental breakfast with fresh fruit, bagels and toppings, variety of pastries, Greek yogurt, cups of fresh berries, Naked juice smoothies, coffee, tea, assortment of juices, and gluten free items on request. *Complimentary fresh cookies, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and fruit infused water in the afternoon and evening. In the rooms: Complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee, and Tootsie Roll Pops. Free WiFi, lighted make-up mirrors, hair dryers, coffee maker, LED candle, ceiling fan, 40" LED TV with cable, luxurious beds, Ipod doc/alarm clock, claw foot tub, efficient Mini-Split heating/cooling in every room. Romance and Celebration Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.