We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Highland Hotel

Save Saved
You added Grand Highland Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Highland Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   154 S. Montezuma St., Prescott, AZ 86303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 20% off Room Rate!
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Prescott
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Grand Highland is perfectly situated in the heart of Whiskey Row in historic Prescott! We took our 8 year old son who is now infatuated with the Old West and he loved it too-we stayed in the Rodeo room which was decorated perfectly. The staff was friendly and very helpful. It was great to stay in a historic hotel with so many original architectural details, yet still contain so many modern amenities. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
54
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Tucked into an alcove on Whiskey Row, the Grand Highland is a gem. It's newly renovated and you can definitely tell. Everything is clean and new. The staff was super friendly and helpful in suggesting things to do during our stay. They even granted us a late check out Saturday morning. I think we had one of the best rooms in the place -- it was situated at front of the building facing Whiskey Row. Not only was it surprising quiet but we had a perfect view of the big parade Saturday morning. There's only two such rooms so we definitely lucked out.
The breakfast left a little to be desired (bagels, muffins, juice, etc.) but there were always cookies and lemonade and even complimentary alcohol in the evening.
Parking is a hot commodity on Whiskey Row but the Grand Highland has its own parking for its guests. You just have to ask. It's just a dirt parking lot on the side of the building but it's locked and free.
Overall, wonderful stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our 2-day, 1-night stay at The Grand Highland Hotel was short, but very sweet. We booked the Speak Easy room, which gave us a wonderful view of Whiskey Row directly below us, and the Courthouse Square across the street. We loved the Art Deco decor of our room, which was clean, comfortable, and surprisingly not too loud given the street activity. Special treats like lollipops, coffee, wine, beer, bagels, fruit, and pastries added a very welcoming and appreciative touch. But the real charm of the hotel comes from the family and staff that own and run it. We instantly felt like part of the family, quickly learned everyone's names, and immediately felt like we'd known them forever.
If you're looking for a convenient location that's close to shops and restaurants, a charming hotel that has appeal and warmth, and a welcoming place that is full of smiles, then stay at The Grand Highland Hotel.

Room Tip: The Speak Easy Room has accommodations for handicapped guests, so its bathroom is notably larger tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marratxi, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were quite positively surprised how exceptionally good this hotel was. Each room has western theme and a story.
The staff is very welcoming and we felt right at home with their good attitude. The hotel is centrally located right on Whiskey Row with a park and lots of restaurants near-by.
A big plus for me was the good coffee they served.
I just wish that other hotels would come up to this level of friendliness, kindness and welcoming as this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Grand Highland Hotel is situated on a second floor of historic Whiskey row in downtown Prescott. The noise from the bars on the row cannot be heard ans the renovations that have been done to this space are like I said, AMAZING! Each room has a cute theme along the title; Sharlot Hall room, Big Nose Kate, or the speak easy room. The family whom owns the hotel have put great research and detail into the comfort of the rooms. Please be aware they are historic sized rooms. aka if you are looking for a typical grandeous generic pricey Marriot room go else where. If you are looking for a room that truly speaks to the authenticity of the city of Prescott, stay at the Grand Highland. Had such a wonderful experience there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stumbled across this newly remodeled and renovated hotel when making plans to attend the Mile High Brew Fest. Couldn't have been happier. Located on the 2nd floor of a building renovated to the studs after the fire of 2012, each room has a unique theme and although our room (Singing Cricket) was not large by any means, we never felt cramped, with high ceilings and a large bathroom, and a window that had a diagonal view of Montezuma St. and the courthouse. The small claw foot tub and shower in the room was "cute" according to my wife, but I must admit I struggled a bit to keep all the water inside the wraparound curtain while showering. My wife loved it, but I'm apparently better suited for a car wash. Overall, a very clean and comfortable room with all that you could really need.

We arrived sooner than anticipated so we called ahead to see if they could accommodate early check-in. Ray answered the phone and quickly confirmed the room was ready and after giving us the keys, he offered my wife a welcome glass of wine and put a beer in my hand after explaining to us the history of the building and future plans for a patio and market area in the adjacent empty lot. Ray was awesome and told us about the not so secret back door that we missed when walking over from the parking structure behind the hotel.

After a long day at the brew fest, Whiskey Row and a great dinner/nightcap at The Raven, we were ready to crash and the beds were super comfortable. Complementary bottled water in the room came in handy to minimize the hangover and the continental breakfast was a good surprise in the morning (Greek and regular yogurt, V8, Keurig coffee machine, juices, bagels, pastries, etc.). Only issue was that we slept with our window open and awoke to the sounds of beer bottles being emptied into the recycling dumpster behind the hotel from one of the next door bars. With the window closed, this would not have been an issue (our fault).

Overall, this is a perfect spot in the hart of Whiskey Row. I's ideal for couples looking to let loose on The Row or explore the town without having to deal with rundown accommodations found at some of the older spots in Prescott. Families might be a bit cramped here, but I don't know why you would bring kids to Whiskey Row anyway. Thanks to the staff for a great stay and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

GET HERE BEFORE EVERYONE FINDS OUT HOW GREAT IT IS!
With pure luck we discovered this one-of-a-kind, historic and exquisite boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Prescott on June 1st. Having only been open for two weeks, the beauty of this remarkable find most certainly lies in the fact that the hotel is still undiscovered by the masses. Trust me, it won't be for long.
Damaged by the Prescott fire in 2012, the Grand Highland has been completely renovated with the utmost attention to every little detail. From the ornate black and white plush carpet that lines the entryway, to the stunning, custom faux finish on the walls, this is no ordinary small town hotel. This is a boutique hotel that caters to the sophisticated traveler who appreciates deluxe accomodations, elegant yet swanky decor, exceptional customer service, and a central location in the heart of the city.
We were greeted with a complimentary beer and glass of wine which was brought to our room, and it was a delightful surprise the next morning to find fresh fruit with greek yogurt, bagels with cream cheese, coffee and fresh fruit juice for breakfast. However, the best part of the morning was sitting down and talking with the gracious and charming owners, Nancy and Howard. This is the kind of experience we wish we could find everywhere! The next time we're in Prescott - we will DEFINITELY stay at the Grand Highland!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Highland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Highland Hotel

Address: 154 S. Montezuma St., Prescott, AZ 86303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 hotels in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Highland Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Highland Hotel, located on Prescott’s Historic Whiskey Row, is now open as a truly unique boutique hotel.Guests who ascend the stairway from the sidewalk entrance to this second-floor site, will be charmed by the 12 individually decorated guestrooms, each inspired by an aspect of Prescott’s storied history.Exceptional, personalized service is offered in a facility combining preserved architectural features with contemporary amenities expected of quality hotel accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Highland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Highland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.