We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Front Desk!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sheldon St. Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sheldon St. Lodge to your Saves list
Sheldon St. Lodge
115 E. Sheldon St., Prescott, AZ 86301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Prescott B&B and Inns
Phoenix
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rude Front Desk!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were in town for a friend's birthday. Stayed here this past weekend. The accommodations themselves are great, other than the overwhelming smell of varnish in the room which gave us all headaches. We shared a suite with some friends. Unfortunately, the staff made us feel completely unwelcome. The final night a few of us sat out front waiting for friend to get picked up. The following morning the old guy who runs the Lodge informed me he got complaints. First of all, we were not loud or disruptive. Secondly, I am unsure as to why he waited until the following morning to tell us. There was barely anyone there and if we in fact caused complaints I would think addressing it right away rather than waiting until the morning we left to tell us would be more appropriate. He said if we wanted to do that he would prefer we do not stay there anymore. Pardon??? I guess they must be so busy they can turn down business? On top of that the other guests there were shady at best. We will never stay there again. There are plenty of places to stay in Prescott and we come up every year. This place will NEVER get our money again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that you found a member of our staff to be rude. Being firm about rules for the protection & security of all guests, can sometimes come across as rude when you are the one being approached. We try to be polite and to the point when there is an issue. I am also very sorry to hear that other guests did not have a good night sleep while staying with us. It is not always easy to please everyone, but we sure try our best. Unfortunately, it wasn't until the next morning that we received two complaints about the noise that occurred between 12:15am & 1:45am. This issue may not have been addressed to you (as yes, it was after the fact), but after viewing the security camera & staff cleaning up multiple opened beer bottles & cigarette butts from the ground where the four of you (along with 4 other unregistered guests) had partied the night before he felt that he should mention it. I myself enjoy "Blue Moon" beer also, but would never leave a mess of bottles for someone else to clean up after me. There was a trash can near by. We run a small lodge that is quiet and safe.We are in a great location to enjoy a night out in downtown & "Whiskey Row". We have no problem with a quiet "nightcap" or two on one of our porches or deck when returning from your fun night out. However, inviting other people (to the tune of 8 including yourselves & a dog) and disturbing others is simply not tolerated. We always want our visitors to enjoy themselves & have fun, but some guests do not party late into the night. We must have rules to keep everyone happy. We had a full house on the Saturday during your stay. It's funny how the "Shady" folks you mention in your review were not viewed in our security camera disrupting others in the middle of the night. The room you stayed in has custom, handmade western furniture and we had varnished 2 of the pieces a few days earlier. I do apologize if the smell was still lingering in the room, as they could have been removed if something was said. We are glad that you chose the Sheldon St. Lodge for your weekend stay. I know there are other options and we do appreciate your business. But if you feel that another motel in downtown Prescott would not have minded this scenario, then we encourage you to stay with them for your future Prescott visits.
Kind Regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Average at best, if your new into town or visiting you can do much better for the same money. Rooms are very small, bathrooms are even smaller, some bathrooms don't even have there own sinks. Breakfast consist of day old doghnuts and weak coffee. Check around for better prices and values.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that your experience with us was not satisfactory, nor did you find us to be a good value. We feel we offer much more than your typical budget chain hotel & always hope our guest leave happy. However, we do have an old building that (most say) has lots of "character" & "charm". Every room is uniquely different in size and yes, have very small bathrooms. It's a fact that historic buildings were not built in thier day with our modern conveniences in mind. We try to make the best of the space in each room to accomodate the needs of our guests. Our mission is to make each room as comfortable & cozy as possible (working with what we have). It sounds as if you were in one of our (smaller) economy rooms. Our other rooms are twice the size & some even larger. Most come our way to experience Prescott & the Downtown area and stay with us for our convenient location. Our guest seem to want a clean room close to all that Prescott has to offer. That is what we pride ourself on and feel we deliver. We do not offer breakfast or advertise such. However we do recommend the "top" breakfast restaurants in our area for a great meal and a sure value. Starbucks is located directly across the street for a great cup of joe too. We do have coffee & something sweet in the morning, just to get you started. My grandma always said "Never leave the house without something in your stomach" so I take her advise and offer our guest a little something for the stomach before they head out. At the end of the day, we do know that we are not for everyone. If you are looking for extra large rooms & bathrooms, a "cookie cutter" chain experience and want to pay more for our location, then there is other options & we are not for you. I am sorry that we were not a match for you during your visit to Prescott. We welcome you back to try another room when you are in the area, or we wish you the best luck with finding your perfect match. Thank you for staying with us.

Kind Regards,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to Prescott for a day to take care of some business.. we decided to stay here overnight because of all the reviews everyone has posted.. thank u all for sharing because u are all on point! The room we had was beautiful.. well kept.. and most importantly CLEAN! We filled out the suggestion/comment form at check out and left it in the drop off box.. we mentioned a couple of minor things we stumbled across and the owner took her time to call us later that day to thank us for staying with them and also let us kno that she is taking everything we wrote into consideration. How is that for awesome service!?! We don't get much of this in Los Angeles...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sheldon Street Lodge for your short stay in Prescott. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and that our reviews on TripAdvisor led you to us. Posting your experience & filling out a comment card at check-out helps us to improve & know our guests needs. Our goal is always to make our rooms & guests as comfortable as possible. We are always open for new ideas and welcome your valuable suggestions. Thanks again for staying with us, wishing you & yours a wonderful year!
Kind Regards & Happy Travels,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The owner welcomed us immediately with a Smile. Love the dark wood and decor!

Front door parking and easily accesible to markets, restaurants, and other cute stores! The room has small fridge, microwave, sink, counter, bathroom. Large tv, full size bed, a bit firm for my comfort but I slept well. Thick towels, fans, and two heaters.
I prefer to stay here instead of the Marriott across the street because this cute lodge has character and a touch of home.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are so happy to hear that you were comfortable and felt at home staying with us. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience & express how we are not like a "chain" hotel. Our rooms are all a little different, but all have that "homey" feeling. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Prescott. Wishing you & your family a very happy Fall!

Take Care & Happy Travels,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge new zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My Wife an I were travelling through ARZ we wanted to see Prescott as we had heard so much about it.
We stayed at the Sheldom for a week found the staff very helpfull and the owner made you feel like an old friend.
We will certainly be back in ARZ hopefully in 2013 and look forward to staying at the Sheldon.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always a pleasure to have guests from abroad and meet new friends from around the world. We are so happy that you enjoyed your jaunt through Prescott and that you enjoyed your stay at our little Lodge. Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you again in 2013!
Take care & Happy Travels,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed for one night at this Lodge - our first time there and was pleasantly surprised at the wonderful room we stayed in. The building itself sits right on the road so if you're looking for a place with the woods in your front yard, this is not the place to go. However, if you are looking for a very quiet, extremely clean and a room with lots of charm, amenities and a good night's sleep, then this is the place to go! Once in our room, you do not hear the traffic outdoors. They also have cozy little seating areas out front which we enjoyed. It is within an easy walking distance from the square and across the street from a shopping plaza. The location couldn't be more perfect if you're in town for an event or for just a nice weekend get-a-way. The creme de la creme of the stay was that the owner went above and beyond to make our stay a very enjoyable visit. I have traveled extensively in my life time and I can say that it isn't too often that a hotel will do something personalized for you (without being asked to mind you!) as this owner did for me. It speaks volumes to how much care they put into their lodge. They even phoned us the day of our arrival to let us know that our room was ready early and we were welcome to check in at any time. We would definitely stay there again & highly recommend them to you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for all your kind words. Taking the time to write a review about your experience with us means so much. We are so thrilled to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable & that you would stay at our little lodge in the future. We are always improving & look forward to welcoming past guest like yourself, on your next jaunt through Prescott. We also hope your next stay will be even better than your first. Thank you again.
Kind Regards & Happy Travels,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were sick of the heat in Phoenix and wanted to get away for the weekend to Prescott. We stayed here for one night and had the best time!!! We brought our six year old and 73 year old nanny with us and got two rooms by each other. Awesome place and so close to all the action. Staff was incredible..so professional and accomodating!! Thank you for a wonderful time!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleen M, General Manager at Sheldon St. Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Taking the time to write a review means so much and is very appreciated. We are always trying to improve our property and it gives us great satisfaction to know that we are on the right track. Thank you for choosing the Sheldon St. Lodge during your weekend get away, we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards & Happy Travels,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheldon St. Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon St. Lodge

Address: 115 E. Sheldon St., Prescott, AZ 86301
Location: United States > Arizona > Prescott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Prescott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small motel with an "Old West" theme in the heart of Downtown Prescott Arizona. Located two blocks from the historical Courthouse Plaza and Whiskey Row. We offer the privacy of a hotel, convenience of a motor lodge (parking outside your door) & historic charm of a B&B. We have nightly and weekly rates and are a short stroll to fine dining, antique stores, performing art Theatres, grocery store, fast food & Starbucks. Our location can't be beat and everything you need is only steps away. We are pet-friendly, close to both colleges, hospitals, shopping and central to all that Prescott has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sheldon St. Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheldon St. Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.