We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Rock Formations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Watson Lake

Watson Lake
3101 Watson Lake Drive, Prescott, AZ 86301
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Prescott
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Rock Formations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We hiked several of the trails (Constellation, Over The Hill, Granite Gardens) in the Granite Dells area near Watson Lake. The combination of multi-colored rock formations, vegetation, and the lake make for a very unique and beautiful place to hike. All of the trails that we hiked were very well maintained and marked.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    52
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PHOENIX
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“kayaking on Watson Lake”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we where there over labor weekend, to kayak on the lake and camp. Rental of the kayaks was pretty easy, $20 for first hour for a tandem. I believe you can rent kayaks up til October. lots of geese there and a few ducks. the lake is very nice with the rocks that are pretty cool. The kayaking would be better had my son not lost the gopro in the lake..

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“It turns Pink!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Get there at dusk to catch the Sunset, and you will be Amazed at the magic rainbow show. Walk around the trails to get in all the alternate views, and the full scope of color showdown.
But, you will get bit and bothered by the bugs at that time as well.
It's a dog friendly trail to see the "Dolls"... so bring a friend.
The geese arrive for a fly by as well.
It really is a miracle of a spot. A mirage turned up as real.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A Jewel in Prescott”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just have to add our brief approval to the raves already posted! Just a few miles out of downtown, Watson Lake absolutely glimmers w/ gorgeous cliffs and rocks surrounding much of it and emerald green fields at the southern end. Beautifully kept picnic areas give way to areas that look untouched for centuries. Boat launch (check restrictions), kayak and other flotation rentals are available. Plenty of parking, nominal admission, clean restrooms, charcoal grills make this place well worth a look if you're anywhere near Prescott.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Fun day of Exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My Son and I love to go hiking here... each time we go we try a different route. A great place to picnic! Usually not crowded and you can even camp there if you like. If you are lucky you might even happen upon a special event happening there!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watson Lake also viewed

 

Been to Watson Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Watson Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.